People

Faculty

Faiz Ahmed

Assistant Professor of History
Faiz_Ahmed@brown.edu

David Buchta

Lecturer in Sanskrit
David_Buchta@brown.edu

Charles Carpenter, MD

Professor of Medicine
Charles_Carpenter@brown.edu

Nitsan Chorev

Associate Professor of Sociology
Nitsan_Chorev@brown.edu

John Emigh

Professor Emeritus of Theatre,
Speech and Dance
John_Emigh@brown.edu

Roquinaldo Ferreira

Vasco de Gama University Professor of Portugese History and Portugese &
Brazilian Studies
Roquinaldo_Ferreira@brown.edu

James Fitzgerald

St. Purander Das Distinguished Professor and Chair of Classics,
Faculty Affiliate in Religious Studies
James_Fitzgerald@brown.edu

Andrew Foster

Director of the Population Studies &
Training Center, Professor of
Economics and Community Health
Andrew_Foster@brown.edu

Lina Fruzzetti

Professor of Anthropology
Lina_Fruzzetti@brown.edu

Leela Gandhi

John Hawkes Professor of Humanities and English
Leela_Gandhi@brown.edu

Avishek Ganguly

Assistant Professor of English at
Rhode Island School of Design
aganguly@risd.edu

Jo Guldi

Assistant Professor of History
Ellen_Guldi@brown.edu

Patrick Heller

Professor of Sociology 
Patrick_Heller@brown.edu

Elizabeth Hermann

Professor of Design and Social Justice at Rhode Island School of Design
ehermann@risd.edu

Ashok Koul

Senior Lecturer in Language Studies
Ashok_Koul@brown.edu

Courtney Martin

Assistant Professor of History of
Art & Architecture
Courtney_Martin@brown.edu

Ijlal Muzaffar

Assistant Professor of Modern Architectural History at Rhode Island School of Design
imuzaffa@risd.edu

Sriniketh Nagavarapu

Assistant Professor of Economics and Environemntal Studies 
Sriniketh_Nagavarapu@brown.edu

Mark Pitt

Professor of Economics 
Mark_Pitt@brown.edu

Anja Sautmann

Assistant Professor of Economics
Anja_Sautmann@brown.edu

Gregory Schopen

Rush C. Hawkins Professor of Religious Studies
Gregory_Schopen@brown.edu

Hilary Silver

Professor of Sociology, Urban Studies, and Public Policy
Hilary_Silver@brown.edu 

Bhrigupati Singh

Anthropology and International Studies
New appointment (beginning July 2014)
Bhrigupati_Singh@brown.edu

Prerna Singh

Mahatma Gandhi Assistant Professor of Political Science and International Studies
Prerna_Singh@brown.edu

Ashutosh Varshney

Sol Goldman Charitable Trust Professor
in International Studies and Social Sciences and Director of the Brown-India Initiative
Ashutosh_Varshney@brown.edu

Kenneth Wong

Professor of Education
Kenneth_Wong@brown.edu

Donna Wulff

Professor Emerita of Religious Studies
Donna_Wulff@brown.edu

Vazira Fazila-Yacoobali Zamindar

Associate Professor of History
vfyz@brown.edu

Staff

Ian Straughn

Joukowsky Family Middle East Studies Librarian
South Asia Studies Library Resource
Ian_Straughn@brown.edu

Aliza Elkin

Administrative Coordinator
Brown-India Initiative and South Asian Studies
Aliza_Elkin@brown.edu