Faculty

Faculty

Amanda Anderson

Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Humanities and English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 424
Phone: (401) 863-3275
Amanda_Anderson@brown.edu

Paul Armstrong

Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 420
Phone: (401) 863-3734
Paul_Armstrong@brown.edu

Timothy Bewes

Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 404
Phone: (401) 863-3733
Timothy_Bewes@brown.edu

Mutlu Blasing

Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 416
Phone: (401) 863-3744
Mutlu_Blasing@brown.edu

Tracy Breton

Visiting Professor of English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 216
Phone: (401) 863-3749
Tracy_Breton@brown.edu

Douglas Brown

Adjunct Lecturer in English
Office: 169 Brown Street, Rm 213A
Phone: (401) 863-3524

Elizabeth Bryan

Associate Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 302
Phone: (401) 863-3745
Elizabeth_Bryan@brown.edu

Stuart Burrows

Associate Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 202
Phone: (401) 863-3621
Stuart_Burrows@brown.edu

Radiclani Clytus

Assistant Professor of English and Assistant Professor of American Studies
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 336
Phone: (401) 863-3739
Radiclani_Clytus@brown.edu

Carol DeBoer-Langworthy

Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 311
Phone: (401) 863-9454
Carol_DeBoer-Langworthy@brown.edu

James Egan

Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 201
Phone: (401) 863-3737
James_Egan@brown.edu

Stephen Foley

Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature; Director of Undergraduate Studies
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 303
Phone: (401) 863-3746
Stephen_Foley@brown.edu

Olakunle George

Associate Professor of English and Africana Studies
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 222
Phone: (401) 863-2879
Olakunle_George@brown.edu

Adam Golaski

Visiting Lecturer in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 224
Phone: (401) 863-3751
Adam_Golaski@brown.edu

Philip Gould

Chair, Department of English
Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 328
Phone: (401) 863-3736
Philip_Gould@brown.edu

Ed Hardy

Visiting Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 211
Phone: (401) 863-9175
Edward_Hardy@brown.edu

Catherine Imbriglio

Senior Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program, and Honors Advisor, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 426
Phone: (401) 863-3740
Catherine_Imbriglio@brown.edu

Lesley Jacobs

Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow in English
Office: 70 Brown St. Rm. 322
Phone: (401) 863-3735
Lesley_Jacobs@brown.edu

Coppélia Kahn

Professor of English and
Professor of Gender Studies
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 308
Phone: (401) 863-3738
Coppelia_Kahn@brown.edu

Tamar Katz

Associate Professor of English and
Associate Professor of Urban Studies
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 301
Phone: (401) 863-1959
Tamar_Katz@brown.edu

William Keach

Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 208
Phone: (401) 863-3742
William_Keach@brown.edu

Jacques Khalip

Associate Professor of English and Director of Graduate Studies
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 401
Phone: (401) 863-3725
Jacques_Khalip@brown.edu

Daniel Kim

Associate Professor of English and Honors Advisor in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 203
Phone: (401) 863-3748
Daniel_Kim@brown.edu

James Kuzner

Assistant Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 304
Phone: (401) 863-2111
James_Kuzner@brown.edu

Alan Lightman

Adjunct Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 216
Phone: (401) 863-3749
Alan_Lightman@brown.edu

Kevin McLaughlin

Dean of the Faculty
Professor of English and Comparative Literature and German Studies
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 211
Phone: (401) 863-3728
Kevin_McLaughlin@brown.edu

Thomas Mooney

Visiting Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 216
Phone: (401) 863-3749
Thomas_Mooney@brown.edu

Rolland Murray

Associate Professor of English and Africana Studies
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 418
Phone: (401) 863-9174
Rolland_Murray@brown.edu

Karen Newman

Owen Walker Professor of Humanities and Professor of Comparative Literature and Professor of English
Office: Marston Hall, Rm. 107
Phone: (401) 863-6332

Deak Nabers

Associate Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 422
Phone: (401) 863-3266
Deak_Nabers@brown.edu

Melinda Rabb

Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 332
Phone: (401) 863-3750
Melinda_Rabb@brown.edu

Richard Rambuss

Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 220
Phone: (401) 863-3732
Richard_Rambuss@brown.edu

Jonathan Readey

Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 334
Phone: (401) 863-9263
Jonathan_Readey@brown.edu

Marc Redfield

Professor of English and Professor of Comparative Literature
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 340
Phone: (401) 863-3624
Marc_Redfield@brown.edu

Ravit Reichman

Associate Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 310
Phone: (401) 863-3562
Ravit_Reichman@brown.edu

Susan Resnick

Visiting Lecturer in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 311
Phone: (401) 863-9454
Susan_Resnick@brown.edu

Ralph Rodriguez

Associate Professor of American Studies and Associate Professor of English
Phone: (401) 863-7995
Ralph_Rodriguez@brown.edu

Ellen Rooney

Professor of English, Modern Culture & Media, and Gender Studies
Office: Modern Culture & Media (155 George Street) Rm. 105
Phone: (401) 863-2152

Phil Rosen

Professor of Modern Culture & Media and Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 216
Phone: (401) 863-3749

Vanessa Ryan

Assistant Professor of English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 428
Phone: (401) 863-3434
Vanessa_Ryan@brown.edu

Kate Schapira

Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 316
Phone: (401) 863-9455
Kate_Schapira@brown.edu

Anna Solomon

Visiting Lecturer in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm 334
Phone: (401) 863-9266
Anna_Solomon@brown.edu

Lawrence Stanley

Senior Lecturer in English, Co-Director of the Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 330
Phone: (401) 863-3623
Lawrence_Stanley@brown.edu

Michael Stewart

Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 401A
Phone: (401) 863-9298
Michael_H_Stewart@brown.edu

Elizabeth Taylor

Senior Lecturer in English, Co-Director of the Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 402
Phone: (401) 863-3743
Elizabeth_Taylor@brown.edu

Robert P. Ward

Visiting Lecturer in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 206
Phone: (401) 863-3727
Robert_P_Ward@brown.edu

Emeriti

Dorothy Denniston

Associate Professor Emerita of English and Africana Studies
Dorothy_Denniston@brown.edu

John Emigh

Professor Emeritus of Theatre Arts & Performance Studies, and English
John_Emigh@brown.edu

Elizabeth Kirk

Professor Emerita of English and Israel J. Kapstein Professor Emerita of English

George Landow

Professor Emeritus of English
George_Landow@brown.edu

George Monteiro

Professor Emeritus of English
George_Monteiro@brown.edu

Geoffrey Russom

Professor Emeritus of English
Geoffrey_Russom@brown.edu

Robert Scholes

Andrew W. Mellon Professor of the Humanities Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Modern Culture & Media, English and Comparative Literature
Robert_Scholes@brown.edu

Don Wilmeth

Professor Emeritus of Theater, Speech & Dance and English