economics at Brown University
<< Back

Omicron Delta Epsilon -- The International Honor society for Economics

Beta Chapter of Rhode Island

Omicron Delta Epsilon is one of the world’s largest academic honor societies. The objectives of Omicron Delta Epsilon are recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics.

To be eligible, you must have received six or more “A’s” in economic courses by the beginning of the fall semester of your senior year since the initiation date is January 1.


Omicron Delta Epsilon, one of the world’s largest academic honor societies, was created in 1963 through the merger of two honor societies, Omicron Delta Gamma and Omicron Chi Epsilon. At the time of their merger, both societies had 28 chapters. Omicron Delta Gamma’s chapters were primarily in the Midwestern and Pacific states while the chapters of Omicron Chi Epsilon were concentrated at Colleges and Universities along the Eastern Seaboard and in Texas. Omicron Delta Epsilon has over 560 chapters located in the United States, Canada, Australia, Egypt, and France.

Omicron Delta Gamma (The Order of Artus) was founded in 1915 by John R. Commons, University of Wisconsin and Frank Taussig, Harvard University through the union of the economics societies of their Universities. The intent of the society was the encouragement of a closer academic and social relationship between honor students and faculty on an informal basis, facilitating the exchange of information and views.

Omicron Chi Epsilon was the younger of the two organizations but of equal chapter strength at the time of the merger, having been founded in 1955 by Alan A. Brown while he was a student at the City College of New York. From its inception, the Society sought to provide means not only to confer suitable honors on the more promising students but also to encourage scholarship by organized meetings and conferences and through the publication of its official journal.

The Beta Chapter of Rhode Island was established in 1966. Professor Sriniketh Nagavarapu is the current faculty advisor. The current ODE President is Elizabeth Fuerbacher.

Membership Application

National Chapter of ODE

Please email any questions to Sriniketh Nagavarapu