Key dates & deadlines:

Fall 2022

Mon Jul 18 Course proposal deadline for Graduate level courses to be submitted and department approved for Grad Council to review for Fall 2022 semester.
Mon Aug 1 Course proposal deadline for Undergraduate level courses to be submitted and department approved for CCC to review for Fall 2022 semester.
TBD Deadline for Faculty to have all fall syllabi uploaded in courses.brown.edu.
Fri Sept 2 Final exams/blue books application enabled in Banner Web for Fall 2022 courses
Tues Sept 6
Opening Convocation at 4:00 p.m. EDT.
Wed Sept 7
Classes of the fall semester begin. 
Mon Sept 19 Course proposal deadline for Graduate level courses to be submitted and department approived for Grad Council to review for Spring 2023 pre-registration.
Tues Sept 20
After 5:00 PM EDT, all course adds require Instructor override.
TBD Deadline for Faculty to have all wintersession syllabi uploaded in courses.brown.edu.
Mon Oct 3 Course proposal deadline for Undergraduate level courses to be submitted and department approved for CCC to review for Spring 2023 pre-registration.
Wed Oct 5 Mid term grades entry enabled in Self-Service Banner.
Sat Oct 15 Mid-semester. 
Mon Oct 24 - Fri Nov 4
Advising period for spring pre-registration. Students in their first through third semesters will need to procure their advising PIN from their advisor in order to register.
Thurs Nov 3
Date by which advisors must approve sophomore submitted concentrations in ASK to avoid having a "No Concentration" hold placed against the student's Banner registration. (5:00 pm EDT deadline).
Mon Nov 28 - Fri Jan 6, 2023 Final grades open for entry.
Mon Dec 5
Last day to update Classroom Request data in Banner Web for Spring 2023 courses (5:00 PM EST deadline).
Mon Dec 5 Course proposal deadline for Graduate level courses to be submitted and department approved for Grad Council to review for Spring 2023 semester.
Mon Dec 5 Course proposal deadline for Undergraduate level courses to be submitted and department approved for CCC to review for Spring 2023 semester.
Thurs Dec 8 - Mon Dec 12
Reading Period (optional and at the discretion of the instructor).
Mon Dec 12 Classes end for courses not observing the Remote Reading Period. Last day to request an incomplete from an instructor.  Last day for advisors to approve second concentrations in ASK for students in their penultimate semester who are declaring a second/third concentration. (5:00 p.m. EST deadline).
Tues Dec 13  - Wed Dec 21 Final Examination Period. (inclusive of Sun Dec 18)
NOTE: Grades due in Banner 72 hours after the date of the scheduled final exam.  Any grades not entered by 5:00 PM EST on Friday Jan  6, 2023 will be posted as Missing on the student's academic record.
  Spring 2023
Wed Jan 11 Course proposal deadline for Graduate level courses to be submitted and department approved for Grad Council to review for 2023-24 [email protected] publishing.
Fri Jan 13 Course proposal deadline for Undergraduate level courses to be submitted and department approved for CCC to review for 2023-24 [email protected] publishing. 
TBD Deadline for Faculty to have all spring syllabi uploaded in courses.brown.edu.
Fri  Jan 20 Final exams/blue books application for Spring 2023 courses enabled in Self-Service Banner
Wed Jan 25
Classes of the spring semester begin. 
Tues Feb 7
After 5:00 PM EST, all course adds require Instructor override. 
Fri Mar 3 Course proposal deadline for Graduate level courses to be submitted and department approved for Grad Council to review for Fall 2023 pre-registration.
TBD
Mid term grades entry enabled in Self-Service Banner.
Sat Mar 11 Mid-semester.
Mon Mar 13 Course proposal deadline for Undergraduate level courses to be submitted and department approved for CCC to review for Fall 2023 pre-registration.
TBD Date by which advisors must approve sophomore submitted concentrations in ASK to avoid having a "No Concentration" hold placed against the student's Banner registration. (5:00 pm EDT deadline). 
Mon April 24 Final grades open for entry.
Fri Apr 28 - Tues May 9
Reading Period (optional and at the discretion of the instructor). 
Tues May 9
Classes end for courses not observing the Reading Period. Last day to request an incomplete from an instructor. Last day for advisors to approve second concentrations in ASK for students in their penultimate semester who are declaring a second/third concentration. (5:00 p.m. EDT deadline). 
Weds May 10- Fri May 19
Final Examination Period.  (No exams Sunday May 14). 
NOTE: 

Grades for graduating seniors are due in Banner 48 hours after the date of the scheduled final exam (irrespective if you are having a formal in class final).  For courses in which the exam period is Friday May 19, those graduating student grades are due on Saturday May 20 at 5:00  PM EDT.  (Final grades for all other students must be submitted within 72 hours of the scheduled exam and no later than 5:00 pm EDT on TBD)

Sun May 28 Commencement.
Fri June 30
Last day to update Classroom Request data in Self-Service Banner for Fall 2023 courses (5:00 PM EDT deadline).