Faculty

Faculty

Barrymore Bogues

Asa Messer Professor of Humanities and Critical Theory, and DirectorCenter for the Study of Slavery and Justice
Africana Intellectual History and Political Thought
Barrymore_Bogues@brown.edu
(On sabbatical 2017-2018) 

Lundy Braun

Royce Family Professor in Teaching Excellence and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Pathology, Medicine and Science Studies
Lundy_Braun@brown.edu

Anani Dzidzienyo

Associate Professor
African/Latin American History and Politics
Anani_Dzidzienyo@brown.edu

Matthew Pratt Guterl

Professor  
History of Race and Race Relations
Matthew_Guterl@brown.edu

Françoise N. Hamlin

Associate Professor
African American History
Francoise_Hamlin@brown.edu
(On sabbatical 2017-2018) 

Paget Henry

Professor
Caribbean Philosophy and Sociology
Paget_Henry@brown.edu

Brian Meeks

Professor and Chair
Radical Movements, Revolution, Social and Political Change
brian_meeks@brown.edu 

Keisha-Khan Y. Perry 

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
African Diaspora Feminisms and Anthropology
Keisha-Khan_Perry@brown.edu

Tricia Rose

Chancellor's Professor of Africana Studies, Associate Dean of the Faculty for Special Initiatives and DirectorCenter for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in America
African American Cultural Politics and Gender Studies
Tricia_Rose@brown.edu

Elmo Terry-Morgan

Associate Professor and Artistic Director, Rites and Reason Theatre
African American Theatre Arts and Playwriting
Elmo_Terry-Morgan@brown.edu

About the Faculty

The Department of Africana Studies at Brown has one of the leading faculties in the field. Members of the faculty have received many prestigious honors and awards such as the Gish Award, the Guggenheim Fellowship, the MacArthur Fellowship, and the Man Booker International Prize. In addition, Africana Studies faculty members have successfully competed for fellowships and grants to support their research from such institutions as the Ford Foundation, Fulbright Program, National Endowment for the Arts, and National Science Foundation.