The Alfred H. Joslin Award

May 2015 Awards

This year's Joslin recipients are:

  • Michelle Bailhe
  • Sarah Day Dayon
  • William Furuyama
  • Mashfiq Hasan
  • Rachel Himes
  • Samuel Kase
  • Abishek Kulshreshtha
  • Ariel Sydney Peak
  • Maahika Srinivasan
  • William Watterson
  • Team Award: Erin Kelley and Taylor Lanzet

Information about past recipients is available at the bottom of this page.

Recipients will be honored at two ceremonies:

  • The Student Leadership Award Ceremony on Monday, May 4 at 3:30 p.m. (attendance by invitation only)
  • The Commencement and Reunion Weekend's Jin-Joslin-Joukowsky Award Ceremony on Friday, May 22, 2015 at 3:00 p.m in the Carmichael Auditorium in the Brown Environmental Research and Teaching (BERT) Building.

About the Joslin Award

The Joslin Awards recognize a small group of seniors who have contributed in a very significant way to the quality of student life at Brown. Award winners generally demonstrate a wide breadth of involvement during their campus years as well as substantial depth in one or more areas. Through their leadership and involvement they have not only enhanced their own liberal education, they have also provided services, programs and other opportunities for involvement to their peers, thus enhancing the learning environment for all students.

The Joslin Award is given in the name of Judge Alfred H. Joslin, a 1936 Brown graduate, a member of the Corporation from 1963-1985, and a member of the Board of Fellows. Because of this extraordinary service to the Brown community, his initial chairmanship of the Corporation Committee on Student Life, and his abiding concern for the interests and welfare of undergraduates, it is fitting that this award should be designated in his honor.

The Joslin Award is one of many awards recognizing student leadership offered by the University. Information about some of these other awards is available on the Student Activities Office website.

Nomination Process for May 2016 Awards

Joslin Award nominations are closed for 2015.

Nominations for 2016 recipients may be submitted by any member of the Brown community and will be due in early April 2016.

Nominees must be college seniors anticipated to graduate in May 2016 or December 2016.  The process is highly selective; successful nominations should address the nominee’s character, involvement, and impact.

In the area of CHARACTER, the selection committee is interested not just in what a nominee has done, but the personal qualities and attributes that model the highest ideals of leadership, citizenship, and community. Please identify known INVOLVEMENTS, leadership positions, and noteworthy accomplishments in co-curricular activities (whether they be on or off campus). Please also address the nominee’s IMPACT on Brown (the student experience, community engagement, etc.). Aspects of impact that may aid in the committee’s evaluation include sustainability, breadth, or depth of their efforts.

Recipients will be honored at the Student Leadership Award Ceremony to be held in April and at the Jin-Joslin-Joukowsky Award Ceremony on the Friday afternoon of Commencement and Reunion Weekend.

Joslin Award Recipients

2014 2013
2008 2007
1989 1988