Graduate Students

Natalie Adler 

Natalie_Adler@brown.edu
Natalie received her B.A. from the Gallatin School of Individualized Study at NYU. Before coming to Brown, she was an English teacher at a primary school in Besançon, France. She studies modernism and psychoanalysis.

Qussay Al-Attabi

Qussay_Al-Attabi@brown.edu

Charlotte Buecheler

Charlotte_Buecheler@brown.edu

Silvia Cernea Clark

Silvia_Cernea_Clark@brown.edu
B.A. magna cum laude, Kenyon College. Silvia is interested in 20th and 21st century literature and theory, phenomenology, semiotics, and the relationship between literature, visual arts, and new media. Languages: native speaker of Romanian; fluent in English and French; reading knowledge of German, Italian, and Spanish; basics of Latin.

Elizabeth Gray

Elizabeth_Gray@brown.edu

Felix Green

Felix_Green@brown.edu
Felix received his B.A. from the University of Adelaide and his B.A. (Honours) from the University of Melbourne and has spent time studying in both Spain and Italy. He is interested in an array of European literatures, with a particular focus on the Romantic and Modernist movements of England, Germany and France. Special interests in these areas include the role of the artist; the aesthetics of poetry; intertextuality and influence; the construction of the self; and irrationality in the creative imagination. Languages: native speaker of German and English, fluent in Italian and Spanish and a reading knowledge of French and Latin.

Nicholas Kahn

Nicholas_Kahn@brown.edu

Nick received his B.A. in English and French from Haverford College. Between graduating from Haverford and starting at Brown, he spent his time working as an editorial assistant at a Parisian publisher of bandes dessinées, working as an English teacher for middle and high school students in Martinique, and working at the Biennale di Venezia art festival in Italy. Past interests have revolved around the idea of navigating boundaries in literature and the monsters that occur at these boundaries. He has focused on the nexus of race in American 19th-century dark romantic authors, and the relationship between the voyage and the monster in 19th century French literature. Languages: English, French, Italian.

Brendan Lambert

Brendan_Lambert@brown.edu

Brendan received his A.B. with honors from Kenyon College, where he completed an interdisciplinary program in the humanities and majored in Classics. He is interested in classical reception, modernism and classics, twentieth-century literature and theory, and Latin American literature.

Marcelo Lotufo 

Marcelo_Lotufo@brown.edu
Marcelo received his B.A. from the State University of Campinas (UNICAMP), Brazil. Broadly, his main interests are Postcolonial studies, power relations between North and South or center and periphery, Brazilian literature and literary criticism and Marxist cultural theories.

Natalie Lozinski-Veach

Natalie_Lozinski-Veach@brown.edu





Chana Morgenstern

Chana_Morgenstern@brown.edu

Tavid Mulder

Tavid_Mulder@brown.edu
BA in Anthropology (University of Michigan, 2008); MA in Comparative Literature (University of Washington, 2012). Research interests: Latin American literature, especially twentieth-century Argentine literature; critical theory; short fiction; realism and the avant-garde; time and history; aesthetics and politics.

Bruno Penteado

Bruno_Penteado@brown.edu
Bruno's research touches upon questions of epistemology and ideology in 19th-century Europe and America. He is also interested in the current status of theory and the representation of violence in contemporary European cinema. He is fluent in Portuguese, English, French, and Spanish, and has reading knowledge of Italian.

Cristina Serverius

 Cristina_Serverius@brown.edu
BA in Translation Studies; Master in International Business; MA in American Studies from the University of Antwerp, Belgium. She focuses on early modern English, Italian, and French literature. In her dissertation, she uses early Protestant treatises on conscience and Giordano Bruno’s Italian dialogues to reexamine Shakespeare’s use of conscience/consciousness in Richard III, Henry VIII, and Hamlet. Cristina is also interested in early modern comedy, and in the influence of the Italian sonnet tradition on English poets. Languages: native speaker of Dutch; fluent in English, Italian, and French; reading knowledge of Spanish, German, and Latin; basics of Modern Greek.

Stefanie Sevcik

Stefanie_Sevcik@brown.edu

Geoffrey Wildanger

Geoffrey_Wildanger@brown.edu
Geoffrey Wildanger works at the confluence of art history, literary history, and critical theory. Prior to beginning his PhD at Brown, he received a Master's at the University of California, Davis, and was a Helena Rubinstein Fellow at the Whitney Independent Study Program in New York. He recently published the article "Catastrophic Affects" in the British journal Transmission Annual.

Lynda Musilwa

Visiting Exchange Student

 

Yizhi Xiao

Yizhi_Xiao@brown.edu
BA in English from Beijing Language and Culture University, MA from Peking University. Xiao's interest is in the acceptance and dissemination of Western literature in China, especially realist fiction and its role in shaping modernist Chinese literature. He is also interested in theorizing space, in particular, the representation of urban space in literary works.