A Tangle of Talents Untangles Neurons

The secrets of Schwann-like substrates  Cristina Lopez-Fagundo, left, and Diane Hoffman-Kim are figuring out optimal designs for implants that will guide neuron growth in new tissue. :

Brown’s growing programs in brain science and engineering come together in the lab of Diane Hoffman-Kim. In a recent paper, her group employed techniques ranging from semiconductor-style circuit patterning to rat cell culture to optimize the growth of nerve cells for applications such as reconstructive surgery.

PROVIDENCE, R.I. [Brown University] — Two wrongs don’t make a right, they say, but here’s how one tangle can straighten out another.

(Distributed May 9, 2013)

New BME Faculty - Kareen Kreutziger

Kareen Kreutziger is a bioengineer specializing in cardiac tissue engineering, muscle mechanics, stem cell biology, and regenerative medicine.  She received a B.S. degree in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Rochester in 2001; a Ph.D. degree in Bioengineering from the University of Washington in 2007; and post-doctoral training with Dr.

(Distributed May 1, 2013)

New BME Faculty - Ian Wong

Ian Y. Wong will join Brown University as assistant professor of engineering in July 2013. His research program will focus on engineering new technologies to study cancer cell invasion and phenotypic plasticity. He is particularly interested in understanding how materials and mechanical aspects of the tumor microenvironment regulate malignant behavior. Dr. Wong is currently a Damon Runyon Cancer Research Fellow at Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School with Mehmet Toner and Daniel Irimia. Previously, he received his Ph.D.

(Distributed May 1, 2013)

New BME Faculty - Anita Shukla

A native Rhode Islander, Anita Shukla is currently an NIH Ruth Kirschstein postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Bioengineering at Rice University.  Dr. Shukla’s postdoctoral research focuses on developing biologically inspired micropatterned surfaces to direct stem cell differentiation.  She received her Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2011 as an NSF Graduate Research Fellow.  In her doctoral work, Dr.

(Distributed May 1, 2013)

Eric Darling Receives NSF CAREER Award

Darling receives NSF CAREER award:

Eric M. Darling, Assistant Professor of Medical Science, Orthopaedics, and Engineering, recently received an NSF CAREER award, which is the "National Science Foundation's most prestigious award in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research."

(Distributed February 13, 2013)
Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed