Brown University SealBrown University

Affiliated Faculty

Affiliated Faculty in American Studies


Anthony Bogues

Professor of Africana Studies
Barrymore_Bogues@Brown.edu

Stuart Burrows

Associate Professor of English
Stuart_Burrows@Brown.edu

Lundy Braun

Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
and Africana Studies 
Lundy_Braun@brown.edu

Howard Chudacoff

Professor of History and University Professor
Howard_Chudacoff@Brown.edu

Robert Douglas Cope

Associate Professor of History
Robert_Cope@Brown.edu

James Egan

Professor of English
James_Egan@Brown.edu

Gregory Elliott

Professor of Sociology
Gregory_Elliott@Brown.edu

Lina Fruzzetti

Royce Family Professor in Teaching Excellence and Professor of Anthropology
Lina_Fruzzetti@brown.edu

Matthew Gutmann

Professor of Anthropology; Faculty Fellow, Watson Institute for International Studies
gutmann@brown.edu

Françoise N. Hamlin

Associate Professor of History and Africana Studies
Francoise_Hamlin@brown.edu

Patrick Heller

Professor of Sociology
Patrick_Heller@Brown.edu

Paget Henry

Professor of Africana Studies
and Sociology 
Paget_Henry@Brown.edu

Lynne Joyrich

Associate Professor of Modern Culture and Media
Lynne_Joyrich@Brown.edu

Tamar Katz

Associate Professor of English
Tamar_Katz@brown.edu

Daniel Kim

Associate Professor of English
Daniel_Kim@brown.edu

Kay Dian Kriz

Professor Emerita of History of Art and Architecture
K_Kriz@Brown.edu

Dietrich Neumann

Professor of History of Art and Architecture
Dietrich_Neumann@brown.edu

Kiri Miller

Associate Professor of Music
Kiri_Miller@brown.edu

James Morone

Professor of Political Science and Urban Studies
James_Morone@brown.edu

Douglas Nickel

Andrea V. Rosenthal Professor of Modern Art
Douglas_Nickel@brown.edu

Seth Rockman

Associate Professor of History
Seth_Rockman@brown.edu

Ellen Rooney

Professor of English and Modern Culture and Media
Ellen_Rooney@brown.edu " rel="nofollow">Ellen_Rooney@brown.edu 

Tricia Rose

Professor of Africana Studies
Director, Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in America
Tricia_Rose@brown.edu

Philip Rosen

Professor of Modern Culture and Media
Philip_Rosen@Brown.edu " rel="nofollow">Philip_Rosen@Brown.edu 

Patrica E. Rubertone

Professor of Anthropology and Departmental Graduate Supervisor
Patricia_Rubertone@brown.edu

Robert Self

Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence and Professor of History
Robert_Self@brown.edu

Kerry Smith

Associate Professor of History
Kerry_Smith@Brown.edu

Tracy Steffes

Associate Professor of Education and History
Tracy_Steffes@brown.edu

Jeff Todd Titon

Professor Emeritus of Music
Jeff_Titon@Brown.edu

C. D. Wright

Professor of Literary Arts
cdwright@brown.edu

Patricia Ybarra

Associate Professor of Theatre Arts & Performance Studies
Patricia_Ybarra@brown.edu " rel="nofollow">Patricia_Ybarra@brown.edu

Affiliated Faculty in Ethnic Studies


Wanni Anderson

 Adjunt Professor, Anthropology
Wanni_Anderson@brown.edu

Wendy Hui Kyong Chun

 Professor, Modern Culture and Media
Wendy_Hui_Kyong_Chun@brown.edu

Gail Cohee 

 Director, Sarah Doyle Women's Center
Professor, Pembroke Center for Teaching and Research on Women
Gail_Cohee@brown.edu

Anani Dzidzienyo

 Associate Professor, Africana Studies
Associate Professor, Portuguese and Brazilian Studies
Anani_Dzidzienyo@brown.edu

Paja Faudree

 Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Paja_Faudree@brown.edu

Linford Fisher

 Assistant Professor, History
Linford_Fisher@brown.edu

Lina Fruzzetti

 Royce Family Professor in Teaching Excellence
Professor, Anthropology
Lina_Frizzetti@brown.edu

Matthew Gutmann

 Vice President for International Affairs
Professor, Anthropology
gutmann@brown.edu

Françoise N. Hamlin

 Hans Rothfels Assistant Professor, Africana Studies, History
Francoise_Hamlin@brown.edu

José Itzigsohn

 Professor, Sociology
Jose_Itzigsohn@brown.edu

Tamar Katz

 Associate Professor, English
Tamar_Katz@brown.edu

Daniel Kim

 Associate Professor, English
Daniel_Kim@brown.edu

Jin Li

 Associate Professor, Education
Jin_Li@brown.edu

Eng-Beng Lim

 Assistant Professor, Theatre Arts and Performance Studies
Eng-Beng_Lim@brown.edu " rel="nofollow">Eng-Beng_Lim@brown.edu 

Rolland Murray

 Associate Professor, English
Rolland_Murray@brown.edu

Marion Orr

 Director of A. Alfred Taubman Center for Public Policy and American Institutions
Fred Lippitt Professor of Public Policy
Professor, Political Science
Marion_Orr@brown.edu

Seth Rockman 

 Associate Professor, History
Seth_Rockman@brown.edu

Robert O. Self

 Associate Professor, History
Robert_Self@brown.edu

Daniel Jordan Smith

 Associate Professor, Anthropology
Daniel_J_Smith@brown.edu

Patricia Sobral

 Senior Lecture, Portuguese and Brazilian Studies
Patricia_Sobral@brown.edu

Tracy Steffes

 Assistant Professor, Education and History
Tracy_Steffes@brown.edu

Elmo Terry-Morgan

 Associate Professor, Africana Studies
Elmo_Terry-Morgan@brown.edu

Lingzhen Wang

 Associate Professor, East Asian Studies
Lingzhen_Wang@brown.edu

Michael White

 Professor, Sociology
Michael_White@brown.edu

 Esther Whitfield

 Associate Professor, Comparative Literature
Esther_Whitfield@brown.edu

Patricia Ybarra

Associate Professor, Theatre Arts and Performance Studies
Patricia_Ybarra@brown.edu


Visiting Scholars in American Studies


Brenda Carter

Visiting Scholar, American Studies
Brenda_Carter@brown.edu

David Goodman

Visiting Scholar, American Studies

Ann Harleman

Visiting Scholar, American Studies
Ann_Harleman@Brown.EDU

Mary Paula Hunter

Visiting Scholar, American Studies

Hilda Llorens

Visiting Scholar, American Studies
Hilda_Llorens@brown.edu

Joanne Melish

Visiting Scholar, American Studies
Joanne_Melish@Brown.EDU