Affiliated and Visiting Faculty

Visiting Faculty 2014/2015

Sarah Insley

ACLS New Faculty Fellow
Interests:  Post-Classical Greek language and literature; Late Roman and Byzantine cultural and intellectual history; Early Christianity; Monasticism and ascetic literature
Sarah_Insley@Brown.edu

David Pritchard

Visiting Scholar
The University of Queensland
David_Pritchard@brown.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Susan A. Harvey

Professor of Religious Studies
Interests: Greek & Roman religions, late antiquity & Eastern Christianity.
Susan_Harvey@brown.edu

Ross Kraemer

Professor of Religious Studies and Judaic Studies
Interests: Early Christianity, early Judaism, women's religions in the Greco-Roman world.
Ross_Kraemer@Brown.edu

Saul M. Olyan

Samuel Ungerleider Jr. Professor of Judaic Studies & Professor of Religious Studies
Interests: Israelite and Canaanite history, literature and religion; history of biblical interpretation.
Saul_Olyan@Brown.edu

Michael Satlow

Associate Professor of Judaic Studies and Religious Studies
Interests: Early Judaism; issues of gender, sexuality, and marriage among Jews in antiquity; Dead Sea scrolls; Jewish theology; methodology in Religious Studies; the social history of Jews during the rabbinic period.
Michael_Satlow@Brown.edu

Stanley Stowers

Professor of Religious Studies
Interests: ancient religions, early Christianity.
Stanley_Stowers@Brown.edu

Cooperating Faculty

James P. Allen

Wilbour Professor of Egyptology

Laurel Bestock

Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Egyptology and Ancient Western Asian Studies

Ömür Harmansah

Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Egyptology and Ancient Western Asian Studies

Nancy Khalek

Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

John Steele

Associate Professor of Egyptology and Ancient Western Asian Studies