Faculty

Faculty Directory

Epidemiology faculty are members of the Program in Public Health, home to several world-class research centers. Students in epidemiology have the opportunity to collaborate and conduct research with faculty at many of these centers.

Primary Appointments

Joseph Braun
Assistant Professor
joseph_braun_1@brown.edu

Stephen Buka
Professor, Founding Chair of Epidemiology
stephen_buka@brown.edu

Melissa Clark
Professor
melissa_clark@brown.edu

Jo-Ann Donatelli
Investigator (Research)
Jo-ann_donatelli@brown.edu

Ilana Gareen
Assistant Professor (Research)
igareen@stat.brown.edu

Annie Gjelsvik
Assistant Professor
annie_gjelsvik@brown.edu

Chanelle Howe
Assistant Professor
chanelle_howe@brown.edu

Yen-Tsung Huang
Assistant Professor
yen-tsung_huang@brown.edu

Karl Kelsey
Professor
karl_kelsey@brown.edu

Simin Liu
Professor
simin_liu@brown.edu

Eric Loucks
Assistant Professor
eric_loucks@brown.edu

Mark Lurie
Associate Professor
mark_lurie@brown.edu

Brandon Marshall
Assistant Professor, Director of Graduate Programs
brandon_marshall@brown.edu

Stephen McGarvey
Professor and Interim Chair
stephen_mcgarvey@brown.edu

Angela Paradis
Investigator (Research)
angela_paradis@brown.edu 

Patricia Risica
Assistant Professor (Research)
patricia_risica@brown.edu

David Savitz
Professor, Vice President for Research
david_savitz@brown.edu

Gregory Wellenius
Associate Professor
gregory_wellenius@brown.edu

Haiyan Xu
Associate Professor (Research)
haiyan_xu@brown.edu

Tongzhang Zheng
Professor 
tongzhang_zheng@brown.edu 

Public Health Practice and Clinical Faculty 

Colleen Caron
Clinical Assistant Professor
colleen_caron@brown.edu

William Hollinshead
Clinical Assistant Professor
william_hollinshead@brown.edu

Julie Jefferson
Assistant Professor of the Practice
julie_jefferson@brown.edu

Yongwen Jiang
Assistant Professor of the Practice
yongwen_jiang@brown.edu

Hyun (Hanna) Kim
Assistant Professor of the Practice
hyun_kim@brown.edu

Deborah Pearlman
Associate Professor of the Practice
deborah_pearlman@brown.edu

Peter Simon
Clinical Associate Professor
peter_simon@brown.edu

Alvaro Tinajero
Clinical Assistant Professor
alvaro_tinajero@brown.edu

Robert Vanderslice
Clinical Assistant Professor
robert_vanderslice@brown.edu

Wendy Verhoek-Oftedahl
Assistant Professor of the Practice
wendy_verhoek-oftedahl@brown.edu

Secondary Appointments

Eunyoung Cho
Associate Professor of Dermatology
eunyoung_cho@brown.edu

Charles Eaton
Professor of Family Medicine, Director of Primary Care and Prevention
charles_eaton@brown.edu

Jennifer Friedman
Professor of Pediatrics 
jennifer_friedman@brown.edu 

Traci Green
Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine (Research)
traci_green@brown.edu

Wen-Qing Li
Assistant Professor of Dermatology
wen-qing_li@brown.edu

Albert Lo
Associate Professor of Neurology
albert_lo@brown.edu

Roland Merchant
Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
roland_merchant@brown.edu

Donna Parker
Associate Professor of Family Medicine (Research)
donna_parker@brown.edu

Maureen Phipps
Chace-Joukowsky Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Assistant Dean for Teaching and Research on Women's Health, Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology
maureen_phipps@brown.edu

Abrar Qureshi
Professor of Dermatology, Chair of Dermatology
abrar_qureshi@brown.edu

Josiah Rich
Professor of Medicine
josiah_rich@brown.edu

Dwight Rouse
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology 
dwight_rouse@brown.edu 

Elena Salmoirago-Blotcher
Assistant Professor of Medicine
elena_salmoirago-blotcher@brown.edu 

Martin Weinstock
Professor of Dermatology
martin_weinstock_md@brown.edu

Wen-Chih (Hank) Wu
Associate Professor of Medicine 
wen-chih_wu@brown.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Hélène Carabin
Adjunct Professor
University of Oklahoma Health Science Center
helene_carabin@brown.edu

David Dore
Adjunct Assistant Professor
david_dore@brown.edu

Paul Florin
Adjunct Professor
paul_florin@brown.edu

E. Andres Houseman
Adjunct Associate Professor
Oregan State University
e_andres_houseman@brown.edu

Douglas Kiel
Adjunct Professor
douglas_kiel@brown.edu

Elizabeth Kimani
Adjunct Assistant Professor
elizabeth_kimani@brown.edu 

Carmen Marsit
Adjunct Associate Professor
Dartmouth
carmen_marsit@brown.edu

Kenneth Mayer
Adjunct Professor
kenneth_mayer@brown.edu

Dominique Michaud
Adjunct Professor
Tufts University School of Medicine
dominique_michaud@brown.edu

Edmond Shenassa
Adjunct Associate Professor
University of Maryland
edmond_shenassa@brown.edu

Elizabeth Triche
Adjunct Assistant Professor
elizabeth_triche@brown.edu

 

Emeritus

Sally Zierler
Professor Emerita