economics

contact uswhat's newgraduate programundergraduate programfaculty and staffworking papersworkshops and events

Job Market Candidates 2011-2012

Placement Director: Professor Pedro Dal Bo

401-863-2953

Manager, Student Affairs: Angelica Vargas

401-863-2465


 

arbatli

Eren Arbatli
Cemal_Arbatli@brown.edu
CV
Abstract

Job Market Paper:
"Quest for Political Survival:
Can External Threats Save the Day
?"

References:
Pedro Dal Bo
Oded Galor
Brian Knight

Fields:
Economic Growth and Development
Political Economy
Economics of Conflict

[back to the top]
batsaikhan

Mongoljin Batsaikhan
Mongoljin_Batsaikhan@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"
Growth for Micro Enterprises in Developing Countries: Evidence from Phone Card Wholesalers in Mongolia "

References:
Andrew Foster
Louis_Putterman Nathaniel Baum-Snow

Fields:
Development Economics
Experimental Economics
Entrepreneurship
Industrial Organization

[back to the top]

gershman

Boris Gershman
Boris_Gershman@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"
The Two Sides of Envy"

References:
Oded Galor
Peter Howitt
Ross Levine
David N. Weil

Fields:
Economic Growth and Development
Macroeconomics
Social Economics
Inequality

[back to the top]
goldston

Jacob Goldston
Jacob_Goldston@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"
Two Commitment Problems Are Better than One: Credit and Local Politics in Rural India"

References:
Brian Knight
Kaivan Munshi
Ross Levine

Fields:
Development Economics
Political Economy
Applied Microeconomics

[back to the top]

kim

Daeho Kim
Daeho_Kim@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"Medicare Payment Reform and Hospital Costs: Evidence from the Prospective Payment System and the Treatment of Cardiac Disease"

References:
Kenneth Chay
Anna_Aizer
Brian Knight
Kaivan Munshi

Fields:
Health Economics
Public Economics
Labor Economics
[back to the top]
ladika

Tomislav Ladika
Tomislav_Ladika@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"
Freedom to Unwind:
Executive Equity Sales and Subsequent Pay
"

References:
Kenneth Chay
Ross Levine
Ivo Welch

Fields:
Corporate Governance
Corporate Finance
Applied Microeconomics
[back to the top]
lee

Yong Suk Lee
Yong_Suk_Lee@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"
Educational Tracking, Residential Sorting, and Intergenerational Economic Mobility: Evidence from South Korea"

References:
Nathaniel Baum-Snow
Kenneth Chay
Andrew Foster
Vernon Henderson

Fields:
Public Economics
Urban Economics
Development Economics
Health and Public Policy

[back to the top]
sasaki

Yuya Sasaki
Yuya_Sasaki@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"
Heterogeneity and Selection in Dynamic Panel Data"

References:
Stefan Hoderlein
Frank_Kleibergen
Blaise Melly
Eric Renault
Susanne Schennach

Fields:
Econometrics (Theory and Applied)

[back to the top]
storeygard

Adam Storeygard
Adam_Storeygard@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"
Farther on down the road:
transport costs, trade and urban growth in sub-Saharan Africa"

References:
Nathaniel Baum-Snow
Andrew Foster
Vernon Henderson David Weil

Fields:
Urban Economics
Development and Growth
Environmental Economics
Demography

[back to the top]
tecu

Isabel Tecu
Isabel_Tecu@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"
The Location of Industrial Innovation: Does Manufacturing Matter?"

References:
Nathaniel Baum-Snow
Vernon Henderson David Weil

Fields:
Applied Microeconomics
Innovation
Urban Economics
Industrial Organization

[back to the top]
tewari

Ishani Tewari
Ishani_Tewari@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"Home Sweet Home:
Financial Development and Asset Inequality"

References:
Ross Levine
David N. Weil
Andrew Foster
Ivo Welch

Fields:
Growth and Development
Banking
Applied Microeconomics

[back to the top]

 


wei

Zhichao Wei
Zhichao_Wei@brown.edu
CV
Abstract


Job Market Paper:
"
Blessing or Curse: A Study of China's Place-based Pro-agriculture Poverty Alleviation Program"

References:
Vernon Henderson
Louis_Putterman Nathaniel Baum-Snow

Fields:
Development Economics
Urban Economics
Labor Economics


[back to the top]