skip navigation

This page is designed for modern browsers. You will have a better experience with a better browser.

Brown Home Brown Home Brown Academics

Brown University Symphony Orchestra to tour China from December 24-January 6

Read the student blog to find out the latest information about the tour. The blog will allow students to communicate with the Brown community as they prepare to leave and while they tour China.

Conductor Paul Phillips and the Brown University Orchestra are leaving on December 24 to begin their 13 day tour of China, where they will play in Shanghai, Dalian, Ningbuo, Suzhou, Changzhou, and Beijing. 81 people, including students, faculty, staff, and family members, have been learning Chinese customs, gathering their passports, and preparing hundreds of instruments for the international flight.

The trip, which is one of the first concert tours in China by an American collegiate orchestra, will include some free time for students to immerse themselves in the culture and will also include a visit the Great Wall.

Tour itinerary:
Sunday, Dec. 24 Flight to Shanghai
Monday, Dec. 25 (Christmas) Arrive Shanghai, fly to Dalian
Tuesday, Dec. 26 CONCERT 1 - Dalian
Wednesday, Dec. 27 fly to Shanghai; CONCERT 2 - Shanghai Oriental Arts Center
Thursday, Dec. 28 CONCERT 3 - Shanghai Oriental Arts Center
Friday, Dec. 29 CONCERT 4 - Ningbuo
Saturday, Dec. 30 CONCERT 5 - Suzhou
Sunday, Dec. 31 (New Year's Eve) CONCERT 6 - Changzhou
Monday, Jan. 1 (New Year's Day) CONCERT 7 - Suzhou
Tuesday, Jan. 2 Free day in Suzhou
Wednesday, Jan. 3 Free day in Suzhou; overnight train to Beijing
Thursday, Jan. 4 Free day in Beijing – visit Great Wall
Friday, Jan. 5 CONCERT 8 - Beijing Poly Theatre
Saturday, Jan. 6 Flight to USA