Academic Departments, Centers and Programs

The following Academic Departments, Centers, and Programs report to the Dean of the Faculty or to the Provost.

Humanities | Life Sciences | Physical Sciences | Social Sciences


Unit Chair/Director Manager Type
Classics Graham Oliver
Justine Brown
Academic Department
Comparative Literature Marc Redfield
Tracy Miller Academic Department
East Asian Studies Beverly Bossler
Jessica Cho Academic Department
Egyptology and Assyriology Matthew Rutz
Catherine Hanni
Academic Department
English Richard Rambuss
Marilyn Netter Academic Department
French and Francophone Studies

Lewis Seifert

Mary Oliver Academic Department
German Studies Zachary Sng
Wendy Perelman Academic Department
Hispanic Studies Laura Bass
Mary Oliver Academic Department
History of Art and Architecture Evelyn Lincoln
Diana Adamczyk Academic Department
Italian Studies Massimo Riva
Mona Delgado Academic Department
Judaic Studies Saul Olyan
Susan Rottenberg Academic Department
Literary Arts John Cayley
Gale Nelson Academic Department
Modern Culture and Media Kevin McLaughlin
Liza Hebert Academic Department
Music Emily Dolan
Jennifer Vieira Academic Department
Philosophy Bernard Reginster
Katherine Scanga Academic Department
Portuguese and Brazilian Studies Leila Lehnen
Armanda Silva Academic Department
Religious Studies Mark Cladis
Nicole Vadnais Academic Department
Slavic Studies Vladimir Golstein
Justine Brown Academic Department
Theatre Arts and Performance Studies Patricia Ybarra
Jamie Tyrol Academic Department
Visual Art Leslie Bostrom Olanda Estrada Academic Department
Early Cultures Susan Harvey
Sarah Sharpe Program/Center
Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World  Laurel Bestock 
Sarah Sharpe Program/Center
Cogut Institute for the Humanities

Amanda Anderson

Interm Timothy Bewes

Lisa Noble


Gender and Sexuality Studies Suzanne Stewart-Steinberg Donna Goodnow Program/Center
Language Studies Jane Sokolosky
Jill Stewart Program/Center
Medieval Studies Elizabeth Bryan Maria Sokolova Program/Center
Modern Greek Studies Elsa Amanatidou

Center for the Study of the Early Modern World Andrew Laird
Maria Sokolova Program/Center

Life Sciences

Unit Contact


Cognitive, Linguistic and Psychological Sciences

Rebecca Burwell

Reinette Sousa Academic Department
Environment and Society, Institute at Brown for

Amanda Lynch

Dov Sax

Matt Margetta Program/Center

Physical Sciences

Unit Contact Manager Type
Applied Mathematics Bjorn Sandstede
Camille Dickson Academic Department
Chemistry Lai-Sheng Wang
Sheila Quigley Academic Department
Computer Science Ugur Cetintemel
Jane McIlmail Academic Department
Data Science Division

Sohini Ramachandran

(Interim Director)

Alden Bumstead

Academic Division

Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences James Russell

Dina Egge

Academic Department
Mathematics Jeffrey Hoffstein
Doreen Pappas Academic Department
Physics Gang Xiao
Doug Wilkie Academic Department
Computation and Visualization Thomas Serre
Geometric Computing Roberto Tamassia Program/Center
Institute for Molecular and Nanoscale Innovation Nitin Padture Kim Cavanaugh Program/Center
Computational Molecular Biology Sohini Ramachandran
Nathaniel Gill Program/Center
Center for Fundamental Physics Richard Gaitskell Program/Center

Social Sciences

Unit Contact Manager Type
Africana Studies Brian Meeks
Mariesa Fischer Academic Department
American Studies Matthew Guterl Jeff Cabral Academic Department
Anthropology Jessaca Leinaweaver
Matilide Andrade
Academic Department
Economics Anna Aizer
Kim Departie Academic Department
Education Tracy Steffes
Leah Label Academic Department
History Ethan Pollock
Cherrie Guerzon Academic Department
Political Science Wendy Schiller
Patricia Gardner Academic Department

Janet Blume

Amanda Figgins Academic Department
Annenberg Institute for School Reform Susanna Loeb Jenna Legault Program/Center
The C.V. Starr Program in Business, Entrepreneurship and Organizations  Brendan McNally
Sheila Haggerty Program/Center
Center for Contemporary South Asia Ashutosh Varshney Stephanie Abbott-Pandey Program/Center
Development Studies Geri Augusto
Anita Nester Program/Center
Environment and Society, Institute at Brown for

Amanda Lynch

Dov Sax

Matt Margetta
International Relations Nina Tannenwald Anita Nester Program/Center
John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities and Cultural Heritage Dietrich Neumann Sabina Griffin Program/Center
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Patsy Lewis
Kate Goldman Program/Center
Center for the Study of Middle East Studies Nadje Al-Ali
Barbara Oberkoetter Program/Center
Pembroke Center for Teaching and Research on Women Suzanne Stewart-Steinberg
Donna Goodnow Program/Center
Political Theory Project     John Tomasi Alytheia Laughlin Program/Center
Population Studies and Training Center

Susan Short

Sarah Aneyci

Thomas Alarie Program/Center
Taubman Center for Public Policy and American Institutions Richard Arenberg Ann Noyes Program/Center
Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in America Tricia Rose

Trae A Alston-Swan

The William R. Rhodes Center for International Economics Mark Blyth
Spatial Structures in the Social Sciences (S4) Michael White Thomas Alarie Program/Center
Program in Science,Technology, and Society
Debbie Weinstein Jeff Cabral
Slavery and Justice Tony Bogues Shana Weinberg Program/Center
Urban Studies Program Samuel Zipp
Susanne Brough Program/Center