Faculty

German Studies Faculty

Omer Bartov

John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History and Professor of History and German Studies
Omer_Bartov@Brown.EDU

Susan Bernstein

Professor of Comparative Literature and German Studies
Susan_Bernstein@Brown.EDU

Aminia Brueggemann

Visiting Assistant Professor of German Studies
Aminia_Brueggemann@Brown.EDU
(on leave AY2013-14)

Thomas Kniesche

Associate Professor of German Studies
Thomas_Kniesche@Brown.EDU

David Farrell Krell

Brauer Distinguished Visiting Professor of German Studies and Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Cogut Humanities Center (Fall 2013)
David_Krell@Brown.EDU

Kevin McLaughlin

Dean of the Faculty; Nicholas Brown Professor of Oratory and Belles Lettres and Professor of English, Comparative Literature, and German Studies
Kevin_McLaughlin@Brown.EDU

Kristina Mendicino

Assistant Professor of German Studies
Kristina_Mendicino@Brown.EDU

Dirk Oschmann

Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor of German Studies (Fall 2013)
Dirk_Oschmann@Brown.EDU

Gerhard Richter (Department Chair)

Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Gerhard_Richter@Brown.EDU

Thomas Schestag

Associate Professor of German Studies
Thomas_Schestag@Brown.EDU 

Zachary Sng (Director of Graduate Studies)

Associate Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Zachary_Sng@Brown.EDU

Jane Sokolosky (Director of Undergraduate Studies)

Senior Lecturer in German Studies
Jane_Sokolosky@Brown.EDU

Michael P. Steinberg

Director, Cogut Humanities Center; Barnaby Conrad and Mary Critchfield Keeney Professor of History and Professor of Music and German Studies
Michael_Steinberg@Brown.EDU

Affiliated Faculty

Mary Gluck

Professor of History
Mary_Gluck@Brown.EDU

Paul Guyer

Nelson Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
Paul_Guyer@Brown.EDU

Charles Larmore

W. Duncan MacMillan Family Professor in the Humanities, Professor of Philosophy
Charles_Larmore@Brown.EDU 

Marc Redfield

Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Marc_Redfield@Brown.EDU

Bernard Reginster

Professor of Philosophy
Bernard_Reginster@Brown.EDU

Hilary Silver

Professor of Sociology
Hilary_Silver@Brown.EDU

Emeriti

William Crossgrove

Professor Emeritus
William_Crossgrove@Brown.EDU

Katherine R. Goodman

Professor Emeritus
Katherine_Goodman@Brown.EDU

Frederick Love

Professor Emeritus

Carol Jean Poore

Professor Emeritus
Carol_Poore@Brown.EDU

Duncan Smith

Professor Emeritus

Albert Schmitt

Professor Emeritus

Staff

Wendy B. Perelman

Academic Department Manager
Wendy_Perelman@Brown.EDU