People

Staff

Laura Bennett

Core Network Manager, Dancing Legacy Director
laurabennett@adli.us
401 863 3488 
Contact for American Dance Legacy Initative

Raina Fox

Caretaker
raina_fox@brown.edu

Amelia Grabowski

Caretaker
amelia_grabowski@brown.edu

Jenna Legault

Center Manager
jenna_legault@brown.edu
401 863 1177 
Contact for  finance and administration, programming, graduate program and admissions, general inquiries, web feedback  

Steven Lubar

Director, Professor of American Studies and History
lubar@brown.edu
401 863 6115 
Contact for academic programs, the M.A. in public humanities, and fellowships 

Ronald Potvin

Assistant Director for Professional Programs
ronald_potvin@brown.edu
 401 863 5312
Contact for Nightingale-Brown House or its collections, use of exhibit galleries, or community jobs

Annie Valk

Deputy Director 
Anne_Valk@brown.edu
401 863 1396 
Contact for public programs, collaborative projects, and the public humanities practicum program 

Fall 2014 Faculty and Fellows

Craig Dreeszen

Adjunct Assistant Professor in Public Humanities
AMST 2656: Cultural Policy Planning
craig@dreeszen.com

Sarah Ganz Blythe

Adjunct Assistant Proffesor in Public Humanities
AMST 2697 Museum Interpretation Practices
sganz@risd.edu

Steve Lubar

Professor of American Studies and History
AMST 2650 Introduction to Public Humanities
lubar@brown.edu

Ron Potvin

Adjunct Instructor in Public Humanities
AMST 1904U: Museum Collections and Collecting
ronald_potvin@brown.edu

Janet Zweig
Adjunct Assistant in Public Humanities
AMST 2653: Public Art, Theory and Practice
janetzweig@earthlink.net

Center Advisory Board

Prof. Tony Bogues
Department of Africana Studies and Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice
Brown University

Dan Cohen
Executive Director
Digital Public Library of America

Kath Connolly
Director of Partnerships
The Learning Community, Central Falls, RI

Prof. Beshara Doumani
Department of History and Center for Middle East Studies
Brown University

Prof. Julie Ellison
Departments of American Culture and English
University of Michigan

Elizabeth Francis
Executive Director
Rhode Island Council for the Humanities

Prof. Matt Guterl
Chair, Department of American Studies
Brown University

Karen S. Mittelman
Washington, D.C.

Stephanie Norby
Director
Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access 

Clay Rockefeller
Providence, RI

Randy Rosenbaum
Director
Rhode Island State Council for the Arts

John Smith
Director
RISD Museum

Prof. Elizabeth Taylor
Department of English
Brown University

Morris Vogel
Director
Lower East Side Tenement Museum

 

 

 

 

Public Humanities Events

Spotlight