Interfaith Student Leadership Awards

​About the Interfaith Leadership Awards

The Presidential James Manning Medal

The President James Manning Medal is awarded to a senior in the college whose pursuit of excellence in the study and practice of religion is exemplary. This award is given in honor of Brown's first president who exemplified the synthesis of intellectual precision and spiritual engagement. The academic study of religion enables students to become critical thinkers and move beyond personal piety into responsible leadership achieving a balance between the particularity of respective faith traditions and a sense of community and global responsibility. 

The Interfaith Leadership Award

A generous award to the Brown University Chaplaincy from the Kapstein Foundation, administered through the Jewish Federation of Rhode Island, makes possible the honoring of a senior in the college who has demonstrated interfaith leadership both on campus and beyond, within the confines of the academic year and/or during time away. This award will acknowledge the energy, insight, imagination, and service of a student in the realm of inter-religious community building and programming. The Interfaith Leadership Award honors the late Reverend Charles A. Baldwin, Chaplain of the University, 1958–1988. 

The Levi Adams Citation

Inaugurated in 2001, the Levi Adams Citation honors a senior in the college for distinction and service in the leadership of a campus-based religious organization, project, or initiative. This award is given in honor of Dr. Levi Adams, whose retirement from Brown in 1994 concluded a distinguished career during which he served on Brown's faculty, as one of the Deans of the Medical School and Vice President of Government and Community Relations. His resilience, imagination and strength in his varied tasks were always ground in deep spiritual convictions. Empowered by Dr. Adam’s example this citation is made to honor such service. 

Nominations for the 2023 Interfaith Leadership Awards are now open. Submit nominations by Monday, April 3, 2023, 11:59 PM. For questions, contact the Office of the Chaplains and Religious Life. See nomination instructions and additional information.