Distributed March 28, 2000
For Immediate Release
News Service Contact: Mark Nickel

Campus Advisory Committee on Presidential Selection announced

Brown Interim President Sheila E. Blumstein has announced the membership of the Campus Advisory Committee on the Presidential Selection. That committee, composed of faculty, students and staff, will assist the Brown Corporation in its selection of the University’s 18th president.

PROVIDENCE, R.I. — Sheila E. Blumstein, interim president of Brown University, today (Tuesday, March 28, 2000) announced the membership of a campus-based advisory committee which will assist the University’s governing body in its selection of Brown’s 18th president, succeeding E. Gordon Gee.

Brown’s Charter of 1764 specifically charges members of the Corporation with responsibility for electing the president. In practice, however, the Corporation has sought assistance in the selection process from faculty, students and staff. At its meeting Saturday, Feb. 26, the Corporation proved creation of a 13-member campus advisory committee with the expectation that the committee would be announced by March 30.

The Campus Advisory Committee on the Presidential Selection will include five faculty members appointed by the Faculty Executive Committee; one medical faculty member appointed by the Medical Faculty Executive Committee; two administrators, one appointed by the president and the other by the Staff Advisory Committee; one graduate student appointed by the Graduate Student Council; one medical student appointed by the Medical Student Senate; and three undergraduate students appointed by the Undergraduate Council of Students.

Members of the Campus Advisory Committee on the Presidential Selection, to be chaired by Mari Jo Buhle, professor of American civilization, include:

  • Mari Jo Buhle, professor of American civilization (chair);

  • Lina Fruzzetti, professor of anthropology (vice chair);

  • Peter Heywood, professor of molecular and cellular biology and biochemistry;

  • Brad Marston, associate professor of physics;

  • Karen Newman, professor of comparative literature;

  • Fred Schiffman, M.D., professor of medicine;

  • Perry Ashley, associate dean of the College;

  • Jill Lawlor, assistant director, academic outreach and affiliated programs and chair of the Staff Advisory Committee;

  • Kevin Cloud, graduate student representative;

  • Jason Rogart, medical student representative;

  • Emily Chatterjee, undergraduate student representative;

  • Lerin R. Kol, undergraduate student representative;

  • Gabriel I. Kuriloff, undergraduate student representative.

Frank Rhodes, former president of Cornell University, and John Isaacson, of Isaacson, Miller, a Boston-based consulting firm specializing in executive searches for non-profit institutions and public agencies, will support both the Corporation committee and the campus advisory committee in the selection process.