Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry

 
Department of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry

›View Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry site

The Department of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry is a basic science department within the Brown University Division of Biology and Medicine. Its core areas of scholarship are broad and encompass biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, and genetics. The department supports undergraduate, graduate, and medical education in these fields, offering a large variety of courses from introductory to highly specialized levels.

The department currently houses 28 primary faculty whose research programs cover a wide array of biological questions, model systems, and methodological approaches. The biological phenomena under investigation range from embryonic and neuronal development, reproduction and genetics of behavior to neurodegeneration and aging. The biological mechanisms being addressed include DNA replication, recombination and transcription, RNA processing and transport, protein translation, protein folding and turnover, vesicular transport, and numerous aspects of molecular signaling. Model systems range from prokaryotic, through plant and several metazoan species to mammals including humans. Classical biochemical and genetic approaches are used alongside cutting edge technologies including genomics, proteomics, X-ray crystallography, and mouse transgenics. The department is also the centerpiece of an interdisciplinary and interdepartmental graduate program in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry leading to the PhD degree.

All Faculty   A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

Name Contact
Mark Alliegro
Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (MBL)
mark_alliegro@brown.edu
Irina Arkhipova
Associate Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (MBL)
irina_arkhipova@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Walter J Atwood
Professor of Medical Science
walter_atwood@brown.edu
(401) 863-3116
Judith L Bender
Professor of Biology
judith_bender@brown.edu
(401) 863-6238
David E Cane
Professor of Chemistry
david_cane@brown.edu
(401) 863-3588
Robbert J Creton
Associate Professor of Medical Science (Research)
robbert_creton_phd@brown.edu
(401) 863-9646
Albert E Dahlberg
Professor Emeritus of Medical Science
ae_dahlberg@brown.edu
(401) 863-2223
Alison DeLong
Associate Professor of Biology
alison_delong@brown.edu
(401) 863-3888
Alexandra M Deaconescu
Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry
alexandra_deaconescu@brown.edu
(401) 863-3215
Jack A Elias
Dean of Medicine and Biological Sciences
jack_elias@brown.edu
(401) 863-3330
William G Fairbrother
Associate Professor of Biology
william_fairbrother@brown.edu
(401) 863-6215
Richard N Freiman
Associate Professor of Medical Science
richard_freiman@brown.edu
(401) 863-9633
Susan A Gerbi
George D. Eggleston Professor of Biochemistry
susan_gerbi@brown.edu
(401) 863-2359
Jonathan D Gitlin
Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (MBL)
jonathan_gitlin@brown.edu
(508) 737-0084
Steven T Gregory
Associate Professor of Medical Science (Research)
steven_gregory@brown.edu
(401) 863-3652
Philip A Gruppuso
Professor of Pediatrics
philip_gruppuso@brown.edu
(401) 444-5504
Sheila A Haley
Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (Research)
sheila_haley@brown.edu
(401) 863-3420
Stephen L Helfand
Professor of Biology
stephen_helfand@brown.edu
(401) 863-1615
Peter Heywood
Professor of Biology
peter_heywood@brown.edu
(401) 863-3415
Marko Horb
Associate Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (MBL)
marko_horb@brown.edu
(401) 564-3764
Gerwald Jogl
Associate Professor of Biology
gerwald_jogl@brown.edu
(401) 863-6123
Mark A Johnson
Associate Professor of Biology
mark_johnson_1@brown.edu
(401) 863-3556
Jill A Kreiling
Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (Research)
jill_kreiling@brown.edu
(401) 863-7674
Thilo S Lange
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (Research)
thilo_lange@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Louis R Lapierre
Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry
louis_lapierre@brown.edu
(401) 863-9656
Erica N Larschan
Assistant Professor of Biology
erica_larschan@brown.edu
(401) 863-1070
David Mark Welch
Associate Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (MBL)
david_mark_welch@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Michael McKeown
Professor of Medical Science
michael_mckeown@brown.edu
(401) 863-9807
Kenneth R Miller
Professor of Biology
kenneth_miller@brown.edu
(401) 863-3410
Eric M Morrow
Associate Professor of Biology
eric_morrow@brown.edu
(401) 863-9778
Kimberly L Mowry
Professor of Biology
kimberly_mowry@brown.edu
(401) 863-3636
Nicola Neretti
Assistant Professor of Biology
nicola_neretti@brown.edu
(401) 863-6702
Eduardo A Nillni
Professor Emeritus of Medicine (Research)
eduardo_nillni@brown.edu
(401) 444-5733
Rebecca Page
Professor of Biology
rebecca_page@brown.edu
(401) 863-6076
Robert A Reenan
Professor of Biology
robert_reenan@brown.edu
(401) 863-6353
Lynn Rothschild
Adjunct Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry
lynn_rothschild@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Arthur R Salomon
Associate Professor of Biology
arthur_salomon@brown.edu
(401) 323-9648
Christoph Schorl
Assistant Professor of Biology (Research)
christoph_schorl@brown.edu
John M Sedivy
Professor of Medical Science
john_sedivy@brown.edu
(401) 863-7631
Tricia R Serio
Adjunct Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry
tricia_serio@brown.edu
(401) 863-1308
Joel Smith
Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (MBL)
joel_smith@brown.edu
(401) 289-7523
Mitchell Sogin
Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (MBL)
mitchell_sogin@brown.edu
(401) 289-7246
Ying Su
Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (Research)
ying_su1@brown.edu
(401) 863-7365
Ashley E Webb
Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry
ashley_webb@brown.edu
(401) 863-6840
Gary M Wessel
Professor of Biology
gary_wessel@brown.edu
(401) 863-1051
Kristi A Wharton
Professor of Biology
kristi_wharton@brown.edu
(401) 863-1951
Dongdong XU
Visiting Scientist in Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry
dongdong_xu@brown.edu
(401) 863-3164
Mamiko Yajima
Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry (Research)
mamiko_yajima@brown.edu
(401) 863-3164
Mark Zervas
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry
mark_zervas@brown.edu
(401) 863-6840

Can't find the faculty member you are looking for? Search entire Brown directory