Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry

 
Department of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry

The Department of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry is a basic science department within the Brown University Division of Biology and Medicine. Its core areas of scholarship are broad and encompass biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, and genetics. The department supports undergraduate, graduate, and medical education in these fields, offering a large variety of courses from introductory to highly specialized levels.

The department currently houses 28 primary faculty whose research programs cover a wide array of biological questions, model systems, and methodological approaches. The biological phenomena under investigation range from embryonic and neuronal development, reproduction and genetics of behavior to neurodegeneration and aging. The biological mechanisms being addressed include DNA replication, recombination and transcription, RNA processing and transport, protein translation, protein folding and turnover, vesicular transport, and numerous aspects of molecular signaling. Model systems range from prokaryotic, through plant and several metazoan species to mammals including humans. Classical biochemical and genetic approaches are used alongside cutting edge technologies including genomics, proteomics, X-ray crystallography, and mouse transgenics. The department is also the centerpiece of an interdisciplinary and interdepartmental graduate program in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry leading to the PhD degree.

›View Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry site
Browse by Department:

Can't find the faculty member you are looking for? Search entire Brown directory

Name Title Department Mail
Phone
Adachi, Mimi Visiting Scientist of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Mimi_Adachi@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1654
Akiyama, Takuya Investigator Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Takuya_Akiyama@brown.edu
+1 401 863 7365
Arkhipova, Irina Assistant Professor (Mbl) in Mole Bio, Cell Bio & Biochem Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Irina_Arkhipova@brown.edu
Atwood, Walter Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Walter_Atwood@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3116
Bajaj, Rakhi Senior Research Associate-Research Staff Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry
+1 401 863 6076
Beale, Samuel I. Professor Emeritus of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Samuel_Beale@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3129
Bender, Judith Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Judith_Bender@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6238
Brodsky, Alexander Assistant Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Alexander_Brodsky@brown.edu
Campbell, Robert Visiting Scientist in Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology and Bio Med Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology
+1 401 863 1000
Clarkson, Michael Structural Biology Core Facility Manager and Assistant Professor of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology (Research) Bio Med Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology Michael_Clarkson@brown.edu
+1 401 863 5366
Coleman, Annette Professor Emerita of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Annette_Coleman@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3917
Coleman, John Professor Emeritus of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry John_Coleman@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1655
Creton, Robbert Associate Professor of Medical Science (Research) Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Robbert_Creton@brown.edu
401-863-9646
Dahlberg, Albert Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry AE_Dahlberg@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2223
Deaconescu, Alexandra Assistant Professor of Molecular Cell Biology and Biochemistry Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Alexandra_Deaconescu@brown.edu
401-863-3215
DeLong, Alison Associate Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Alison_DeLong@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3888
Demirci, Hasan Investigator in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Hasan_Demirci@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 6124
Ellis, Richard Professor Emeritus of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry
Fairbrother, William Associate Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry William_Fairbrother@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6215
Fausto-Sterling, Anne Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Anne_Fausto-Sterling@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2109
Fawzi, Nicolas Assistant Professor of Medical Science Bio Med Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology Nicolas_Fawzi@brown.edu
+1 401 863 5232
Freiman, Richard Associate Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Richard_Freiman@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9633
Gee, Kevin Lecturer in Public Policy Center for Public Policy & American Institutions Kevin_Gee@brown.edu
Gerbi, Susan Professor of Biology and George Eggleston Professor of Biochemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Susan_Gerbi@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2359
Gitlin, Jonathan Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (MBL) Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Jonathan_Gitlin@brown.edu
+1 508 737 0084
Gregory, Steven T. Associate Professor of Medical Science (Research) Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Steven_Gregory@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3652
Haley, Sheila Assistant Professor of Medical Science (Research) Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Sheila_Haley@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3420
Hall, Jody Manager of Undergraduate Laboratories; Teaching Associate in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Jody_Hall@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2967
Helfand, Stephen Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Stephen_Helfand@brown.edu
Heywood, Peter Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Peter_Heywood@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3415
Holowinsky, Andrew Associate Professor Emeritus of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Andrew_Holowinsky@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2026
Jogl, Gerwald Associate Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Gerwald_Jogl@brown.edu
401-863-6123
Johnson, Mark Associate Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Mark_Johnson_1@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3556
Kreiling, Jill Assistant Professor in Biology (Research) Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Jill_Kreiling@brown.edu
+1 401 863 7674
Landy, Arthur Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Arthur_Landy@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2571
Laney, Jeffrey Assistant Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Jeffrey_Laney@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1789
Lange, Thilo Sascha Adjunct Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry (Research) Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Thilo_Lange@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2359
Larschan, Erica Assistant Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Erica_Larschan@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1070
Lizarraga, Sofia Investigator in Molecular, Cellular Biology and Biochemistry Department of Molecular Biology, Cellular Biology & Biochemistry sofia_lizarraga@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9766
Maginnis, Melissa Investigator in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemi Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Melissa_Maginnis@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3420
McKeown, Michael Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Michael_McKeown@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 9807
Miller, Kenneth Raymond Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Kenneth_Miller@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3410
Morrow, Eric Assistant Professor in Biology and Psychiatry & Human Behavior Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry and Psychiatry & Human Behavior eric_morrow@brown.edu
401-863-9778
Mowry, Kimberly Robin Chemers Neustein Professor of Biomedicine Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Kimberly_Mowry@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3636
Mumm, Jeffrey Visiting Scientist in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Jeffrey_Mumm@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1654
Munoz-Najar, Ursula Investigator in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Ursula_Munoz-Najar@brown.edu
+1 401 863 7674
Neretti, Nicola Assistant Professor of Biology Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Nicola_Neretti@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 6702
Oulhen, Nathalie Postdoctoral Research Associate in Mole Bio, Cell Biology & Biochemistry Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Nathalie_Oulhen@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3164
Ouyang, Qing Investigator in Mole, Cell and Biochemistry Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Qing_Ouyang@brown.edu
Page, Rebecca Associate Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Rebecca_Page@brown.edu
Panikkar, Bindu Adjunct Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology and Biochemistry
+1 401 863 3566
Poland, Jeffrey Visiting Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Jeffrey_Poland@brown.edu
Reenan, Robert Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Robert_Reenan@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6353
Rothman, Frank Provost and Professor Emeritus of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Frank_Rothman@Brown.EDU
+1 239 430 6565
Rothschild, Lynn Adjunct Professor Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Lynn_Rothschild@brown.edu
(650) 604-6525
Rotman, Boris Professor Emeritus of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry M_Rotman@Brown.EDU
Salomon, Arthur Associate Professor of Biology and Chemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry and Chemistry Arthur_Salomon@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6091
Schell, Jacquelyn Assistant Professof of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology (Research) Bio Med Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology Jacquelyn_Schell@brown.edu
401 863 5427
Schlissel, Mark Provost and Professor Of Biology President's Office Mark_Schlissel@brown.edu
+1 401 863 2707
Schorl, Christoph Assistant Professor of Biology (Research) Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Christoph_Schorl@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2875
Sedivy, John Hermon C. Bumpus Professor of Biology and Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry John_Sedivy@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 7631
Serio, Tricia Adjunct Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Tricia_Serio@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1308 (office)
Sogin, Mitchell Professor (MBL) of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Mitchell_Sogin@brown.edu
+1 508 289 7246
Takayama, Kathy Executive Director of Sheridan Center for Teaching & Learning; Adjunct Professor Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry kathy_takayama@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1141
Thompson, Marjorie Associate Dean of Biological Sciences (Undergraduate Ed); Adjunct Associate Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Marjorie_Thompson@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3814
Vega, Hugo Investigator in Mole, Cell & Biochemistry Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Hugo_Vega@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6329
Wessel, Gary Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Gary_Wessel@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1051
Wharton, Kristi Professor of Medical Science Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Kristi_Wharton@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1951
Yajima, Mamiko Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (Research) Bio Med Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Mamiko_Yajima@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3164
Yamamoto, Yutaka Senior Research Associate in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Yutaka_Yamamoto@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1665
Zervas, Mark Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Mark_Zervas@brown.edu
Tel: 401-863-6840
Zimmering, Stanley Professor Emeritus of Biology Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry Stanley_Zimmering@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2620