HIAA announces undergraduate prizes and awards

The Department of the History of Art and Architecture recently honored some of our students with awards and prizes. This year's The Ann Belsky Moranis Memorial Prize​ went to Luz Aguirre '20, (left), a senior Resumed Undergraduate Education (RUE) program student. The Belsky Prize recognizes a concentrator who has excelled in work undertaken in the concentration, shown intellectual generosity and curiosity, and has taken advantage of the strengths of the department in imaginative ways. Traditionally, the award is given to a student who has touched multiple members of the faculty in profound ways, as both a deep and rigorous thinker and as a member of our community---someone who consistently reminds us of why we chose to be teachers. 

Luz said of her experience at Brown, "I made it! I am a non-traditional student who started my undergraduate career at 37. It was an experience that I never thought I would have access to. With a degree in Art History and Architecture, I feel like the possibilities are endless, and as soon as the world opens up, I will be ready for anything."

In addition, the faculty voted to award the Department Undergraduate Group (DUG) leaders with a Department Leadership award for their exceptional work in bringing students together in ways that were celebratory and informative, and for their effort to keep our community connected during this most challenging time. This year's DUG leaders were seniors, Philip Batler, Cheryl Chan, Tristan Harris and Louise Tisch as well as Ted Catlin, Didier Lucceus and Peter Shanahan, architecture DUG leaders.

Other departmental prizes went to the following students:

Award for Best Paper went to Jack Nelson ('21) and So Jeong Lim ('20, honors)

Award for Best Thesis went to Ella Comberg ('20, honors)

Best Architectural Project went to Dorian Charpentier ('20)

Congratulations to all of our concentrators!!