Diversity Advisory Board

1. Charge

The Diversity Advisory Board is a broadly representative, deliberative group that meets to consider matters that concern the campus community especially with regards to diversity.  Its mission concerns the well-being of the community – its capacity for collegiality and the pursuit of the commonweal while preserving an excellent education for all students. 

The goals of the Committee shall include, but not be limited to the following

  1. To work with and advise the Associate Provost and Director of Institutional Diversity and other senior officers as appropriate concerning the promotion of diversity and the development of a welcoming and inclusive campus climate.
  2. Identify ways to educate the community about diversity and provide guidance for dealing with community issues.
  3. To develop an effective means of communication about diversity issues with all segments of the community.

2.     Membership

The membership shall consist of the Associate Provost and Director of Institutional Diversity; the Vice President for Campus Life and Student Services; a minimum of three faculty members; a minimum of two undergraduate students, two graduate students and two medical students; and a minimum of four staff members.  Members shall serve staggered two-year terms.

3.  Chair and Staffing

The Board Chair shall be the Associate Provost and Director of Institutional Diversity.  The Vice Chair shall be a faculty member who is elected by the Board at the end of his/her first year of service.  The Council shall be staffed by the Office of Institutional Diversity.

4.  Procedures

An Executive Committee, consisting of at least the Chair and Vice Chair, shall set the agenda for Board meetings. The Board shall meet at least twice per semester. 

The Board shall report annually in writing to the Faculty.  The report is to be given by the Vice Chair or, in his/her absence, by the Chair.

5. Appointment of Members

Faculty members will be appointed by the Associate Provost and Director of Institutional Diversity with advice from the Faculty Executive Committee (FEC).  Student members will be appointed by the Associate Provost and Director of Institutional Diversity with advice from the Undergraduate Council of Students (UCS), the Graduate Student Council (GSC) and the Medical Student Senate.  Staff members will be appointed by the Associate Provost and Director of Institutional Diversity with advice from the Staff Advisory Council (SAC). 

Board Administrators

Liza Cariaga-Lo,  Associate Provost for Academic Development and Diversity

Mary Grace Almandrez, Interim Vice President for Campus Life & Student Services


Don Operario, Associate Professor/Associate Dean of Public Health – to June 2016

Sohini Ramachandran, Assistant Professor of Biology – to June 2016


Nancy Safian – Theatre Arts and Performance Studies – to June 2016

Jim Hutchinson – BioMed Administration – to June 2016


Jamelle Watson-Daniels (undergraduate) to June 2016

Kimberley Charles (undergraduate) to June 2016

Chinedu Irofuala (undergraduate) to June 2017

Nancy Truong (undergraduate) to June 2017

Jennifer Tsai, MD ‘16

Natasha Coleman, MD ‘16

Amamah Sardar (graduate) to June 2017

Keith Spangler (graduate) to June 2017

Ida Yalzadek (graduate) to June 2017

Eric James (graduate) to June 2015

Bryan Rippee (undergraduate veteran representative)


Appointment Diversity Administrators

Wendy McRae-Owoeye – Director of Staff Diversity

Catherine Axe – Director of Disability Support Services 

Gail Cohee – Director, Sarah Doyle Women’s Center

Allyson Brathwaite Gardner - Psychotherapist - Psychological Services

Janet Cooper-Nelson, University Chaplain

Shontay Delalue - Director of International Student/Visitor Exp & Assistant Dean

Maitrayee Bhattacharyya – Associate Dean for Diversity Programs

Myra LIwanag – Director of Regional and Multicultural Programs

Karen McNeil - Program Director, Student Veterans & Commissioning Programs

Ricky Gresh - Director of Campus Life Projects

Marc Peters – Health Educator, Health Services

Joshua Segui, Interim Director of the Brown Center for Students of Color

Kelly Garrett, Program Director, LGBTQ Center