Events

Lecture and Workshop with Sabeena GadihokeLecture and Workshop with Sabeena Gadihoke
 A SymposiumRace in the Global Asias: A Symposium
Lakshmi IyerLakshmi Iyer
Vikram Prakash at RISD and BrownVikram Prakash at RISD and Brown
Theory From the SouthTheory From the South
Feminist and Women's Media FestivalFeminist and Women's Media Festival
Paul Staniland - Governing CoercionPaul Staniland - Governing Coercion
Can History Make Peace Between Countries?Can History Make Peace Between Countries?
Bengali HarlemBengali Harlem
Lina Fruzzetti book coverLina Fruzzetti book cover

Spring 2014 Events

Friday, May 8 at 5:30 PM
Sabeena Gadihoke —
Mapping the Everyday: Photo Archives and Inner Lives in Post-Independence India
Dyer House Conference Room

Saturday, May 3 at 10:30 AM
Race in the Global Asias: A Symposium
Petteruti Lounge, Stephen Robert '62 Center

Friday, May 2 at 2:30 PM
Lakshmi Iyer — Joint Seminar on South Asian Politics @ Harvard: Politician Identity and Religious Violence in India

Tuesday, April 29 at 5:30 PM
Theory From the South: A Reading Group
Kim Koo Library

Friday, April 25 at 2:30 PM
Rina Agarwala
Brown-India Seminar: Informal Labor Politics in India and Beyond
Joukowsky Forum

Friday, April 18 at 2:30 PM
Pratap Bhanu MehtaJoint Seminar on South Asian Politics @ Brown India's Political Economy: Towards a New Framework
Watson Institute

Tuesday, April 15 at 5:00 PM
Jonathan Shainin, New Yorker News Editor, Rana Dasgupta, Novelist & Ashutosh Varshney — Writing India: Two Authors and an Editor
Crystal Room, Alumnae Hall

Tuesday, April 8 at 12:00 PM
Vikram Prakāsh — DERURALIZATION - Le Corbusier's Capitol in Globalizing Chandigarh
Joukowsky Forum

Monday, April 7 at 6:30 PM
Vikram Prakāsh — Chandigarh Urban Lab Vol 1 - Rethinking Preservation
RISD Bayard Ewing Building 106

Monday, April 7 at 12:00 PM
Ashwini Deshpande — Is Self-Employment the Answer to Caste Discrimination?
Joukowsky Forum

Friday, April 4 at 2:30 PM
Karthik MuralidharanJoint Seminar on South Asian Politics @ Harvard: The State and the Market in the Delivery of Primary Education in India: Theory and Evidence

Thursday, April 3 at 5:00 PM
Rajiv SethiDevelopment and Governance Seminar: Identity Politics and Public Goods
McKinney Conference Room

Tuesday, March 18 at 5:30 PM
Theory From the South: A Reading Group
Kim Koo Library

Thursday, March 13 to Sunday, March 16
Feminist and Women's Media Festival — Featuring Firaaq by Nandita Das

Friday, March 14, at 2:00 PM
Ashis Nandy — OP Jindal Distinguished Lecture Series on Partition Violence | Beyond Trauma: Silence, Exorcism and the Doomed Journey to a Lost Self
Joukowsky Forum

Wednesday, March 12, at 5:30 PM
Ashis Nandy — OP Jindal Distinguished Lecture Series on Partition Violence | Forgetting the Unforgettable: Memories of Killing
Pembroke Hall, Room 305

Tuesday, March 3, at 5:00 PM
Paul StanilandSecurity Seminar Series: Governing Coercion: States and Violence in Asia
Joukowsky Forum

Friday, February 28, at 2:30 PM
Christine FairJoint Seminar on South Asian Politics @ MIT: Fighting to the End: The Pakistan Army's Way of War

Tuesday, February 25 at 5:30 PM
Theory From the South: A Reading Group
Kim Koo Library

Thursday, February 20 at 6:30 PM
Qasim Aslam — Can History Make Peace between Countries?
McKinney Conference Room

Wednesday, February 19 at 5:30 PM
Vivek Bald — Bengali Harlem
Smith-Buonanno, Room 201 

Tuesday, February 11 at 4:00 PM
Lina Fruzzetti — New book release and author talk: When Marriages Go Astray: Choices Made, Choices Challenged (Orient Blackswan, 2013) 

Friday, February 7 at 2:30 PM
Jeffrey WitsoeBrown-India Seminar:
Caste, Democracy and the Postcolonial State: A View from Bihar
Joukowsky Forum

Tuesday, February 4 at 5:30 PM
Ambassador Nirupama Rao and Richard Locke — India, China, the US and World Politics
Joukowsky Forum

Tuesday, January 28 at 5:30 PM
Theory From the South: A Reading Group
Kim Koo Library

 

 

 

Fall 2013

Spring 2013

Fall 2012

Spring 2012 and Earlier