Providence RI 02912

401 863-2476
Fax 863-9595

Distributed May 31, 2004
Contact Dionne Montgomery

Text
The 236th Commencement Senior Orations
Marian Ahn Thorpe: “Full of Heart”

Russell A. Baruffi Jr. of Vineland, N.J., and Marian Thorpe of Spokane, Wash., delivered the Class of 2004 senior orations during Brown’s 236th Commencement, Monday, May 31, 2004, at 10:30 a.m. in the First Baptist Church in America. The text of Thorpe’s oration follows here.

Thorpe My dad always gave his fatherly talks about sex while driving in the car. It was a really great strategy: He never had to look the victim (my brother or me) in the eye because he was driving, and there was no way for us to escape save diving out of the moving vehicle.

In the summer of 2000, just as I was about to head off to Brown as a freshman, my dad must have been thinking about the new world of college boys I was about to enter, because he cornered me in the car.

“Honey,” he said, “you have to be careful with sex.”

There was an uncomfortable silence. He looked straight at the road ahead, and I thought about jumping from the car.

He continued, “Do you remember what happened to Sandy from church? She got pregnant her junior year of high school.” Poor Sandy. She always had a starring role in my dad’s little talks.

Dad,” I groaned. “I know.”