Graduate Students

 

Alcover, Omar

omar_alcover@brown.edu
Maya, architecture, public space 

Arey, Whitney
whitney_arey@brown.edu

Avera, Emily
emily_avera@brown.edu
Organ trafficking, human trafficking, global health, HIV/AIDS

Bastani, Parsa
parsa_bastani@brown.edu

Berhane, Fiori

fiori_berhane@brown.edu
Development, refugees, national, Eritrea 

Buswala, Bhawani

bhawani_buswala@brown.edu
Social inequality, discrimination, language and power, South Asia

Cormier McSwiggin, Chelsea

chelsea_cormier_mcswiggin@brown.edu
migration/transnationalism studies, Haitian Diaspora, kinship studies

Deal, Lauren E.

lauren_deal@brown.edu
Linguistic Anthropology, Argentina and the Andes, Latin America, Social movements, Ethnomusicology, Performance and Performativity, Poetics

de Carteret, Alyce

alyce_decarteret@brown.edu
Mesoamerican archaeology; the Classic Maya; household archaeology; El Zotz, Guatemala

Dewan, Eve

eve_dewan@brown.edu
Historical archaeology, colonialism, frontiers, US 

Dias, Paula

paula_dias@brown.edu
Development, energy industries (especially oil), environmental politics, citizenship, identity, race/ethnicity, Brazil, Latin America.

Firoz, Malay

malay_firoz@brown.edu
Humanitarianism, refugees, war, sovereignty, global governance, empire, political theory, Middle East

Hansen, Magnus Pharao

magnus_pharao_hansen@brown.edu
Language, indigeneity, education, nationalism, Mexico

Hefny, Sara

sara_hefny@brown.edu
Middle East, migration, Europe, immigrants and refugees, memory and identity, food and foodways, gastronomic identity, cultural heritage, integration and assimilation

Horton, Brian A.

brian_horton@brown.edu
Queer theory, subaltern studies, desire, affect, modern South Asia

Katzenstein, Jessica

jessica_katzenstein@brown.edu
Policing and security, militarization, Anthropology of the state, race, gender, technology

Kearin, Madeline

madeline_kearin@brown.edu
Historical archaeology, religion, identity, US

Larotonda, Alice

 alice_larotonda@brown.edu
Medical Anthropology; Anthropology of Infants and Children; Child Health and Child Rearing; Reproduction, Parenting and Parenthood; Anthropology of and in the Clinical Setting; Global Health; Cape Verde
 
Lewis, Kimberly
kimberly_lewis@brown.edu
Higher education policy and reform; political anthropology; indigenous students; Ecuador.

MacLeod, Josh P.

josh_macleod@brown.edu
Latin America; Guatemala; Human Rights, with a focus on Indigenous Rights; Natural Resources and Social Movements; International jurisprudence and how national and local actors are working to enforce these international conventions.

Marsh, Katharine
katharine_marsh@brown.edu
Christianity, Migration, Kinship

Marshall, Hannah

hannah_marshall@brown.edu

Matsumoto, Mallory
mallory_matsumoto@brown.edu


McKelvey, Patrick
patrick_mckelvey@brown.edu
Performance studies; medical anthropology; anthropology of disability; anthropology of work; affective labor; neoliberal critique

Moorefield, Bryan

bryan_moorefield@brown.edu
Americas; Mexico and southern United States; "Guestworkers” and farmworkers; transnational labor, migration, and kinship

Nelson, Jessica

jessica_nelson@brown.edu
Historical archaeology, New Netherland, New York

Parikh, Anar

anar_parikh@brown.edu
Cultural heritage, urban anthropology, India/South Asia

Peck, Alexandra
alexandra_peck@brown.edu

Rafiq, Mohamed Yunus

mohamed_rafiq@brown.edu
Public health, medical anthropology, science and technology studies, anthropology of the state, anthropology of media

Roche Recinos, Alejandra
alejandra_rocherecinos@brown.edu


Savell, Stephanie
stephanie_savell@brown.edu
Brazil; United States; political anthropology; urban studies; security and policing; everyday violence; citizenship and rights; civic engagement

Sen, Sertac
sertac_sen@brown.edu 
 

Sheridan, Derek

derek_sheridan@brown.edu
Geopolitical imaginations, theories of value, economic anthropology, Africa-China Relations, Tanzania, Taiwan

Shim, Yoon Kyung

yoon_kyung_shim@brown.edu
Indigenous archaeology, Asian-American archaeology, spaces of confinement, construction of historical narratives

Stainova, Yana

yana_stainova@brown.edu
Ethics, Aesthetics, Violence, Venezuela, Latin America

Srinivasan, Rama

rama_srinivasan@brown.edu
Legal Anthropology; Gender and Sexuality; Emotions; India 

Sulaiman, Samee
samee_sulaiman@brown.edu 
 

Sun, Yuezhu
yuezhu_sun@brown.edu 
 

Wright, Andrea

andrea_wright@brown.edu
migration, affective labor, gender, development, India

Miguel Aleman reservoir, with the Sierra Mazateca in the background, northern Oaxaca, Mexico, 2004Miguel Aleman reservoir, with the Sierra Mazateca in the background, northern Oaxaca, Mexico, 2004

American historical archaeology; maritime societies; labor, gender and household practice; material culture; public history and museums