Brown University News Bureau

The Brown University News Bureau

1998-1999 index

Distributed March 25, 1999
Contact: Kristen Lans

Three Brown students receive Truman scholarships for public service

Seth Andrew, of Providence, Jonathan Mooney, of Culver City, Calif., and Katherine Weisburd, of Philadelphia, are among 65 college students nationwide to receive 1999 Truman Scholarships. This year, 656 college students were nominated for the awards.

PROVIDENCE, R.I. -- Three students at Brown University have won $30,000 Truman Scholarships in recognition of their leadership ability, academic achievement and commitment to public service. Brown is the only university to have three students named as Truman scholars this year.

Seth A. Andrew, of Providence, R.I., Jonathan T. Mooney, of Culver City, Calif., and Katherine R. Weisburd, of Philadelphia, Pa., are among 65 scholarship winners, chosen from a pool of 656 candidates from 332 colleges and universities. Each will receive $3,000 in their senior year and $27,000 for two or three years of graduate study.

The Truman Scholarship Foundation was established by Congress in 1975 as the official federal memorial to honor the nation's 33rd president. The Foundation awards scholarships for college students to attend graduate school in preparation for careers in government or other public service.

Brown's 1999 scholarship recipients, all members of the Class of 2000:

The 1999 Truman Scholarship recipients will assemble May 23 at William Jewell College in Liberty, Mo., for a week-long leadership development program, during which they will receive their awards.

Candidates were selected by an 18-member committee composed of senior officials from academe, public service and former Truman Scholarship recipients. Leadership abilities, academic performance and potential, community service records, and a demonstrated commitment to public service were all selection factors, according to foundation officials.

Two Brown seniors were previous recipients of Truman Scholarships and are completing their work at Brown: Jasmine Waddell of Lee's Summit, Mo., and Thaddeus Heuer of Holliston, Mass. In addition, Brown President E. Gordon Gee was appointed by President Clinton in 1995 to a five-year term as a trustee of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation. Trustees do not participate in the selection process.

Additional information on Truman Scholarships is available at the Truman Web site.