Academic Departments, Centers and Programs

The following Academic Departments, Centers, and Programs report to the Dean of the Faculty or to the Provost.

Humanities | Life Sciences | Physical Sciences | Social Sciences


Unit Chair/Director Manager Type
Classics Jeri DeBrohun
Susan Furtado Academic Department
Comparative Literature Marc Redfield
Tracy Miller Academic Department
East Asian Studies Hye-Sook Wang Kathryn Spicer Academic Department
Egyptology and Assyriology John Steele Catherine Hanni
Academic Department
English Philip Gould Marilyn Netter Academic Department
French Studies Lewis Seifert
Kathleen Wiggins Academic Department
German Studies Gerhard Richter  Wendy Perelman Academic Department
Hispanic Studies Janet Blume
Mary Oliver Academic Department
History of Art and Architecture Sheila Bonde Diana Adamczyk Academic Department
Italian Studies Caroline Castiglione
Mona Delgado Academic Department
Judaic Studies Saul Olyan
Susan Rottenberg Academic Department
Literary Arts Thalia Field
Gale Nelson Academic Department
Modern Culture and Media Wendy Chun
Susan McNeil Academic Department
Music Butch Rovan Jennifer Vieira Academic Department
Philosophy Bernard Reginster Katherine Scanga Academic Department
Portuguese & Brazilian Studies Nelson Vieira Armanda Silva Academic Department
Religious Studies Mark Cladis
Nicole Vadnais Academic Department
Slavic Studies Svetlana Evdokimova Gisela Belton Academic Department
Theatre Arts and Performance Studies Patricia Ybarra
Emily Bruce Academic Department
Visual Art Wendy Edwards Sheila Haggerty Academic Department
Early Cultures Susan Alcock, Stephen Houston,
and John Bodel (Co-Directors)
Sarah Sharpe Program/Center
Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World  Peter van Dommelan
Sarah Sharpe Program/Center
Cogut Center for the Humanities Amanda Anderson
Kit Salsbury Program/Center
Creative Arts Council Richard Fishman Program/Center
Gender and Sexuality Studies Suzanne Stewart-Steinberg Donna Goodnow Program/Center
Language Studies Ercan Balci Jill Stewart Program/Center
Medieval Studies Mercedes Vaquero Maria Sokolova Program/Center
Modern Greek Studies Graham Oliver
Renaissance and Early Modern Studies Harold Cook Maria Sokolova Program/Center

Life Sciences

Unit Contact


Cognitive, Linguistic and Psychological Sciences

William Heindel

Reinette Sousa Academic Department
Brain and Neural Systems Leon Cooper Willis Bilderback Program/Center
Institute at Brown for Environment and Society Amanda Lynch
Bonnie Horta

Physical Sciences

Unit Contact Manager Type
Applied Mathematics Bjorn Sandstede Camille Dickson Academic Department
Chemistry Matthew Zimmt Lynn Rossi Academic Department
Computer Science Ugur Cetintemel Jane McIlmail Academic Department
Engineering Lawrence Larson Nancy Carroll Academic Department
Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences Greg Hirth
Nancy Fjeldheim Academic Department
Mathematics Jeffrey Brock Doreen Pappas Academic Department
Physics James Valles Sara Tortora Academic Department
Computation and Visualization Robert Pelcovits Sharon King Program/Center
Geometric Computing Roberto Tamassia Program/Center
Institute for Molecular and Nanoscale Innovation Nitin Padture Kim Cavanaugh Program/Center
Computational Molecular Biology Benjamin Raphael Nathaniel Gill Program/Center

Social Sciences

Unit Contact Manager Type
Africana Studies Brian Meeks
Deborah Bowen Academic Department
American Studies Matthew Guterl Jeff Cabral Academic Department
Anthropology Jessaca Leinaweaver
Mariesa Fischer Academic Department
Economics David Weil
Kim Departie Academic Department
Education Kenneth Wong Heather Johnson Academic Department
History Cynthia Brokaw 
Cherrie Guerzon Academic Department
Political Science Wendy Schiller
Patricia Gardner Academic Department
Sociology David Lindstrom Joan Picard Academic Department
Annenberg Institute for School Reform Warren Simmons Danielle Lilly-Marinosci Program/Center
The C.V. Starr Program in Business, Entrepreneurship and Organizations  Mary Fennell Brendan McNally Program/Center
Development Studies Nitsan Chorev
Anita Nester Program/Center
Environment and Society, Institute at Brown For Amanda Lynch
Bonnie Horta
International Relations Nina Tannenwald Anita Nester Program/Center
John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities and Cultural Heritage Steven Lubar Sabina Griffin Program/Center
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Matthew Gutmann Kate Goldman Program/Center
Middle East Studies Beshara Doumani Barbara Oberkoetter Program/Center
Pembroke Center for Teaching and Research on Women Susan Stewart-Steienberg
Donna Goodnow Program/Center
Political Theory Project     John Tomasi Mary Massed Program/Center
Population Studies and Training Center Andrew Foster Thomas Alarie Program/Center
A. Alfred Taubman Center for Public Policy and American Institutions James Morone
Isabel Costa Program/Center
Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in America Tricia Rose Christina Downs Program/Center
Rhodes Center for International Economics
Spatial Structures in the Social Sciences (S4) John Logan Program/Center
Science and Technology Studies
Tara Nummedal Program/Center
Slavery and Justice Tony Bogues Shana Weinberg Program/Center
Urban Studies Program Dietrich Neumann
Meredith Chase Paine Program/Center