Graduate Student Contribution to Community Life Award

About the Award

For doctoral and master's students graduating in 2020

This Award is given by the Division of Campus Life on behalf of the Corporation Committee on Campus Life and recognizes a select group of graduating doctoral and master’s students who have contributed in a very significant way to the sense of community at Brown.

Award winners generally demonstrate both a breadth of engagement and sufficient depth to have had a substantial impact. Through their participation in the life of their peers and the broader Brown community, they have enhanced campus life and the experience of others. Through their service, teaching, research, advising, mentoring, and/or interpersonal interactions, recipients demonstrate their deep commitment to bettering the lives of others and reflect the highest ideals of citizenship and a life of engaged scholarship and practice.

This Award is one of several awards given by the University to graduate students in recognition of their excellence and contributions.

2020 Award Recipients

Nomination Process for May 2020 Awards (Closed)

All members of the Brown community are invited to submit nominations for individuals expected to graduate in May 2020. 

As the process is highly selective, successful nominations should provide a full picture of the nominee, including known ENGAGEMENTS (both formal and informal, and within program/department, across campus, and beyond Brown) and their IMPACT on their peers, Brown, and the lives of others, including sustainability of their efforts; their commitment to advising, mentoring, teaching, and/or supporting others; and/or the breadth or depth of their impact. For any questions please contact Isabella Dueñas ([email protected]).

Note: If you are nominating a Master's student, you might also consider a nomination for the Masters's Award for Engaged Citizenship and Community Service 

Past Awards Recipients