Brown Women Speak presents oral histories of Brown alumnae. Brown University first admitted women students in 1891. The founders of the Women's College in Brown University went on to raise money to build Pembroke Hall, dedicated in 1897, to provide the college with a permanent home. The Women's College was renamed Pembroke College in 1928.
Pembroke College merged with the men's college and Brown University became fully coeducational in 1971. The Pembroke Center for Teaching and Research on Women was founded in 1981. In 1982, the Center began collecting oral histories of Brown alumnae. This project was led by Barbara Anton, who served as director of Alumnae Affairs for many years.
The digitization of these interviews has been sponsored by the Pembroke Center Associates, a group of alumnae and friends that supports the Pembroke Center. Photographs and other documents have been scanned from Brun Mael and Liber Brunensis, the Pembroke and Brown yearbooks; from the Pembroke Record and the Brown Daily Herald; and from the University Archives held at the John Hay Library. We invite you to explore the oral histories, photos, and related materials.
Pembroke Associates Archives Committee, 2013-14:
Bernicestine McLeod Bailey '68 (co-chair)
Ulle Viiroja Holt '66 (co-chair)
Emily Coe-Sullivan '99
Robin Lenhardt '89
Barbara Raab '81
Ulla Wilska P'04
We extend special thanks to the Brown University Library and to the following students, staff, and alumnae for contributing to this project:
Krystal Appiah MA '11
Abigail Ettelman MA '14
Rebecca Forman '16
Lorena Garcia '12
Elisa Glubok '14
Jane Lancaster PhD '98
Jean Miller '49
Phyllis Santry '66
Claudia Schechter '66
Enid Wilson '43
For more information, please contact Wendy Korwin, the Pembroke Center Archivist, at firstname.lastname@example.org or (401) 863-6268.