Graduate Students

 

Alcover, Omar

omar_alcover@brown.edu
Maya, architecture, public space

Avera, Emily

emily_avera@brown.edu
Organ trafficking, human trafficking, global health, HIV/AIDS

Berhane, Fiori

fiori_berhane@brown.edu
Development, refugees, national, Eritrea 

Buswala, Bhawani

bhawani_buswala@brown.edu
Social inequality, discrimination, language and power, South Asia

Button Kambic, Emily

emily_button@brown.edu
American historical archaeology; maritime societies; labor, race, and gender; material culture; public history and museums 

Cormier McSwiggin, Chelsea

chelsea_cormier_mcswiggin@brown.edu
Medical anthropology, HIV/AIDS, migration/transnationalism studies, Haitian Diaspora, kinship studies

Deal, Lauren E.

lauren_deal@brown.edu
Linguistic Anthropology, Argentina and the Andes, Latin American social movements, Ethnomusicology, Performance and Performativity, Indigeneity

de Carteret, Alyce

alyce_decarteret@brown.edu
Mesoamerican archaeology; the Classic Maya; household archaeology; El Zotz, Guatemala

Dewan, Eve

eve_dewan@brown.edu
Historical archaeology, colonialism, frontiers, US 

Dias, Paula

paula_dias@brown.edu
Anthropology of development; ethnography of the state and corporations; identity and ethnicity; Brazil; Latin America

Firoz, Malay

malay_firoz@brown.edu
Humanitarianism, refugees, war, sovereignty, global governance, empire, political theory, Middle East

Flores, Andrea

andrea_flores@brown.edu
United States; education, migration, and citizenship; new digital media and popular culture; adolescents

Hansen, Magnus Pharao

magnus_pharao_hansen@brown.edu
Language, indigeneity, education, nationalism, Mexico

Hefny, Sara

sara_hefny@brown.edu
Middle East, migration, Europe, immigrants and refugees, memory and identity, food and foodways, gastronomic identity, cultural heritage

Horton, Brian A.

brian_horton@brown.edu
Queer theory, subaltern studies, desire, affect, modern South Asia

Jones, Alexander

alexander_c_jones@brown.edu
Pentecostalism; Anthropology of Christianity, Africa; History of social theory; Political theology; Continental philosophy; Political economy; Millenarianism; Exchange; Contemporary religion; Secularism

Katzenstein, Jessica

jessica_katzenstein@brown.edu
Development, inequality, GPD

Kearin, Madeline

madeline_kearin@brown.edu
Historical archaeology, religion, identity, US

Jorge, Karen

karen_jorge@brown.edu
Medical anthropology, transnational reproduction, science and technology studies, reproductive technologies, Panama

Larotonda, Alice

alice_larotonda@brown.edu
Medical Anthropology; Anthropology of Infants and Children; Child Health and Child Rearing; Reproduction, Parenting and Parenthood; Anthropology of and in the Clinical Setting; Global Health; Cape Verde

Lewis, Kimberly

kimberly_lewis@brown.edu
Higher education policy and reform; political anthropology; indigenous students; Ecuador.

MacLeod, Josh P.

josh_macleod@brown.edu
Latin America; Guatemala; Human Rights, with a focus on Indigenous Rights; Natural Resources and Social Movements; International jurisprudence and how national and local actors are working to enforce these international conventions.

Marsh, Katharine

katharine_marsh@brown.edu
Christianity, Migration, Kinship

McKelvey, Patrick

patrick_mckelvey@brown.edu
Performance studies; medical anthropology; anthropology of disability; anthropology of work; affective labor; neoliberal critique

Mesola, Maya

maya_mesola@brown.edu
African Studies, gender, reproduction

Moorefield, Bryan

bryan_moorefield@brown.edu
Americas; Mexico and southern United States; "Guestworkers” and farmworkers; transnational labor, migration, and kinship

Nelson, Jessica

jessica_nelson@brown.edu
Historical archaeology, New Netherland, New York

Newman, Sarah

sarah_newman@brown.edu
Mesoamerican Archaeology; the ancient Maya; Terminal Classic (ca. A.D. 800-1050) transitions and transformations; royal courts and sociopolitical organization; household archaeology; osteoarchaeology; New World zooarchaeology; taphonomy; depositional/object histories; ritual practice; cultural conceptions, uses, and reuses of refuse

Parikh, Anar

anar_parikh@brown.edu
Cultural heritage, urban anthropology, India/South Asia

Rafiq, Mohamed Yunus

mohamed_rafiq@brown.edu
Public health, medical anthropology, science and technology studies, anthropology of the state, anthropology of media

Savell, Stephanie

stephanie_savell@brown.edu
Brazil; United States; political anthropology; urban studies; security and policing; everyday violence; citizenship and rights; civic engagement

 Sheridan, Derek

derek_sheridan@brown.edu
Geopolitical imaginations, theories of value, economic anthropology, Africa-China Relations, Tanzania, Taiwan

Shim, Yoon Kyung

yoon_kyung_shim@brown.edu
Indigenous archaeology, Asian-American archaeology, spaces of confinement, construction of historical narratives

Stainova, Yana

yana_stainova@brown.edu
Latin America; artistic expression and poetry in Chile.

Srinivasan, Rama

rama_srinivasan@brown.edu
Legal Anthropology; Gender and Sexuality; Emotions; India 

Vares, Laura

laura_a_vares@brown.edu
Europe; Italy; ageing, anthropological demography; transnationalism and identity, migration, gender and family, eldercare

Wright, Andrea

andrea_wright@brown.edu
migration, affective labor, gender, development, India

Miguel Aleman reservoir, with the Sierra Mazateca in the background, northern Oaxaca, Mexico, 2004Miguel Aleman reservoir, with the Sierra Mazateca in the background, northern Oaxaca, Mexico, 2004

American historical archaeology; maritime societies; labor, gender and household practice; material culture; public history and museums