Distributed May 25, 2003
For Immediate Release

News Service Contact: Mark Nickel

The 2003 Baccalaureate Address

Xu Wenli – “My Journey to Brown: A Personal Odyssey”

Xu Wenli, who spent 16 years in Chinese prison for his pro-democracy activities, delivered the 2003 Baccalaureate Address at Brown University. He spoke to graduating seniors at 1:30 p.m. Sunday, May 25, 2003, in the Meeting House of the First Baptist Church in America. The translation of his address, presented to the audience by his daughrer Xu Jin, follows here. [Return to release 02-136]

Today, with everything that has happened, I feel much younger.
I feel like I am also a graduating student.

Respected President Ruth Simmons,
Respected Board of Directors,
Professors, Students,
Families and Friends:

I am deeply moved that I have been invited to speak today at the Baccalaureate service of Brown University’s 235th Commencement.

Today is also a special day for me personally, as it makes me think of where I was in China 10 years ago on May 25, 1993. It was on that day that I was released from prison, and it was the first time that I was allowed to walk out of the large prison gates where I had been incarcerated for 12 years of a 15-year sentence.

In 1998, I was again arrested and sentenced to 13 years in prison, and, after being locked up for four years, I was again released on December 24, 2002. Following my second release, however, I not only left jail, but also was forced to leave China. I subsequently arrived in America.

I am delighted to find myself in Providence, this beautiful city; on its eastern hilltop is the home of the beautiful Brown University. From this hilltop, Brown University year after year encourages outstanding students to stand tall and to look far beyond the hilltop they have called home.

This weekend, dedicated to celebrating your graduation, marks only the beginning of a life-long process of growth.