Professor Osayimwese Awarded Schelling Architectural Theory Prize and Selected as Interim Secretary of the Society of Architectural Historians

We are delighted to announce that Professor Itohan Osayimwese has recently received two honors.

She has received the 2020 Schelling Architecture Award for Architecture and Architectural Theory, an award granted once every two years from the Schelling Architecture Foundation. In keeping with the motto “Fostering the seminally significant, spreading substantiated knowledge” the award recognizes future-oriented developments in architecture as well as incisive accomplishments in architectural theory. An international jury comprised of 7 individuals convened in order to select a winner. The awards have a total endowment of 30,000 euros.The prize was unanimously awarded to Professor Osayimwese. Previous theory prize winners include: Keller Easterling, 2018; Doug Saunders, 2016; Juhani Pallasmaa, 2014; Kenneth Frampton, 2012; and Jean-Louis Cohen, 2010.

In addition, Professor Osayimwese has been appointed to the Society of Architectural Historians Executive Committee as interim secretary. She has been on the board of SAH for the past three years, and serves as secretary through April 2021.