Language Placement

Students who intend to continue study of a foreign language and have not submitted an SAT achievement test score or an Advanced Placement score in that language are required to take placement test during orientation week or the first week of classes. This applies to languages studied formally as well as those acquired informally, such as through extended stay abroad or through use in the family. Please refer to the Orientation schedule or the relevant department for dates, times, and locations of the placement tests for all the languages taught at Brown. 

Language Placement Tests

Registration for French and Spanish placement exams is not necessary. Placement tests for languages other than French and Spanish may not be offered Spring semester, depending on individual department policy. Check with the relevant department below for more information. 

Arabic

Contact Jill Stewart in the Center for Language Studies
(401) 863-3043
Jill_Stewart@brown.edu 

Chinese

Contact the Department of East Asian Studies
(401) 863-2778
East_Asian_Studies@brown.edu

Czech

Contact the Department of Slavic Languages
(401) 863-2689
Slavic_Studies@brown.edu

French

Contact the Department of French Studies
(401) 863-3517
French_Studies@brown.edu

German

Contact the Department of German Studies
(401) 863-2596
German_Studies@brown.edu

Greek

Contact the Department of Classics
(401) 863-2123
Classics_Department@brown.edu

Hebrew

Contact the Program in Judaic Studies
(401) 863-3912
Judaic@brown.edu

Hindi

Contact Jill Stewart in the Center for Language Studies
(401) 863-3043
Jill_Stewart@brown.edu 

Italian

Contact the Department of Italian Studies
(401) 863-1561
Italian_Studies@brown.edu 

Japanese

Contact the Department of East Asian Studies
(401) 863-2778
East_Asian_Studies@brown.edu

Korean

Contact the Department of East Asian Studies
(401) 863-2778
East_Asian_Studies@brown.edu

Latin

Contact the Department of Classics
(401) 863-2123
Classics_Department@brown.edu

Portuguese

Contact the Department of Portuguese and Brazilian Studies
(401) 863-3042

Persian

Contact Jill Stewart in the Center for Language Studies
(401) 863-3043
Jill_Stewart@brown.edu 

Russian

Contact the Department of Slavic Languages
(401) 863-2689
Slavic_Studies@brown.edu

Spanish

Contact the Department of Hispanic Studies
(401) 863-2569
Hispanic_Studies@brown.edu

Urdu

Contact Jill Stewart in the Center for Language Studies
(401) 863-3043
Jill_Stewart@brown.edu