Who is WiSE?

 

As Coordinators for WiSE, students take on leadership roles, are enthusiastic, motivated and are excited about working with faculty as well as students. These positions require students to be able to engage with and provide information from the Dean's Office to student volunteers. There is also the need to promote cooperation between Coordinator Groups as well as between DUGs/other student groups.

If you would like to do more for Women in Science and Engineering here at Brown? Do you enjoy planning events spreading your enthusiasm for science? If you do, you are encouraged to apply to become a WiSE Coordinator! Open positions are posted each Spring on the Student Employment website.  Email WiSE now to find out other ways to get involved, like planning events, writing questions for the Athena Science Challenge, and more.

Student Coordinators

Mary Lou Hedberg, 2014

Lead Coordinator
Mary_Lucia_Hedberg@brown.edu

Palak Walia, 2015

Affinity Groups & Social Media
Palak_Walia@brown.edu

Caryn Cobb, 2015

Lead Mentoring Coordinator 
Caryn_Cobb@brown.edu

Michelle Hoang, 2017

Assistant Mentoring Coordinator
Michelle_Hoang@brown.edu

Beverly Tai, 2017

Event Coordinator
Beverly_Tai@brown.edu

Administration

Jodie Gill

Science Center Coordinator/ WiSE Coordinator
Office of the Dean of the College
(401) 863-6806
Jodie_Gill@brown.edu

Dean David Targan

Science Center Director/
Associate Dean of the College
Office of the Dean of the College
(401) 863-2314
David_Targan@brown.edu