Neuroscience

 
Department of Neuroscience

The mission of the Department of Neuroscience is to do excellent teaching and research on the basic functions and diseases of the nervous system. Areas of interest include neural plasticity, information processing, and neuronal and synaptic functions, particularly as they relate to development, sensory perception, motor behavior, and cognition. The 20 campus-based neuroscience faculty train undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral, and medical students in molecular, cellular, developmental, systems, cognitive, and theoretical neuroscience. There are currently forty-two doctoral students in the Neuroscience Graduate Program and the innovative Brown-NIH Graduate Program Partnership, and 122 undergraduate students are enrolled in the neuroscience concentration. Members of the Department also participate in the MRI Research Facility, the Center for Vision Research, and several NIH and NIMH training grants for graduate and postdoctoral fellows studying neuroscience and vision sciences.

The Department is also a cornerstone of Brown's Institute for Brain Science, a multidisciplinary consortium of about ninety faculty from eleven departments that promotes collaborative theoretical and experimental studies of the brain, and the Norman Prince Neurosciences Institute at Rhode Island Hospital.

›View Neuroscience site
Browse by Department:

Can't find the faculty member you are looking for? Search entire Brown directory

Name Title Department Mail
Phone
Aizenman, Carlos Associate Professor of Neuroscience Neuroscience Carlos_Aizenman@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6015
Aizenman, Jennifer Adjunct Assistant Professor of Neuroscience Neuroscience Jennifer_Aizenman@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3798
Barnea, Gilad Robert and Nancy Carney Assistant Professor of Neuroscience Neuroscience Gilad_Barnea@brown.edu
(401) 863-3126
Bath, Kevin Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research) Bio Med Neuroscience Kevin_Bath@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1000
Bedard, Patrick Assistant Professor of Neuroscience Department of Neuroscience Patrick_Bedard@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1258
Berson, David Professor of Medical Science Neuroscience David_Berson@brown.edu
401-863-2555
Bienenstock, Lucien Elie Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics and Neuroscience Applied Mathematics and Neuroscience elie@dam.brown.edu
+1 401 863 1195
Burwell, Rebecca Professor of Cognitive, Linguistic & Psychological Sciences Cognitive Linguistic & Psychological Sciences Rebecca_Burwell@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 9208
Connors, Barry Professor and Chair Dept of Neuroscience BC@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2982
Cooper, Leon Professor Physics Leon_Cooper@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2172
Cruikshank, Scott Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research) Neuroscience Scott_Cruikshank@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 7597
Davenport, R. John Associate Director Brown Institute for Brain Science John_Davenport@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1725
Donoghue, John Professor of Neuroscience Neuroscience John_Donoghue@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2701
Fallon, Justin Professor of Medical Science Neuroscience Justin_Fallon@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 9308
Hart, Anne Professor of Biology Neuroscience (Hart Office SFH458) Anne_Hart@brown.edu
+1 401 863 2822
Helton, Thomas Investigator in Neuroscience Neuroscience Thomas_Helton@brown.edu
+1 401 863 2615
Jarosiewicz, Beata Investigator in Neuroscience Neuroscience Beata_Jarosiewicz@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6945
Jaworski, Alexander Assistant Professor of Neuroscience Bio Med Neuroscience Alexander_Jaworski@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1963
Jones, Stephanie Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research) Bio Med Neuroscience Stephanie_Jones@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1000
Kauer, Julie Professor Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology Julie_Kauer@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 9803
Kaun, Karla Assistant Professor of Neuroscience Bio Med Neuroscience karla_kaun@brown.edu
+1 401 863 5825
Linden, Monica Lecturer in Neuroscience Bio Med Neuroscience Monica_Linden@brown.edu
Lipscombe, Diane Professor of Neuroscience Neuroscience Diane_Lipscombe@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1092
McIlwain, James Professor Emeritus of Neuroscience Neuroscience James_McIlwain@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3674
Moore, Christopher Associate Professor of Neuroscience Bio Med Neuroscience Christopher_Moore@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1054
Paradiso, Michael Sidney A. and Dorothea Doctors Fox Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Professor of Neuroscience Neuroscience Michael_Paradiso@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1159
Patrick, Robert Associate Professor of Medical Science Neuroscience Robert_Patrick@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2630
Sanes, Jerome Professor of Neuroscience Neuroscience Jerome_Sanes@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2523
Sheinberg, David Professor of Neuroscience Neuroscience David_Sheinberg@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 9575
Sigurdardottir, Heida Research Associate-Research Staff Bio Med Neuroscience Heida_Sigurdardottir@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1000
Simmons, Andrea Megela Professor Cognitive, Linguistic & Psychological Sciences Andrea_Simmons@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2283
Simmons, James Professor of Biology Neuroscience James_Simmons@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1542
Stein, John Senior Lecturer in Neuroscience Neuroscience John_Stein@Brown.EDU
401 863 2263
Stevens, Tanya Investigator in Neuroscience Neuroscience Tanya_Stevens@brown.edu
+1 401 863 7597
Truccolo, Wilson Assistant Professor of Neuroscience Neuroscience Wilson_Truccolo@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 5282
Vargas-Irwin, Carlos Investigator in Neuroscience Bio Med Neuroscience Carlos_Vargas_Irwin@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1874
Walsh, Edward Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research) Neuroscience Edward_Walsh@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6525
Worden, Michael Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research) Neuroscience Michael_Worden@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6305
Yvert, Blaise Research Associate in Neuroscience Bio-Med Institute For Brain Science Blaise_Yvert@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9524