News and Highlights

Dr. Brandon Maughan

Chief Resident Brandon Maughan wins 2013 Haffenreffer Family House Staff Excellence Award

In March, Chief Resident Dr. Brandon Maughan was selected as a recipient of the 2013 Haffenreffer Family House Staff Excellence Award. The award is given to five senior residents or fellows at Rhode Island Hospital who demonstrate exceptional qualities in clinical service, professionalism, leadership and scholarly activity. Dr. Maughan was selected for outstanding performance in all of these areas.  

Dr. Megan Ranney

Dr. Ranney awarded prestigious NIH K23 grant

In March, Dr. Megan Ranney received a K23 Award from the NIH, National Institutes of Mental Health for her project “Text-Message-Based Depression Prevention for High-Risk Youth in the ED.”  Depression and peer violence are significant, interrelated public health problems for adolescents. Although NIMH and Healthy People 2020 call for their prevention, this high-risk population is difficult to engage in traditional mental health care.

TIA Observation Unit

RIH TIA Observation Unit opens

The TIA Observation Unit at RIH opened on March 1, 2013.  Patients with suspected TIA who are admitted to this unit will get rapid evaluation and neurology follow-up.  Dr. Matthew Siket, MD will be the medical director of the TIA unit and Gino Paolucci, NP will be the midlevel coordinator for the unit.

Dr. Sarah Harkness

2013-2014 Chief Residents announced

On March 1, the new chief residents for the 2013-2014 academic year were announced by Dr. Brian Clyne, vice chair of education.  They are Drs. Sarah Harkness (pictured), Alexis Lawrence, and Jennifer Ruskis.

Dr. Aris Garro

Dr. Garro receives grant from American Lung Association

In March 2013, Dr. Aris Garro, MD, MPH, was awarded a 2-year, $80,000 grant from the American Lung Association.  His study, “Optimizing Use of Inhaled Corticosteroids after Emergency Department Visits for Children with UncontrolledAsthma,” will develop a systematized method to prescribe inhaled corticosteroids to children with uncontrolled asthma after an ED visit and also identify factors associated with medication adherence.

Dr. Steven Rougas

Dr. Rougas to be inaugural Medical Education Research Fellow

Dr. Steven Rougas, a graduating 4th year resident, was named the department’s inaugural Medical Education Research fellow in March.  The Medical Education Research Fellowship in Emergency Medicine is a new two-year mentored fellowship that provides advanced training in classroom and bedside teaching, curriculum design, and medical education research.  It is one of only twelve such programs in the country affiliated with EM residency programs.

Dr. Neha Raukar

Dr. Raukar named to Institute of Medicine Committee on Sports-Related Concussions in Youth

In February, Dr. Neha Raukar, MD was named to the IOM’s Committee on Sports-Related Concussions in Youth by the Institute’s Board on Children, Youth, and Families. This IOM committee is sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Department of Defense, Department of Education, Health Resources and Services Administration, National Academies President’s Fund, National Athletic Trainers’ Association, and National Institutes of Health. 

Dr. Elizabeth Nestor

Dr. Nestor receives Rhode Island Hospital Hamolsky Award

Dr. Elizabeth Nestor received the Rhode Island Hospital 2012 Milton Hamolsky Outstanding Physician Award. This award was presented to Dr. Nestor in a ceremony following the RIH Medical Staff Annual meeting on January 23, 2013. The award is presented by the RIH medical staff to a member who leads by example as a role model and has made exceptional contributions to medicine, medical education and research.

Brian Zink, MD

Dr. Brian Zink appointed to Lifespan Board of Directors

In December, Lifespan reorganized and streamlined its governance structure and announced a single board of directors, eliminating individual hospital boards.   Dr. Brian Zink, MD, was appointed to a three year term to the new Lifespan Board of Directors.   He had previously served on the Board of Directors for Rhode Island Hospital.

Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed