People

Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice Staff

B. Anthony Bogues
Director 
Lyn Crost Professor of Social Sciences & Critical Theory
Professor Africana Studies Department 
Barrymore_Bogues@brown.edu

Shana Weinberg
Center Manager
Shana_Weinberg@brown.edu 

Ruth Clark
Outreach and Program Coordinator
Ruth_Clark@brown.edu

Mekala Audain, Ph.D.
Ruth J. Simmons Post-Doctoral Fellow in Slavery and Justice
Mekala_Audain@brown.edu 

Justin Pope, Ph.D.
John Carter Brown Library and the Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice Joint Fellow
Justin_Pope@brown.edu

Jazzmen Johnson & Maiyah Gamble-Rivers
Research Assistants
Graduate Fellows for the Study of the Public History of Slavery 
Jazzmen_Johnson@brown.edu and Maiyah_Gamble-Rivers@brown.edu

Faculty Advisory Board

Philip Gould

Nicholas Brown Professor of Oratory
and Belles Lettres

Chair, Department of English
Philip_Gould@brown.edu

Matthew Pratt Guterl

Chair, American Studies Department
Professor of Africana Studies 
Matthew_Guterl@brown.edu

Françoise N. Hamlin
Hans Rothfels Assistant Professor of History and Africana Studies
Francoise_Hamlin@brown.edu 

 

Glenn C. Loury

Merton P. Stoltz Professor of the Social Sciences
Glenn_Loury@brown.edu 

Marion Orr

Director of the A. Alfred Taubman Center for Public Policy and American Institutions
Fred Lippitt Professor of Public Policy, Political Science and Urban Studies

Marion_Orr@Brown.edu

Seth Rockman

Associate Professor of History
Seth_Rockman@brown.edu