Brown University School of Engineering

School of Engineering Faculty Directory

Click on the name of the faculty member to reference their specific information

Professors

Name Title Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail


R. Iris Bahar
Professor B&H 322 863-1430 B&H 354; Computer Engineering at LEMS 863-6178 Iris_Bahar@brown.edu


Rod Beresford
Senior Associate Dean; Professor B&H 226 

863-1407

B&H 344 863-1494 Rod_Beresford@brown.edu
Janet Blume Associate Dean of the Faculty; Associate Professor B&H 741; 407 UH 863-1498; 863-2313     Janet_Blume@brown.edu
David Borton Assistant Professor B&H 733 863-2963 BERT 307 David_Borton@brown.edu
Allan Bower Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence and Professor of Engineering B&H 731 863-1493     Allan_Bower@brown.edu
Kenneth Breuer Professor B&H 433 863-2870

B&H 446 and PL223; Breuer Laboratory 


kbreuer@brown.edu
Clyde Briant Otis E. Randall University Professor B&H 220 863-7408     Clyde_Briant@brown.edu  
Eric Chason   Professor B&H 624   863-2317 B&H 611; Chason Laboratory  863-7989 Eric_Chason@brown.edu 

Kareen Coulombe
Assistant Professor B&H 618 863-2318 BERT 318, 321, 322, 324 863-5838 Kareen_Coulombe@brown.edu
Jerry Daniels Associate Professor B&H 224 863-1347 CG 095 863-9852 Jerry_Daniels@brown.edu

Sean C. Deoni
Assistant Professor Arnold Lab 317A 863-7664 229 Waterman St., Rm 062; Advanced Baby Imaging Laboratory 338-6943 Sean_C_Deoni@brown.edu
Pedro F. Felzenszwalb Associate Professor B&H 355 863-1531  Computer Vision at LEMS   pff@brown.edu  
Christian Franck   Assistant Professor  B&H 739   863-2863  MRL 101, 104-105, B&H 738A; Franck Laboratory for Experimental Micromechanics     franck@brown.edu
Huajian Gao Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Engineering B&H 610   863-2626 Gao Research Group   Huajian_Gao@brown.edu  

C. Franklin Goldsmith
Assistant Professor B&H 245 863-6468 BERT 344 & 346 863-5841 Franklin_Goldsmith@brown.edu
Pradeep Guduru   Professor  B&H 729   863-3362  B&H 634; Experimental Solid Mechanics Laboratory   863-7316  Pradeep_Guduru@brown.edu 
David Henann Assistant Professor B&H 604 863-1475 David_Henann@brown.edu
Leigh Hochberg  Associate Professor  2 Stimson  863-6944  BrainGate2 Website    Leigh_Hochberg@brown.edu  
Robert Hurt   Professor B&H 239 and MRL 207 (IMNI) 863-2685 and 863-6773  PL131; Laboratory for Environmental and Health Nanoscience 863-3991  Robert_Hurt@brown.edu  

Haneesh Kesari
Assistant Professor B&H 612 863-1418 B&H 744   Hanesh_Kesari@brown.edu
Kyung-Suk Kim   Professor; Director, Center for Advanced Materials Research (CAMR); B&H 606   863-1456   B&H 732; Nano and Micromechanics Laboratory  863-2865  Kyung-Suk_Kim@brown.edu  
Benjamin Kimia   Professor  B&H 320   863-1353   B&H 317; Computer Vision at LEMS   863-6179   Benjamin_Kimia@brown.edu 
Angus Kingon  Barrett Hazeltine University Professor of Entrepreneurship and Organizational Studies; Director, BEO Program; Co-Director PRIME Program   B&H 602   863-1419  B&H 503 and B&H 607    angus@brown.edu  
Sharvan Kumar   Professor  B&H 620   863-2862   PL102, PL105, PL113D    Sharvan_Kumar@brown.edu 
Larry Larson   Dean, School of Engineering; Rush C. Hawkins University Professor of Engineering  B&H 306    B&H 225    Lawrence_Larson@brown.edu 
Joseph Liu   Professor  B&H 429   863-2654       Joseph_Liu@brown.edu  
Shreyas Mandre   Assistant Professor  B&H 443  863-2602  PL112; Mandre Research Group     Shreyas_Mandre@brown.edu 
Arto Nurmikko  L. Herbert Ballou University Professor of Engineering and Physics  B&H 233   863-2869   Nanophotonics and Neuroengineering Laboratory    Arto_Nurmikko@brown.edu  
Domenico Pacifici   Assistant Professor  B&H 249  863-2637  B&H 246, B&H 252; Pacifici Research Group     Domenico_Pacifici@brown.edu 
Nitin Padture   Professor; Director, Institute for Molecular and Nanoscale Innovation (IMNI)  B&H 608   863-2859   B&H 140, 140A, 140B, 132; Advanced Ceramics and Nanomaterials Laboratory 863-1398  Nitin_Padture@brown.edu 

David Paine
  
Professor; Associate Provost   B&H 622 and UH 311  863-1457 and 863-6130   B&H 515-519     David_Paine@brown.edu  

G. Tayhas R. Palmore
  
Professor of Engineering and Medical Science; Professor of Chemistry  B&H 628  863-2856   B&H 511   863-1861   Tayhas_Palmore@brown.edu 
Andrew Peterson  Assistant Professor  B&H 247  863-2153  B&H 139 & 139A; Catalyst Design Laboratory  863-2410  Andrew_Peterson@brown.edu 
Thomas Powers Professor of Engineering and Physics B&H 445 863-2868     Thomas_Powers@brown.edu
Sherief Reda  Associate Professor  B&H 349  863-1455  B&H 340; Scalable Computing Systems Laboratory (SCALE); Computer Engineering at LEMS  863-9467  Sherief_Reda@brown.edu  
Peter Damian Richardson  Professor of Engineering and Physiology    B&H 235   863-2687      Peter_Richardson@brown.edu 
Jacob Rosenstein Assistant Professor B&H 353  863-2652  B&H 446; Rosenstein Laboratory for Embedded BioelectronicsComputer Engineering at LEMS   Jacob_Rosenstein@brown.edu
Brian W. Sheldon   Professor  B&H 626   863-2866   B&H 348  863-1169  Brian_Sheldon@brown.edu 
Anita Shukla Assistant Professor B&H 749 863-5719 BERT 320, 321, 324, 330, 341, 341A; Shukla Lab for Designer Biomaterials Anita_Shukla@brown.edu
Harvey Silverman   Professor; Director of LEMS    B&H 324   863-1431   B&H 321 (LEMS); Computer Engineering at LEMS   863-3918  hfs@lems.brown.edu  

Eric Suuberg
  
Professor; Associate Director, Brown Superfund Program; Co-Director, PRIME Program   B&H 253  863-1420   PL113A; Suuberg Laboratory  863-3977  Eric_Suuberg@brown.edu 

Gabriel Taubin  

Associate Professor of Engineering and Computer Science   B&H 328  401-484-8201  Computer Vision at LEMS    taubin@brown.edu  
Anubhav Tripathi   Professor; Co-Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering   B&H 431  863-3063  MRL 106A & B, 107, 112, PL132; Biomedical Engineering Laboratory    Anubhav_Tripathi@brown.edu 
Axel van de Walle   Associate Professor  B&H 743  863-1476  Virtual Materials Laboratory     
Petia Vlahovska   Associate Professor   B&H 439  863-9774  MRL 205, 206; Vlahovska Research Group     Petia_Vlahovska@brown.edu  
Ian Wong Assistant Professor B&H 747 863-5718 MRL 304, 305, 307; Wong Laboratory Ian_Wong@brown.edu
Jimmy Xu   Charles C. Tillinghast Jr. '32 University Professor, Engineering and Physics  B&H 451   863-1439   B&H 432; Laboratory for Emerging Technologies   863-3010   Jimmy_Xu@brown.edu  

Alexander Zaslavsky
  
Professor of Engineering and Physics  B&H 222   863-1406   B&H 603, B&H 632   863-3227   Alexander_Zaslavsky@brown.edu 
Rashid Zia   Associate Professor of Engineering and Physics   B&H 237  863-6351  B&H 045; Zia Laboratory  863-1497  Rashid_Zia@brown.edu  

Professors (Research)

Name Title Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail
Joseph (Jose') Manuel Calo Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 255 863-1421 B&H 031, 032 863-3967 JMCalo@brown.edu
Bruce Caswell Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 228 863-1448     caswell@cfm.brown.edu
Rodney Clifton Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 208 863-2855 PS 124 863-3034  Rodney_Clifton@brown.edu
David Cooper Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 318 863-2601 B&H 317; SHAPE Lab; Computer Vision at LEMS 863-6179, 863-2177 cooper@lems.brown.edu

Karen Haberstroh
Assistant Professor (Research) B&H 445 863-2858     Karen_Marie_Haberstroh@brown.edu
Seunghyun Kim Associate Professor (Research) B&H 614 863-2857     Seunghyun_Kim@brown.edu
Nabil Lawandy Professor of Engineering and Physics (Research)         Nlawandy@spsy.com
Vladan Mlinar Assistant Professor (Research) 229 Waterman 863-5231     Vladan_Mlinar@brown.edu
Joseph Mundy Professor (Research) B&H 351 863-2655 Computer Vision at LEMS    mundy@lems.brown.edu
Ilker Ozden Assistant Professor (Research) B&H 229 863-9045      Ilker_Ozden@brown.edu
Vijay Sethuraman Assistant Professor (Research) B&H 747 863-2872 B&H 634 863-7316  Vijay_Sethuraman@brown.edu
John Simeral Assistant Professor (Research) 2 Stimson 863-6945 BrainGate2 Website    John_Simeral@Brown.edu
Ming Yin Assistant Professor (Research) 919-793-8823 Ming_Ying@Brown.edu

Professors of Practice

Name Title Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail




Ravi Pendse
Professor of Practice; VP for Information Technology and CIO 863-7250
Ravi_Pendse@brown.edu

Joint/Affiliated Faculty

Name Title Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail
J.J. Trey Crisco Henry Frederick Lippitt Professor of Orthopaedic Research; Director Bioengineering Lab, Dept. of Orthopaedics Coro West 404 444-4231 Bioengineering Lab   Joseph_Crisco@brown.edu
John Donoghue Henry Merritt Wriston Professor of Neuroscience and Engineering (Joint) and Director of Brown Institute for Brown Science   863-2701 Donoghue Lab; Braingate2 Website    John_Donoghue@Brown.edu

Katharina Galor
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies          Katharina_Galor@brown.edu
Gregory Jay, M.D., PhD Professor of Engineering (Research) and Professor of Emergency Medicine Coro West Suite 106 401-444-6656 Coro West 4.303 401-444-5910  gjay@lifespan.org
Chad Jenkins Associate Professor of Computer Science (Courtesy)   401-863-6055 Robotics, Learning and Autonomy at Brown (RLAB) Odest_Jenkins@brown.edu
Diane Hoffman-Kim Associate Professor of Medical Science and Engineering (Joint)  BioMed 863-9395 Hoffman-Kim Laboratory    Diane_Hoffman-Kim@brown.edu

Edith Mathiowitz
Professor of Medical Science and Engineering (Joint)   863-1358     Edith_Mathiowitz@brown.edu
Martin Maxey Professor of Applied Mathematics and Engineering (Joint); Director of the Center for Fluid Mechanics, Turbulence, and Computation     863-1482     Martin_Maxey@brown.edu
Jeffrey Morgan Associate Professor of Medical Science and Engineering (Joint); Co-Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering BioMed 863-9879     Jeffrey_Morgan@brown.edu
Shouheng Sun Professor of Chemistry and Engineering (Joint)   863-3329     Shouheng_Sun@brown.edu

Selim Suner
Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, Surgery and Engineering (Joint) BioMed 401-639-3483     SSuner@brown.edu


Sharon Swartz
Professor of Biology and Engineering (Joint)  BioMed 863-1582 Aeromechanics and Evolutionary Morphology Laboratory   Sharon_Swartz@brown.edu
Jay Tang Assistant Professor of Physics and Engineering (Joint)   863-2292 Tang Biophysics Laboratory    Jay_Tang@brown.edu
Stefanie Tellex

Assistant Professor of Computer Science (Courtesy)

Stefanie_Tellex@brown.edu
Gang Xiao Professor of Physics and Engineering (Joint); Director of the Center for Nanoscience and Soft Matter   863-2586     Gang_Xiao@brown.edu

Lecturers

Name Title Office Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail
Christopher Bull Senior Research Engineer and Senior Lecturer PL 207 863-2572 PL 221   cbull@brown.edu
Jennifer Franck Lecturer B&H 437 863-5394     Jennifer_Franck@brown.edu
Indrek Kulaots Lecturer B&H 735 863-2674     Indrek_Kulaots@brown.edu

Patrick McHugh
Lecturer in Engineering and Director IE/Brown MBA Program B&H 612 863-5057     Patrick_McHugh@brown.edu
William Patterson Senior Research Engineer and Senior Lecturer B&H 449 863-1449     William_Patterson@brown.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Title Office Office Phone E-Mail
Brian Burke Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 Brian_Burke@brown.edu
David Carchedi Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J DCarchedi@gza.com








Jon Cohen
Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 Jon_Cohen@brown.edu




William Curtin
Adjunct Professor     William_Curtin@brown.edu
David Durfee Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 David_Durfee@brown.edu





Rick Fleeter
Adjunct Associate Professor B&H 114J 863-1410 Rick_Fleeter@brown.edu
Joseph Fontaine Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 Joseph_Fontaine@Brown.edu
Mark Fuller Adjunct Lecturer Mark_Fuller@brown.edu
Andrew Gabor Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J Andrew_Gabor@brown.edu







Ian Gonsher
Adjunct Lecturer   863-1410 Ian_Gonsher@brown.edu
Jason Harry Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J Jason_Harry@brown.edu
George Hradil Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 George_Hradil@brown.edu





David Joseph Odeh
Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 David_Joseph_Odeh@brown.edu
Julie Marton Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 Julie_Marton@brown.edu
Josef Mittlemann Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 Josef_Mittlemann@brown.edu



Robert Petteruti
Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 Robert_Petteruti@brown.edu
Steven Petteruti Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 Steven_Petteruti@brown.edu
Raymond Roberts Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J Raymond_Roberts@brown.edu







Vivek Shenoy
Adjunct Professor     Vivek_Shenoy@brown.edu






Donald Stanford
Adjunct Professor of Computer Science

Donald_Stanford@Brown.edu







Danny Warshay
Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J 863-1410 Daniel_Warshay@brown.edu
Marek Wojtowicz Adjunct Lecturer B&H 114J Marek_Wojtowicz@brown.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Name Title Office Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail
Joseph (Jose') Manuel Calo Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 255 863-1421 B&H 031, 032 863-3967 JMCalo@brown.edu
Bruce Caswell Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 228 863-1448     caswell@cfm.brown.edu
Rodney Clifton

Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research)

B&H 208 863-2855 PL 124 863-3034 Rodney_Clifton@brown.edu
David Cooper Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 318 863-2601 B&H 317; SHAPE Lab; Computer Vision at LEMS 863-6179, 863-2177 cooper@lems.brown.edu
Richard Dobbins Professor Emeritus B&H 228 863-2867     Richard_Dobbins@brown.edu








L.B. Freund
Professor Emeritus         freund@brown.edu
Maurice Glicksman University Professor Emeritus B&H 220 863-2672     Maurice_Glicksman@brown.edu
Barrett Hazeltine Professor Emeritus B&H 326 863-2673     Barrett_Hazeltine@brown.edu
Laurenz Hermann Lecturer Emeritus         Laurenz_Hermann@brown.edu
Sture K. F. Karlsson Professor Emeritus         Sture_Karlsson@brown.edu 
Ted Morse Professor Emeritus 401-635-2732 / 617- 358-1035 Theodore_Morse@brown.edu
Alan Needleman Professor Emeritus Alan_Needleman@brown.edu
Allan Pearson Professor Emeritus B&H 220 863-2672     Allan_Pearson@brown.edu;
mpearson@wheatonma.edu
Marc Richman Professor Emeritus         Marc_Richman@brown.edu 
Jerome Weiner Professor Emeritus B&H 208 863-2859     Jerome_Weiner@brown.edu

William Wolovich
Professor Emeritus B&H 220 863-2672     waw@lems.brown.edu

Visting Faculty

Name Title Office Office Phone Appointment END host E-Mail
Rongjiang Pan Visiting Professor B&H 228 2/14/15 Taubin Rongjiang_Pan@brown.edu
Janet Rankin Visiting Associate Professor Off Campus Sheldon Janet_Rankin@brown.edu
Christopher Rose Visiting Professor B&H 741 863-1498 6/30/15 Larson Christopher_Rose@brown.edu