Skip to Navigation

Horace Mann Medal

The Horace Mann Medal was established in 2003 on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Brown University Graduate School. The award is given annually to a Brown Graduate School alumnus or alumna who has made significant contributions in his or her field, inside or outside of academia. The medal is awarded at the University's Commencement exercises in May. Any graduate of a Brown advanced-degree program is eligible.  The medal, which replaced the Distinguished Graduate School Alumni Award, is awarded at the University's Commencement exercises in May.

The Graduate School issues a call for nominations in September, with a late October deadline. A nomination should, at a minimum, include a strong supporting rationale for the nomination, expressed in a letter of nomination. Up to two additional supporting letters may also accompany the nomination. Send all nominations to

The final selection process takes place in the fall, in conjunction with the University's selection of honorary-degree recipients. Nominations received after the deadline will be considered in the next round of review.

2013-2014 Horace Mann Medal winner:

John H. EwingJohn H. EwingJohn H. Ewing ’71 Ph.D.

John H. Ewing, President of Math for America, is the 2013-14 Horace Mann Medalist. Dr. Ewing, who received his Ph.D. in Mathematics from Brown University in 1971, has a distinguished mathematical career and a record of outreach aimed at improving mathematics and science education in U.S. public secondary schools.  His leadership roles range from innovative publishing to fostering programs that promote excellence in K-12 education.

Dr. Ewing will deliver the Graduate School Horace Mann Medalist Forum: "Is There an Education Crisis?" The forum is at 11 a.m. on Saturday, May 24, in Metcalf Research Laboratory, Friedman Auditorium, Room 101.

Math for America brings together the best teachers of math and science into a professional community, where they share knowledge and advance their skills, and supports them through fellowships. The long-range goal is to make teaching a viable, rewarding, and respected career choice for the best minds in math and science. Started ten years ago in New York City, MfA will next year have more than 1,100 teachers in programs that extend to Berkeley, Boston, Los Angeles, San Diego, Utah and Washington, D.C.

Prior to his focus on K-12 teaching, Dr. Ewing served as Executive Director of the American Mathematical Society, a professional society of more than thirty thousand research mathematicians. Earlier, Dr. Ewing was Professor at Indiana University, serving as chair of the Mathematics Department (twice) as well as Editor-in-chief of the American Mathematical Monthly and the Mathematical Intelligencer.

He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Mathematical Society, and a member of many other groups. Among other awards, he received an honorary doctorate from St. Lawrence University and the Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Distinguished Service to Mathematics award from the Mathematical Association of America.

Previous Medal Recipients