Core Faculty

Sarah Besky

Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Sarah_Besky@brown.edu

 

Rebecca Louise Carter

Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Urban Studies
Rebecca_Carter@brown.edu
social and environmental vulnerability, human dwelling, placemaking, urban social transformation

Paja Faudree

Associate Professor in Anthropology and Interim Director of Graduate Studies 
Paja_Faudree@brown.edu
linguistic anthropology, music, political economy, Latin America, indigeneity, drugs and psychoactive plants, language and medicine

Lina Fruzzetti

Professor of Anthropology
Lina_Fruzzetti@brown.edu
gender, ritual, India

Matthew Gutmann

Professor of Anthropology; Faculty Fellow, Watson Institute for International Studies
Matthew_Gutmann@brown.edu
gender, politics, health, Latin America, China 

Sherine Hamdy

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Kutayba Alghanim Professor of Social Science, Undergraduate Advisor
Sherine_Hamdy@brown.edu
medical anthropology, bioethics, gender, Islam, Middle East  

Stephen Houston

Dupee Family Professor of Social Science and Professor of Anthropology and Archaeology
Stephen_Houston@brown.edu
Maya, kingship, writing systems, imagery and representation  

David Kertzer

Dupee University Professor of Social Science, Professor of Anthropology & Italian Studies
David_Kertzer@brown.edu
politics, population, Italy 

Jessaca Leinaweaver

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Interim Chair
Jessaca_Leinaweaver@brown.edu
kinship, childhood, aging, migration, Latin America

Catherine Lutz
Thomas J. Watson, Jr. Family Professor of Anthropolopgy and International Studies
Catherine_Lutz@brown.edu
war and social life, inequality, automobility, subjectivity, visual anthropology, U.S. twentieth century history and ethnography, Asia-Pacific 


Katherine A. Mason
Assistant Professor of Anthropology 
Katherine_Mason@brown.edu

 

Robert Preucel
Professor of Anthropology and Director of the Haffenreffer Museum Robert_Preucel@brown.edu


Patricia E. Rubertone
Professor of Anthropology
Patricia_Rubertone@brown.edu

 

Andrew Scherer
Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Archaeology
Andrew_Scherer@brown.edu
archaeology, biological anthropology, political practice, war and violence, mortuary archaeology, bioarchaeology, Maya/Mesoamerica


William Simmons
Professor of Anthropology
William_Simmons@brown.edu

 

Bhrigupati Singh 
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Bhrigupati_Singh@brown.edu

 

Daniel Jordan Smith
Royce Family Professor in Teaching Excellence Professor of Anthropology
Daniel_J_Smith@brown.edu
medical anthropology, anthropology & population, development, political culture, Nigeria 


Peter Van Dommelen
Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology and Professor of Anthropology Peter_Van_Dommelen@brown.edu
archaeology, colonialism, migration, rural studies, Mediterranean


Parker Van Valkenburgh            

Assistant Professor of Anthropology Parker_VanValkenburgh@brown.edu


Kay Warren                                              Charles C. Tillinghast '32 Professor in International Studies and Professor of Anthropology
Kay_Warren@brown.edu
Archaeological fieldwork, Chiapas, MexicoArchaeological fieldwork, Chiapas, Mexico