Faculty

Faculty/Research

Brown University's faculty includes individuals with a research focus on Greater China, as well as those who are enaged in collaborations with scholars in the region.  Below is a partial listing of faculty and staff interested in China.

Susan E. Alcock

Director, Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World
Joukowsky Family Professor of Archaeology
Professor of Classics; Professor of Anthropology
Susan_Alcock@brown.edu

Maggie Bickford

Professor of History of Art & Architecture
Roberta_Bickford@brown.edu

Cynthia Brokaw

Professor of History
Cynthia_Brokaw@brown.edu

David E. Cane

Vernon K. Krieble Professor of Chemistry
Professor of Biochemistry
David_Cane@brown.edu

James Der Derian

Professor of International Studies
Watson Institute for International Studies
James_Der_Derian@Brown.edu

Hongjie Dong

Assistant Professor of Applied Mathematics
Hongjie_Dong@brown.edu

Lance D. Dworkin

Professor of Medicine
Vice Chairman for Research, Academic Affairs, & Ethics
Department of Medicine
Director, Division of Kidney Disease & Hypertension
Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Lance_Dworkin@brown.edu

John Eng-Wong

The Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity
John_Eng-Wong@brown.edu

Zhanlian Feng

Assistant Professor (Research)
Center for Gerontology and Health Care Research
Zhanlian_Feng@Brown.edu

Huajian Gao

Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Engineering
Huajian_Gao@brown.edu

Sidney Goldstein

Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Sidney_Goldstein@brown.edu

Alice Goldstein

Senior Researcher Emerita
Alice_Goldstein@brown.edu

Yan Guo

Professor of Applied Mathematics
Yan_Guo@brown.edu

Matthew Gutmann

Vice President for International Affairs
Professor of Anthropology
Matthew_Gutmann@brown.edu

Robert Heffron

Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Director, Brown Family Medicine Residency Acupuncture Clinic
Robert_Heffron@brown.edu

J. Vernon Henderson

Professor of Economics
J_Henderson@brown.edu

Lung-Hua Hu

Senior Lecturer in East Asian Studies
Lung-Hua_Hu@brown.edu

Yongsong Huang

Associate Professor, Organic Geochemistry
Yongsong_Huang@brown.edu

Evelyn Hu-Dehart

Professor of History
Evelyn_Hu-Dehart@brown.edu

Julianne Ip

Associate Dean of Medicine
Program in Liberal Medical Education and Visiting International Medical Students
Clinical Associate Professor of Family Medicine
Julianne_Ip@brown.edu

Rami Kantor

Associate Professor of Medicine
Medicine
Rami_Kantor@brown.edu

Catherine Kerr

Director, Translational Neuroscience
Contemplative Studies Initiative
Assistant Professor
Department of Family Medicine
Catherine_Kerr@brown.edu

Robert G. Lee

Chair, Associate Professor, American Civilization
Robert_Lee@brown.edu

Ross Levine

James and Merryl Tisch Professor of Economics
Director, Rhodes Center for International Economics and Finance
Ross_Levine@brown.edu

Dore J. Levy

Professor of Comparative Literature and East Asian Studies
Dore_Levy@brown.edu

Xinsheng Sean Ling

Professor of Physics
xsling@brown.edu

John Logan

Professor of Sociology
Director, Spatial Structures in the Social Sciences
John_Logan@brown.edu

Vincent Mor

Florence Pirce Grant Professor of Community Health
Vincent_Mor@brown.edu

Warren L. Prell

Henry L. Doherty Professor of Oceanography
Warren_Prell@brown.edu

Louis Putterman

Professor of Economics
Louis_Putterman@brown.edu

Harold Roth

Professor of Religious Studies ad East Asian Studies
Director, Brown Contemplative Studies Initiative
Co-Director, Alpert Medical School Scholarly Concentration in Contemplative Studies
Harold_Roth@brown.edu

Susan E. Short

Professor of Sociology
Susan_Short@brown.edu

Chi-Wang Shu

Theodore B. Stowell University Professor of Applied Mathematics
Chi-Wang_Shu@brown.edu

Shelley Stephenson

Director of International Initiatives
Shelley_Stephenson@brown.edu

Eric Suuberg

Professor of Engineering
Associate Director, Superfund Research Program
Co-Director, Program in Innovation Management and Entrepreneurship
Eric_Suuberg@brown.edu

Chung-I Tan

Professor of Physics
Chung-I_Tan@brown.edu

Jay Tang

Associate Professor of
Physics
Jay_Tang@brown.edu

Hsin-I Tseng

Lecturer of East Asian Studies
Hsin-I_Tseng@brown.edu

Glenn Tung

Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs
Professor of Diagnostic Imaging
Glenn_Tung@brown.edu

Lingzhen Wang

Associate Professor of East Asian Studies
Lingzhen_Wang@brown.edu

Yang Wang

Lecturer in East Asian Studies
Yang_Wang@brown.edu

Michael White

Professor of Sociology
Michael_White@brown.edu