People

ECI Faculty Affiliates

Susan Alcock
Director, Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World
Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology, Professor of Classics
susan_alcock@brown.edu

Material culture of the eastern Mediterranean and western Asia


Linda Amaral Zettler
Associate Scientist, Marine Biological Laboratory
amaral@mbl.edu

Patterns of microbial diversity and adaptation in extreme and marine environments


Douglas Anderson
Professor of Anthropology and Director, Laboratory for Circumpolar Studies
douglas_anderson@brown.edu

Archaeology, ethnography, hunter-gatherer ecology, environmental management in traditional societies, ethnonationalism, North America, Circum Arctic, Southeast Asia 


Mark Bertness (on sabbatical 2013-2014)
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Mark_Bertness@Brown.edu

Ecology and conservation biology of shoreline systems, particularly salt marshes and rocky shores; organization and dynamics of natural communities


Christopher Bull
Senior Research Engineer, Division of Engineering
cbull@brown.edu

Alternative transportation, sustainable design, neural recording and stimulation systems, and experimental mechanics


Zoe Cardon
Senior Scientist, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
zcardon@mbl.edu

How interactions among organisms and soils shape, and are shaped by, terrestrial biogeochemistry


Steven Clemens
Associate Professor, Geological Sciences
Steven_Clemens@brown.edu

Use of the marine and terrestrial geologic record to understand the history and dynamics of global climate and environmental change


Linda Deegan
Senior Scientist, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
ldeegan@mbl.edu

Relationships between ecosystem dynamics and animal populations, especially in aquatic and marine ecosystems


Erika Edwards
Associate Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
erika_edwards@brown.edu
The Edwards Lab

Plant evolution and function, especially in arid environments


Andrew Foster
Director, Population Studies Training Center
Professor, Economics; Professor of Community Health
Andrew_Foster@Brown.edu

Economic growth in rural India, exploring such issues as growth in the non-farm economy, the effects of local democratization, groundwater usage, forest cover, household structure, inequality, and schooling


Baylor Fox-Kemper
Assistant Professor, Geological Sciences
baylor@brown.edu

Understanding and modeling the physics of oceans and climate


Anne Giblin
Senior Scientist, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
agiblin@mbl.edu

Cycling of elements in the environment, especially the biogeochemistry of nitrogen, sulfur, iron, and phosphorus


Meredith Hastings
Joukowsky Family Assistant Professor, Geological Sciences
Assistant Professor, Environmental Change Initiative
Meredith_Hastings@Brown.edu

Atmospheric transformation, transport, and deposition of nitrogen emissions (as from fossil fuel burning)


Timothy Herbert
Professor and Chair, Geological Sciences
Timothy_Herbert@Brown.edu

Understanding how the earth's climatic system, particularly the ocean, adjusts itself to perturbation on various timescales


Yongsong Huang
Professor of Geological Sciences
Yongsong_Huang@Brown.edu

Development and application of organic isotope geochemistry to problems in the environment, paleoclimate, paleohydrology, and astrobiology


Julie Huber
Associate Scientist, Josephine Bay Paul Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
jhuber@mbl.edu

Microbial ecology of deep-sea crustal habitats


James R. Kellner
Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
kellner(at)brown(dot)edu

Combining environmental remote sensing with field studies, quantitative methods, and modeling to address questions in basic and applied tropical forest ecology from ecological and evolutionary perspectives


Jung-Eun Lee
Assistant Professor of Geological Sciences
Jung-Eun_Lee@brown.edu

Climate dynamics from biogeochemical signatures


Heather Leslie
Peggy and Henry D. Sharpe Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies and Biology
Heather_Leslie@brown.edu

Ecology and conservation science of coastal and marine systems; ecosystem-based management


John Logan
Professor, Sociology
Director, Spatial Structures in the Social Sciences(S4)
John_Logan@brown.edu

Social impacts of Hurricane Katrina on the Gulf Coast,  neighborhood change and individual mobility in U.S. cities from 1880 to1920, social change in China, especially impacts of market transition


Mark Lurie
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology
Mark_Lurie@Brown.edu

Social epidemiology, conservation medicine, the role of migration in the spread of HIV in South Africa


Catherine Lutz
Thomas J. Watson, Jr. Family Professor of Anthropology and International Studies; Research Professor, Watson Institute for International Studies
Catherine_Lutz@Brown.edu

Cultural and political economic factors driving motorization rates and car dependence


Amanda Lynch
Director, Environmental Change Initiative
Professor of Geological Sciences
Amanda_Lynch(at)brown.edu

Application of climate and meteorological research to concrete problems of policy relevance


Stephen McGarvey
Professor of Epidemiology
Stephen_McGarvey@Brown.edu

Human population biology and international health


Jerry Melillo
Senior Scientist, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
jmelillo@mbl.edu

Human activities and the biogeochemistry of terrestrial ecosystems


Douglass Morse
Professor Emeritus, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
d_morse@brown.edu

Behavioral ecology: foraging, life history variables, and sexual selection


John Mustard
Professor, Geological Sciences
Professor, Center for Environmental Studies
john_mustard@Brown.edu

Land Use-Land Cover Change research and applications of remote sensing in environmental science


Sriniketh Nagavarapu
Assistant Professor of Economics and Environmental Studies ,
ssn@brown.edu

Environmental and labor economics, primarily in developing countries; linkages between individual decision-making, environmental forces, and poverty alleviation


Christopher Neill
Director, The Brown-MBL Graduate Program in Biological and Environmental Sciences
Director, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
cneill@mbl.edu

Effects of changes in land use and other human activities on the structure of ecosystems and the ways that ecosystems cycle nutrients and organic matter


Stephen Porder
Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Stephen_Porder@Brown.edu

Global biogeochemistry with regional emphasis on tropical forests, the interface between geology and ecology,  land use change and agriculture in tropical ecosystems


Warren Prell
Professor of Geological Science
Warren_Prell@Brown.edu

Global-scale paleoceanography and local-scale estuarine oceanography


David Rand
Chair and Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
David_Rand@Brown.edu

Molecular ecology and evolution, co-evolution of nuclear and mitochondrial genomes, and speciation


Edward Rastetter
Senior Scientist, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
erastett@mbl.edu

Ecosystem modeling, ecosystem stoichiometry, particularly the constraints imposed by carbon-nutrient interactions on ecosystem productivity and carbon accumulation


Jeremy Rich
Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Jeremy_Rich@brown.edu

Microbial ecology and biogeochemistry -- especially nitrogen cycling in estuarine and marine environments, molecular techniques to unravel the relationship between microbial diversity and biogeochemical processes


Timmons Roberts
Professor of Sociology
j_timmons_roberts@brown.edu

Climate change equity and adaptation


James Russell
Associate Professor, Geological Sciences
James_Russell@brown.edu

Patterns and causes of natural climate variability using paleoclimate records, climate history of the tropics, paleoclimate reconstructions using lake sediments


Dov Sax
Director, Center for Environmental Studies
Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies
Dov_Sax@brown.edu

Biogeography, assisted migration, species movements, climate change and biodiversity


Johanna Schmitt
Adjunct Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Brown University
Professor of Evolution and Ecology, University of California, Davis
jschmitt@ucdavis.edu

Ecological and genomic mechanisms of plastic responses and evolutionary adaptation to environmental change


Gaius Shaver
Senior Scientist, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
gshaver@mbl.edu

Plant growth and nutrition, and in the role of plants in ecosystem element cycles


Katherine Smith
Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Katherine_Smith@Brown.edu

Conservation Medicine; Disease Ecology; Biogeography; Global Environmental Change


Jianwu (Jim) Tang
Assistant Scientist, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
jtang@mbl.edu

Terrestrial ecosystem ecology, soil biogeochemistry, and global change ecology, with a focus on ecosystem carbon and nitrogen cycles


Joseph Vallino
Senior Scientist, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
jvallino@mbl.edu

Modeling and experimental investigation of microbial processing of organic and inorganic materials, primarily in estuarine and coastal systems.


Leah VanWey
Associate Director, Population Studies and Training Center
Associate Professor, Sociology
Leah_VanWey@brown.edu

Small landholder decision making in developing countries. Landholder decisions affect deforestation and land management choices with a strong influence on the terrestrial carbon sink.


Thompson Webb
Professor Emeritus, Geological Sciences
Thompson_Webb_III@Brown.edu

Paleoecology and paleoclimatology. Pollen and lake sediment records of climate change. Records of land-falling hurricanes, vegetation change in North America


Gregory Wellenius
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology, Associate Director, Center for Environmental Health and Technology
Gregory_Wellenius@brown.edu

Human health effects of environmental pollution; air pollution; cardiovascular epidemiology; epidemiologic methods


Michael White
Professor, Sociology
Michael_White@brown.edu

Population and the environment, ethnic residential segregation, migration, historical infant mortality, and immigration


Jon Witman
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Jon_Witman@Brown.edu

Population and community ecology, oceanography, and marine biology. Ocean acidification, coral adaptation