Hasbro Children’s Hospital Doctor Receives Award From the Rhode Island Public Health Association

December 18, 2012
Dr. Carole Jenny

Carole Jenny, MD, director of the Lawrence A. Aubin, Sr. Child Protection Center at Hasbro Children’s Hospital, has been awarded the Bertram Yaffe Award from the Rhode Island Public Health Association (RIPHA). Jenny was presented with the award at the RIPHA annual meeting where she was honored for her long time work in preventing child abuse.

“To say that Carole Jenny is an advocate for children is a vast understatement,” said Robert Klein, MD, pediatrician-in-chief at Hasbro Children’s Hospital.  “Carole has traveled the world, working tirelessly to end abuse against children. Her impact is immeasurable, and I am beyond proud to have her on our team.”

In 1996, Jenny joined Hasbro Children’s Hospital and helped to found its comprehensive Child Protection Center, where she still serves today as program director. The program offers a full range of services to diagnose abused children, including examinations, consultation, referrals for inpatient care and 24-hour on-call services for children with suspected physical abuse, sexual abuse, failure to thrive, psychological abuse, neglect, medical neglect or factitious illness. A team of specialists provides family support and trains medical staff to recognize abuse.

Jenny, an internationally recognized expert in child abuse and prevention, is a professor of pediatrics at The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University and is a member of the expert faculty of the International Society for Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect. She is past chair of the Section on Child Abuse and Neglect of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the president of the Rhode Island chapter of the AAP. She currently serves on the Academy's Committee on Child Abuse and Neglect. She has also served on the FBI Task Force on Online Exploitation of Children.

RIPHA is a non-partisan, membership-based organization established in 1995 affiliated with the American Public Health Association, which is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world with more than 30,000 members.

The Bertram Yaffe Award, commemorating Bertram Yaffe, president of the Erna Yaffe Foundation, is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to improving public health nation-wide. This award is presented to an individual with long standing service to the advancement of public health in Rhode Island.

Past recipients of the Bertram Yaffe Award include John J. McConnell, Jr. JD; Patrick Kennedy and Pablo Rodriguez, MD.