People

Staff

Sabina Griffin

Center Manager 
sabina_griffin@brown.edu
401 863 1177

Nicole Larrondo

Caretaker
nicole_larrondo@brown.edu

James McGrath

Postdoctoral Fellow in Digital Public Humanities
james_mcgrath@brown.edu

Ronald Potvin
Assistant Director for Professional Programs and Curator
ronald_potvin@brown.edu
401 863 5312

Robyn Schroeder

Postdoctoral Fellow / Director of Graduate Studies
robyn_schroeder@brown.edu
401 863 1396

Susan Smulyan

Director, Professor of American Studies 
susan_smulyan@brown.edu
401 863 6115 

2015/2016 Faculty 

Jaclyn Delamatre

Adjunct Assistant Professor in Public Humanities
AMST 2696: The Promise of Informal Learning (Fall 2015)
jdelamatre@gmail.com

Caroline Frank

Adjunct Assistant Professor in American Studies
AMST 1905M: Whose Heritage? National Landmarks for Diverse Publics (Spring 2016)
caroline_frank@brown.edu

Sarah Ganz Blythe
Adjunct Assistant Profesor in Public Humanities
AMST 2697 Museum Interpretation Practices (Spring 2016)
sganz@risd.edu

Steve Lubar

Professor of American Studies and History
AMST 2650 Introduction to Public Humanities (Fall 2015)
AMST 1510 Museum Collecting and Collection (Fall 2015)
lubar@brown.edu

James McGrath

Postdoctoral Fellow
Digital Public Humanities (Spring 2016)
james_mcgrath@brown.edu

Ron Potvin

Adjunct Instructor in Public Humanities
AMST 1903Z: Shrine, House or Home: Rethinking the House Museum Paradigm (Spring 2016)
ronald_potvin@brown.edu

Robyn Schroeder

Postdoctoral Fellow
Public Humanities and Social Justice (Spring 2016)
robyn_schroeder@brown.edu

Susan Smulyan

Professor, American Studies
AMST 2540: Methods in Public Humanities (Spring 2016)
susan_smulyan@brown.edu

Janet Zweig

Adjunct Assistant Professor in Public Humanities
AMST 2653: Public Art, Theory and Practice (Fall 2015)
janetzweig@earthlink.net

Center Advisory Board

Prof. Tony Bogues
Department of Africana Studies and Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice
Brown University

Dan Cohen
Executive Director
Digital Public Library of America

Kath Connolly
Director of Partnerships
The Learning Community, Central Falls, RI

Prof. Beshara Doumani
Department of History and Center for Middle East Studies
Brown University

Prof. Julie Ellison
Departments of American Culture and English
University of Michigan

Elizabeth Francis
Executive Director
Rhode Island Council for the Humanities

Prof. Matt Guterl
Chair, Department of American Studies
Brown University

Stephanie Norby
Director
Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access 

Clay Rockefeller
Providence, RI

Randy Rosenbaum
Director
Rhode Island State Council for the Arts

John Smith
Director
RISD Museum

Prof. Elizabeth Taylor
Department of English
Brown University

Morris Vogel
Director
Lower East Side Tenement Museum

 

 

 

 

Public Humanities Events

Spotlight