Center for Language Studies Faculty / Academic Staff

Faculty

Elsa Amanatidou

Director of Center for Language Studies, Senior Lecturer, Modern Greek Studies
Elsa_Amanatidou@brown.edu

Iraj Anvar

Visiting Lecturer in Modern Persian
Iraj_Anvar@brown.edu

Nowell Busch

Visiting Lecturer in American Sign Language
Nowell_Busch@brown.edu

Mirena Christoff

Senior Lecturer in Arabic, Arabic Program Coordinator
Mirena_Christoff@Brown.edu

Laia Darder

Teacher Associate in Catalan
Laia_Darder@brown.edu

Miled Faiza

Lecturer in Arabic
Miled_Faiza@Brown.edu

Julia Krull

Visitor Instructor of ESL
Julia_Krull@Brown.edu

Barbara Gourlay

Lecturer, English for International Teaching Assistants, (ITA) Program Coordinator
Barbara_Gourlay@brown.edu

Alla Hassan

Visiting Lecturer in Arabic
Alla_Hassan@brown.edu

Ashok Koul

Senior Lecturer in Hindi-Urdu
Ashok_Koul@Brown.edu

Timothy Riker

Visiting Lecturer in American Sign Language
Timothy_Riker@brown.edu

Jill Stewart

Manager of Center for Language Studies
Jill_Stewart@Brown.edu

Patrick Sylvain

Visiting Lecturer in Haitian Creole
Patrick_Sylvain@Brown.edu

 

 

CLS Members:  Faculty from Brown Language Departments

Cristina Abbona-Sneider

Senior Lecturer of Italian
Cristina_Abbona@brown.edu

Ruth Adler Ben-Yehuda

Senior Lecturer of Hebrew
Ruth_Adler_Ben_Yehuda@brown.edu

Beth W. Bauer

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
Beth_Bauer@brown.edu

Wenhui Chen

Lecturer in Chinese
Wenhui_Chen@Brown.edu

Lynne deBenedette

Senior Lecturer of Russian and Czech
Lynne_debenedette@brown.edu

David Buchta

Lecturer of Sanskrit
David_Buchta@brown.edu

Masako Fidler

Professor of Slavic Languages
Masako_Fidler@brown.edu

Laura Hess

Associate Director for the Humanities and Social Sciences
Laura_Hess@brown.edu

Lung-Hua Hu

Senior Lecturer of Chinese
Lung-Hua_Hu@brown.edu

Yuko Jackson

Senior Lecturer of Japanese
Yuko_Jackson@brown.edu

Youenn Kervennic

Senior Lecturer of French
Youenn_Kervennic@brown.edu

Stephanie Ravillon

Lecturer of French
Stephanie_Ravillon@brown.edu

Nidia Schuhmacher

Senior Lecturer of Spanish Nidia_Schuhmacher@brown.edu

Victoria Smith

Senior Lecturer of Spanish Victoria_Smith@brown.edu

Patricia Sobral

Senior Lecturer of Portuguese
Patricia_Sobral@brown.edu

Silvia Sobral

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
Silvia_Sobral@brown.edu

Jane Sokolosky

Senior Lecturer in German
Jane_Sokolosky@brown.edu

Hiroshi Tajima

Lecturer of Japanese
Hiroshi_Tajima@brown.edu

Hsin-I Tseng

Lecturer of Chinese
Hsin-I_Tseng@brown.edu

Hye-Sook Wang

Associate Professor of Korean
Hye-Sook_Wang@brown.edu

Yang Wang

Senior Lecturer of Chinese
Yang_Wang@brown.edu

Annie Wiart

Senior Lecturer of French
Annie_Wiart@brown.edu

Kikuko Yamashita

Associate Professor of Japanese
Kikuko_Yamashita@brown.edu

Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants

For the past several years the Center for Language Studies has been privileged to host instructors of less-commonly taught languages under the auspices of the Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants Program, a federal program of the U.S. Department of State. This academic year we are pleased to have with us a Fulbright FLTA to teach Arabic.

Mohamed Bayoumi

FLTA of Arabic
Mohamed_Bayoumi@brown.edu