Brown Logo

Office of Media Relations
38 Brown Street / Box R
Providence RI 02912

401 863-2476
Fax 863-9595

Distributed May 3, 2006
Contact Deborah Goldstein

Brown University and RISD Honor Colleagues in Awards Ceremony

Members of the Brown and RISD communities recognized faculty and student colleagues for their outstanding commitments to teaching and mentoring at Awards Ceremony 2006.

PROVIDENCE, R.I. — Members of the Brown University and Rhode Island School of Design communities were honored for their teaching excellence during Awards Ceremony 2006. The Ceremony, held today in Andrews Dining Hall, was sponsored by the Dean of the Faculty, the Dean of the Graduate School, and the Harriet W. Sheridan Center for Teaching and Learning at Brown.

“We are proud to recognize members of the Brown and RISD communities for their investment in the professional development of their teaching skills,” said Rebecca More, director of the Sheridan Center for Teaching and Learning.

The awards presented were the Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards, the Harriet W. Sheridan Award for Distinguished Contribution to Teaching and Learning at Brown, the Henry Merritt Wriston Fellowship, Brown Graduate Student Teaching Awards, RISD Graduate Student Teaching Awards, and the RISD Provost Award for Professional Development in Teaching.

Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards

The Faculty Teaching Excellence Award, named for former distinguished teachers at Brown, are given annually to current faculty who are recognized as exceptional undergraduate teachers.

This year’s recipients:

  • Dedda DeAngelis, senior lecturer in Italian studies, received the John Rowe Workman Award for Excellence in Teaching in the Humanities.
  • Rachel Morello-Frosch, assistant professor of environmental studies and community health, received with the William G. McLoughlin Award for Teaching Excellence in the Social Sciences.
  • Michael Paradiso, professor of neuroscience, received the Elizabeth Leduc Award for Excellence in Teaching in the Life Sciences.

Sheridan Award

The Harriet W. Sheridan Awards for Distinguished Contribution to Teaching and Learning recognize Brown faculty who, as excellent teachers, support their colleagues, including graduate students, in ongoing professional development that integrates reflective teaching and research. Recipients are nominated by colleagues within their own departments and around the University.

The 2005 Sheridan Honorees:

  • Mari Jo Buhle, professor of American civilization and history, was honored for exemplifying the role of a mentor in University administration. In her 30-plus year career at Brown, Buhle’s efforts have produced a generation of faculty who introduce students to the complex historical and interdisciplinary questions raised by the field of women’s history.
  • Anne Fausto-Sterling, professor of molecular and cell biology and biochemistry, was recognized for her skills as a mentor of graduate students and junior faculty, in addition to her leadership in revising departmental standards on teaching, and her ability to help colleagues rethink traditional ideas about the sciences.
  • Leonard Tennenhouse, professor of English, comparative literature and modern culture and media, was awarded for his extraordinary efforts to provide substantive professional development for graduate students and inspiring them to consider innovative ways of integrating teaching and research, which challenge traditional academic boundaries.

Wriston Fellowship

Esther Whitfield, assistant professor of comparative literature, received the Wriston Fellowship, which is one of the highest awards Brown bestows upon its teaching faculty. Established in 1972 to encourage and reward excellence in teaching, the Wriston Fellowship is awarded annually to a junior member of the faculty to recognize significant accomplishments in teaching and to allow for scholarly research and preparation of new contributions to the undergraduate curriculum.

Brown Graduate Student Awards

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching is an annual prize awarded by the Graduate School to recognize outstanding pedagogical achievement by a Brown University graduate student. The award carries a $2,500 honorarium.

This year’s recipients:

  • Angel Otero-Blanco, a doctoral student in the Department of Hispanic Studies, was honored for his enthusiasm and dedication in changing and improving the minds and lives of students.
  • Wendy Lee, a doctoral student in the Department of English, was recognized for her superlative and engaging teaching skills, as well as her leadership among teaching assistants.

RISD Awards

RISD Professor of Jewelry and Metalsmithing Robin Quigley was honored with the RISD Provost's Award for Professional Development in Teaching. RISD graduate students Greta Brubaker and Frances Maiko Nelson received the RISD President’s Award for Teaching and the Graduate Dean’s Award for Teaching, respectively.

In addition, 138 Brown and RISD graduate students were recognized for completing the requirements of the Sheridan Teaching Seminar (Certificate I), Classroom Tools Seminar (Certificate II), Professional Development Seminar for Advanced Graduate Students (Certificate III), and the Graduate Certificate in Language Technology.


Media Relations Home  |  Top of File  |  e-Subscribe  |  Brown Home Page