Brown University News Bureau

The Brown University News Bureau

1996-1997 index

Distributed January 21, 1997
Contact: Mark Nickel

Corporation establishes search committee for Brown's 17th president

The Advisory and Executive Committee of the Brown Corporation has established a 16-member Presidential Search Committee to be chaired by Brown Chancellor Alva O. Way. A second committee of faculty, students and administrators will advise the Corporation's committee in selecting a successor to President Vartan Gregorian.

PROVIDENCE, R.I. -- At its regular meeting Friday, Jan. 17, 1997, the Advisory and Executive Committee of the Brown Corporation established the Presidential Search Committee to select the 17th president of Brown University. The Advisory and Executive Committee is authorized to act on behalf of the Brown Corporation, the University's governing body. The full Corporation meets three times a year.

The Presidential Search Committee will include 15 current or former members of the Corporation in addition to Chancellor Alva O. Way, who will chair the search. The Advisory and Executive Committee also named Charles C. Tillinghast Jr., senior fellow and former Brown chancellor, as honorary chair. William J. Bowen, of Heidrick & Struggles Inc., who consulted on the searches that brought presidents Gregorian and Howard Swearer to Brown, has been retained again by the Corporation.

Chancellor Way said the committee would work quickly to identify a successor to President Vartan Gregorian, who will leave Brown after the current academic year to become president of the Carnegie Corporation of New York in July. Chancellor Way has scheduled the first organizational meeting of the committee for Wednesday, Jan. 22, 1997.

The Advisory and Executive Committee also authorized the establishment of a campus advisory committee. It will include six faculty appointed by the Faculty Executive Committee, three undergraduate students appointed by the dean of the College, one graduate student appointed by the dean of the Graduate School, one medical student appointed by the dean of medicine and biological sciences, and two administrators appointed by the chancellor. (The deans will consult with the appropriate unit of student government on all student appointments.) Chancellor Way has discussed formation of the committee with William F. Wyatt Jr., professor of classics and chair of the Faculty Executive Committee. Wyatt will attend the first organizational meeting of the search committee.

Members of the Presidential Search Committee

J. Carter Brown, trustee; director emeritus of the National Gallery of Art; Washington, D.C.

Nora L. Burgess, M.D., trustee; chief of the Department of Cardiovascular Surgery, Permanente Medical Group; Tiburon, Calif.

Barbara L. Chase, fellow; head of school at Phillips Academy; Andover, Mass.

Ramon Cortines, trustee; former chancellor of New York City's public school system; Pasadena, Calif.

Spencer R. Crew, trustee; director of the National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution; Washington, D.C.

Timothy C. Forbes, trustee; president of American Heritage; New York City.

Kathryn S. Fuller, trustee; president of the World Wildlife Fund; Washington, D.C.

H. Anthony Ittleson, fellow and former trustee; chairman of Travel Ventures Ltd.; New York City.

Artemis A. W. Joukowsky, vice chancellor of Brown University; former senior executive with the American International Group; Providence, R.I.

Marie J. Langlois, fellow and former trustee; co-founder and partner at Phoenix Investment Management Co.; Providence, R.I.

Frederick Lippitt, fellow and former trustee; chairman of the Rhode Island Board of Regents for Elementary and Secondary Education; Providence, R.I.

David E. McKinney, trustee emeritus; vice chair of the Watson Institute for International Studies Board of Overseers, former senior vice president of IBM; Westport, Conn.

Steven L. Rattner, trustee; partner, Lazard Freres & Co. LLC; New York City.

Stephen Robert, fellow and former trustee; chairman and CEO of Oppenheimer & Co.; New York City.

Charles M. Royce, trustee emeritus; president of the Royce Funds; Greenwich, Conn.

Alva O. Way, chancellor of Brown University, former fellow and former trustee; chairman of IBJ Schroder Bank & Trust Co.; New York City.