People

Staff/Administration

B. Anthony Bogues
Director 
Asa Messer Professor of Humanities and Critical Theory
Professor of Africana Studies
Barrymore_Bogues@brown.edu

Roquinaldo Ferreira
Associate Director
Vasca da Gama Associate Professor of Early Modern Portuguese History and Portuguese and Brazilian Studies 
Roquinaldo_Ferreira@brown.edu 
 

Shana Weinberg
Assistant Director
Shana_Weinberg@brown.edu 

Ruth Clark
Outreach and Program Coordinator
Ruth_Clark@brown.edu

 

Student Workers

Cherise Morris '16
Cherise_Morris@brown.edu

 

 

Faculty Advisory Board

Philip Gould

Nicholas Brown Professor of Oratory
and Belles Lettres

Chair, Department of English
Philip_Gould@brown.edu

Matthew Pratt Guterl

 Professor of Africana Studies and American Studies
Chair of American Studies

Matthew_Guterl@brown.edu

Françoise N. Hamlin
Associate Professor of History and Africana Studies
Francoise_Hamlin@brown.edu 

Glenn C. Loury

Merton P. Stoltz Professor of the Social Sciences
Glenn_Loury@brown.edu 

Marion Orr

Fred Lippitt Professor of Public Policy, Political Science and Urban Studies
Marion_Orr@Brown.edu

Seth Rockman

Associate Professor of History
Seth_Rockman@brown.edu

External Advisory Board

Dr. Ruth J. Simmons

Co-chair

Debra L. Lee '76

Co-chair

James T. Campbell

Katherine Chon '02

Spencer Crew '71

Brickson Diamond '93

Libby Heimark '76