Gender and Sexuality Studies Affiliated Faculty

Susan Allen, Emerita
Professor Emerita of Health Services, Policy, and Practice
Susan_Allen@brown.edu

Shiva Balaghi
Visiting Assitant Professor of Middle East Studies
Shiva_Balaghi@brown.edu

Omer Bartov
Professor of History and German Studies
Omer_Bartov@Brown.EDU

Reda Bensmaia, Emeritus
Professor Emeritus of French Studies and Comparative Literature
Reda_Bensmaia@Brown.EDU

Susan Bernstein
Professor of Comparative Literature and German Studies
Susan_Bernstein@Brown.EDU

Timothy Bewes
Professor of English
Timothy_Bewes@Brown.EDU

Mark Blyth
Professor of Political Science
Mark_Blyth@brown.edu

Anthony Bogues
Professor of Africana Studies
Barrymore_Bogues@Brown.EDU

Sheila Bonde
Professor of History of Art and Architecture and Archaeology of the Ancient World
Sheila_Bonde@Brown.EDU

Leslie Bostrom
Professor of Visual Art
Leslie_Bostrom@Brown.EDU

Lundy Braun
Professor of Medical Science and Africana Studies
Lundy_Braun@Brown.EDU

Cynthia Brokaw
Professor of History
Cynthia_Brokaw@brown.edu

Keith Brown
Professor of International Studies
Keith_Brown@Brown.EDU

Elizabeth Johnson Bryan
Associate Professor of English
Elizabeth_Bryan@Brown.EDU

Mari Jo Buhle, Emerita
Professor Emerita of American Studies
Mari_Buhle@Brown.EDU

Caroline Castiglione
Associate Professor of Italian Studies
Caroline_Castiglione@brown.edu

Wendy Hui Kyong Chun
Professor of Modern Culture and Media and History of Art and Architecture
Wendy_Hui_Kyong_Chun@Brown.EDU

Mark Cladis
Professor of Religious Studies
Mark_Cladis@brown.edu

Gail Cohee
Director, Sarah Doyle Women’s Center
Gail_Cohee@Brown.edu

Linda Cook
Professor of Political Science
Linda_Cook@Brown.EDU

Carol Deboer-Langworthy
Lecturer in English
Carol_DeBoer-Langworthy@Brown.edu

Jeri Debrohun
Associate Professor of Classics
Jeri_DeBrohun@brown.edu

Ann Dill, Emerita
Associate Professor Emerita of Sociology
Ann_Dill@Brown.EDU

Svetlana Evdokimova
Professor of Slavic Languages and Comparative Literature
Svetlana_Evdokimova@Brown.EDU

Anne Fausto-Sterling, Emerita
Nancy Duke Lewis Chair Emerita, Professor of Biology, Emerita
Anne_Fausto-Sterling@Brown.EDU

Sarah Fox
Assistant Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Sarah_D_Fox@brown.edu

Lina Fruzzetti
Professor of Anthropology
Lina_Fruzzetti@brown.edu

Mary Gluck
Professor of History and Judaic Studies
Mary_Gluck@Brown.EDU

Katherine R. Goodman, Emerita
Professor Emerita of German Studies
Katherine_Goodman@Brown.EDU

Dana Gooley
Associate Professor of Music
Dana_Gooley@brown.edu

Amy Gottlieb
Assistant Professor of Medicine (Clinical) and Obstetrics and Gynecology
Amy_Gottlieb@brown.edu

James N. Green
Professor of History and Portuguese and Brazilian Studies
James_Green@brown.edu

Philip Gruppuso
Professor of Pediatrics and Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry
Philip_Gruppuso@Brown.EDU

Matthew Gutmann
Professor of Anthropology
Matthew_Gutmann@Brown.EDU

Sherine Hamdy
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Sherine_Hamdy@brown.edu

Françoise Hamlin
Associate Professor of Africana Studies and History
Francoise_Hamlin@brown.edu

Jo-Anne Hart
Adjunct Professor of International Studies
Jo-Anne_Hart@Brown.EDU

Susan Ashbrook Harvey
Professor of Religious Studies
Susan_Harvey@Brown.EDU

Beverly Haviland
Senior Lecturer in American Studies
Beverly_Haviland@Brown.EDU

Paget Henry
Professor of Africana Studies and Sociology
Paget_Henry@Brown.EDU

Marida Hollos
Professor of Anthropology
Marida_Hollos@Brown.EDU

Bonnie Honig
Nancy Duke Lewis Chair, Professor of Modern Culture and Media and Political Science

Jose Itzigsohn
Professor of Sociology
Jose_Itzigsohn@Brown.EDU

Lynne Joyrich
Professor of Modern Culture and Media
Lynne_Joyrich@brown.edu

Coppélia Kahn, Emerita
Professor Emerita of English Emerita
Coppelia_Kahn@brown.edu

Tamar Katz
Associate Professor of English and Urban Studies
Tamar_Katz@brown.edu

Jacques Khalip
Associate Professor of English
Jacques_Khalip@brown.edu

David Konstan, Emeritus
Professor Emeritus of Classics and Comparative Literature
David_Konstan@brown.edu

Ross S. Kraemer, Emerita
Professor Emerita of Religious Studies
Ross_Kraemer@brown.edu

Sharon Krause
Professor of Political Science
Sharon_Krause@Brown.EDU

Virginia Krause
Associate Professor of French Studies
Virginia_Krause@Brown.EDU

K. Dian Kriz, Emerita
Professor Emerita of History of Art and Architecture
K_Kriz@Brown.EDU

Jessaca Leinaweaver
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Jessaca_Leinaweaver@brown.edu

Evelyn Lincoln
Professor of History of Art & Architecture and Italian Studies
Evelyn_Lincoln@Brown.EDU

Catherine Lutz
Professor of Anthropology
Catherine_Lutz@brown.edu

Maud Mandel
Dean of the College; Associate Professor of History and Judaic Studies
Maud_Mandel@Brown.EDU

Stephanie Merrim
Professor of Comparative Literature and Hispanic Studies
Stephanie_Merrim@Brown.EDU

Kiri Miller
Associate Professor of Music
Kiri_Miller@brown.edu

Dietrich Neumann
Professor of History of Art and Architecture and Urban Studies
Dietrich_Neumann@Brown.EDU

Karen Newman
Professor of Comparative Literature and English
Karen_Newman@brown.edu

Tara Nummedal
Associate Professor of History and Italian Studies; Director of Science and Technology Studies
Tara_Nummedal@Brown.EDU

Deborah Pearlman
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology (Research)
Deborah_Pearlman@Brown.EDU

Keisha-Khan Perry
Associate Professor of Africana Studies
Keisha-Khan_Perry@brown.edu

Samuel Perry
Assistant Professor of East Asian Studies
Samuel_Perry@brown.edu

Melinda Alliker Rabb
Professor of English
Melinda_Rabb@Brown.edu

Richard Rambuss
Professor of English
Richard_Rambuss@Brown.edu

Thangam Ravindranathan
Associate Professor of French Studies
Thangam_Ravindranathan@brown.edu

Marc Redfield
Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Marc_Redfield@brown.edu

Bernard Reginster
Professor of Philosophy
Bernard_Reginster@Brown.EDU

Ravit Reichman
Associate Professor of English
Ravit_Reichman@brown.edu

Amy Remensnyder
Professor of History
Amy_Remensnyder@Brown.EDU

Massimo Riva
Professor of Italian Studies
Massimo_Riva@Brown.EDU

Ralph Rodriguez
Associate Professor of American Studies and English
Ralph_Rodriguez@brown.edu

Seth Rockman
Associate Professor of History
Seth_Rockman@brown.edu

Ellen Rooney
Professor of English and Modern Culture and Media
Ellen_Rooney@Brown.EDU

Tricia Rose
Director of Race and Ethnicity in America; Professor of Africana Studies
Tricia_Rose@brown.edu

Philip Rosen
Professor of Modern Culture and Media
Philip_Rosen@Brown.EDU

Geoffrey Russom, Emeritus
Professor Emeritus of English
Geoffrey_Russom@Brown.EDU

Pierre Saint-Amand
Professor of French Studies and Comparative Literature
Pierre_Saint-Amand@Brown.EDU

Michael Satlow
Professor of Religious Studies and Judaic Studies
Michael_Satlow@Brown.EDU

Rebecca Schneider
Professor of Theatre Arts and Performance Studies and History of Art and Architecture 
Rebecca_Schneider@Brown.EDU

Gretchen Schultz
Professor of French Studies
Gretchen_Schultz@Brown.EDU

Lewis C. Seifert
Professor of French Studies
Lewis_Seifert@Brown.EDU

Robert Self
Professor of History
Robert_Self@brown.edu

Naoko Shibusawa
Associate Professor of History and American Studies
Naoko_Shibusawa@brown.edu

Susan E. Short
Professor of Sociology
Susan_Short@Brown.EDU

Hilary Silver
Associate Professor of Sociology and Urban Studies and Public Policy
Hilary_Silver@Brown.EDU

Barbara Herrnstein Smith, Emerita
Professor Emerita of English
Barbara_H_Smith@brown.edu

Daniel Jordan Smith
Professor of Anthropology
Daniel_J_Smith@brown.edu

Susan Smulyan
Professor of American Studies
Susan_Smulyan@Brown.EDU

Zachary Sng
Associate Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Zachary_Sng@brown.edu

Michael P. Steinberg
Director, Cogut Humanities Center, Professor of History and Music
Michael_Steinberg@brown.edu

Suzanne Stewart-Steinberg
Director, Pembroke Center, Professor of Comparative Literature and Italian Studies
Suzanne_Stewart-Steinberg@brown.edu

Rose Rosengard Subotnik, Emerita
Professor Emerita of Music
Rose_Subotnik@Brown.EDU

Elmo Terry-Morgan
Associate Professor of Africana Studies and Theatre Arts and Performance Studies
Elmo_Terry-Morgan@Brown.EDU

Nelson Vieira
Professor of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies and Judaic Studies
Nelson_Vieira@Brown.EDU

Meera S. Viswanathan
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and East Asian Studies
Meera_Viswanathan@brown.edu

Lingzhen Wang
Associate Professor of East Asian Studies
Lingzhen_Wang@Brown.EDU

Kay Warren
Professor of Anthropology
Kay_Warren@brown.edu

Elizabeth Weed
Professor Emerita of Gender and Sexuality Studies
Elizabeth_Weed@Brown.EDU

Debbie Weinstein
Director of Gender and Sexuality Studies
Deborah_Weinstein@brown.edu

Esther Whitfield
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Hispanic Studies
Esther_Whitfield@Brown.EDU

Patricia Ybarra
Associate Professor of Theatre Arts and  Performance Studies
Patricia_Ybarra@brown.edu