Skip over navigation
Brown Home Brown Home Brown University Cogut Center for the Humanities Brown Home Brown Home Brown University

Fellows' Seminars 2012-13

Cogut Center Fellows meet on a regular basis to discuss their works-in-progress. Pre-circulated papers are distributed a week ahead of time and then discussed at the seminar.

In 2012-13, Fellows' Seminars, open to Cogut Center Fellows and invited guests only, are held in Pembroke Hall 202.


Fall 2012

Tuesday, September 11
Introductory Seminar
Michael Steinberg
Cogut Center for the Humanities

Tuesday, September 18
"Writing the International"
Madhumita Lahiri
Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow
English

Tuesday, September 25
"Between the Visual and the Text: Ethiopian Modernity and Modernism; an Alternative Reading"
Elizabeth Giorgis
Distinguished Visiting Fellow
Cogut Center for the Humanities

Tuesday, October 2
"Tropic Spell: Performance in the Queer Asias"
Eng-Beng Lim
Faculty Fellow
Theatre Arts and Performance Studies

Tuesday, October 9
"The (unfinished) Ballad of Adam and Elena Emery"
Jacob Richman
Graduate Fellow
Music

Tuesday, October 16
"Place, Memory, Healing: Towards an Archaeology of Hittite Spring Monuments"
Ömür Harmansah
Faculty Fellow
Archaeology

Tuesday, October 23
"Physiology of Essences: Writing Pain in Polish and Russian Modernism"
Michal Oklot
Faculty Fellow
Slavic Studies

Tuesday, October 30
CANCELLED
Guest speaker: Hurricane Sandy

Tuesday, November 6
"The Cartographic Conquest of Palestine"
Linda Quiquivix
Postdoctoral Fellow in Critical Global Humanities
Cogut Center for the Humanities

Tuesday, November 13
"Milton and the Movement-Image: A Natural"
Steven Swarbrick
Graduate Fellow
English

Tuesday, November 20
"Democracy in Motion"
Gianpaolo Baiocchi
Faculty Fellow
Sociology

Tuesday, November 27
"Yusef Komunyakaa at the Jazz Workshop"
Jeffrey Neilson
Graduate Fellow
English

Tuesday, December 4
"The Spanish Woman Playwright: Revolutionary or Rebel"
Alejandra Prieto
Distinguished Visiting Fellow

Tuesday, December 11
"The Medicalization of Maternity in the Jewish Community of Tunisia, 1880-1940"
Richard Parks
Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow
History