Faculty

 

Faiz Ahmed

Assistant Professor of History
Faiz_Ahmed@brown.edu

Omer Bartov

John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History and Professor of History and Professor of German Studies
Omer_Bartov@brown.edu

John Bodel

W. Duncan MacMillan II Professor of Classics and Professor of History
John_Bodel@brown.edu

Cynthia Brokaw

Professor of History
Cynthia_Brokaw@brown.edu

Caroline Castiglione

Associate Professor of Italian Studies and History
Caroline_Castiglione@brown.edu

Howard Chudacoff

George L. Littlefield Professor of American History and Professor of Urban Studies
Howard_Chudacoff@brown.edu

Jonathan Conant

Associate Professor of History
Jonathan_Conant@brown.edu

Harold Cook

John F. Nickoll Professor of History
Harold_Cook@brown.edu

Robert Douglas Cope

Associate Professor of History
Robert_Cope@brown.edu

Beshara Doumani 

Joukowsky Family Professor of Modern Middle East History, Director, Middle East Studies, Faculty Fellow, Watson Institute
Beshara_Doumani@brown.edu

Roquinaldo Ferreira

Vasco da Gama Associate Professor of History and Portuguese and Brazilian Studies
Roquinaldo_Ferreira@brown.edu

Linford Fisher

Assistant Professor of History
Linford_Fisher@brown.edu

Mary Gluck

Professor of History and Judaic Studies
Mary_Gluck@brown.edu

James N. Green

Professor of History and Portuguese and Brazilian Studies
James_Green@brown.edu

Jo Guldi

Assistant Professor of History
Ellen_Guldi@brown.edu

Françoise N. Hamlin

Hans Rothfels Associate Professor of History and Africana Studies
Francoise_Hamlin@brown.edu

Tim Harris

Munro-Goodwin-Wilkinson Professor in European History
Tim_Harris@brown.edu

Evelyn Hu-Dehart

Professor of History and Ethnic Studies
Evelyn_Hu-Dehart@brown.edu

Nancy J. Jacobs

Associate Professor of History
Nancy_Jacobs@brown.edu

Karl Jacoby

Professor of History
Karl_Jacoby@brown.edu

 

Steven Lubar

Professor, Departments of American Studies and History, and Director, John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities and Cultural Heritage, and Director, Public Humanities Program
Lubar@brown.edu

Maud Mandel

Professor of History and Judaic Studies
Maud_Mandel@brown.edu

James McClain

Professor of History and East Asian Studies
James_McClain@brown.edu 

Rebecca Nedostup

Associate Professor of History
Rebecca_Nedostup@brown.edu

Tara Nummedal

Associate Professor of History
Tara_Nummedal@brown.edu

Ethan Pollock

Associate Professor of History and Slavic Languages
Ethan_Pollock@brown.edu

Amy Remensnyder

Professor of History
Amy_Remensnyder@brown.edu

Joan L. Richards

Professor of History
Joan_Richards@brown.edu 

Lukas Rieppel

Assistant Professor of History
Lukas_Rieppel@brown.edu

Seth Rockman

Associate Professor of History
Seth_Rockman@brown.edu

Kenneth S. Sacks

Professor of History and Classics
Kenneth_Sacks@brown.edu

Neil Safier

Beatrice and Julio Mario Santo Domingo Director and Librarian, The John Carter Brown Library and Associate Professor of History
Neil_Safier@brown.edu

Robert Self

Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence and Professor of History
Robert_Self@brown.edu

Naoko Shibusawa

Associate Professor of History and American Studies
Naoko_Shibusawa@brown.edu

Kerry Smith

Associate Professor of History and East Asian Studies
Kerry_Smith@brown.edu

Luther Spoehr

Senior Lecturer in Education and History
Luther_Spoehr@brown.edu

Tracy Steffes

Assistant Professor of Education and History
Tracy_Steffes@brown.edu

Michael P. Steinberg

Director, Cogut Humanities Center, Barnaby Conrad and Mary Critchfield Keeney Professor of History and Professor of Music
Michael_Steinberg@brown.edu

Adam Teller

Associate Professor of Judaic Studies and History
Adam_Teller@brown.edu

Michael Vorenberg

Associate Professor of History
Michael_Vorenberg@brown.edu

Vazira F-Y Zamindar

Associate Professor of History
vfyz@brown.edu


Faculty Emeriti

Engin Akarli
 

Mari Jo Buhle
 

Paul Buhle


Lewis P. Curtis


Hunter Dupree


Charles Fornara


Abbott Gleason


Stephen Graubard


Jerome B. Grieder


Patricia Herlihy


Carl Kaestle

R. Burr Litchfield


Anthony Molho


Charles Neu


James Patterson


Kurt Raaflaub


Norman Rich


Donald Rohr


Thomas Skidmore


Lea Williams


Gordon Wood