Mac V. Edds Lectureship in Developmental Biology

Mac V. EddsMac V. EddsMac V. Edds Lectureship in Developmental Biology  

Mac V. Edds was an embryologist who earned his undergraduate and masters degrees at Amherst College and then went on to obtain his Ph.D. from Yale in 1943.  He joined the Department of Biology at Brown University in 1947.  He was instrumental in developing the embryology courses at Brown and at the Marine Biological Laboratory at Woods Hole. 

Mac Edds was a developmental biologist who studied vertebrate nerve growth. He served as secretary of the Society for Developmental Biology (SDB)(1954-1965). When SDB started its journal Developmental Biology (1959), Mac Edds was its editor-in-chief for the first dozen years.  After becoming chairman of the Biology Department at Brown, he worked to expand the fifteen-man Department into a Division of Biological and Medical Sciences nearly ten times as large.  He supervised the construction of new buildings and the recruitment of medical faculty, as well as the collaboration of community hospitals.  After twenty five years at Brown, Professor Edds left to become Dean of the Faculty of Natural Science and Mathematis at the University of Massachusetts and later Executive Director of the Neurosciences Research Program at MIT.  In November of 1975, while chopping firewood at his home, he suffered a fatal heart attack.  The Mac V. Edds Lectureship in Developmental Biology was established in his honor the following year. 


Below is a list of lecturers to date:

1976 Dr. Richard L. Sidman, Professor of Neuroscience, Harvard Medical School. "Genetic Dissection of Cerebellar Development in Mutant Mice".

1977 Dr. Jerome Gross, Developmental Biology Laboratory, Massachusetts General Hospital. "Collagen Remodeling".

1978 Dr. Elizabeth D. Hay, Department of Anatomy, Harvard Medical School. "Tissue Interaction in the Developing Cornea".

1979 Dr. Paul R. Gross, Director and President, Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole. "Zygotic Intelligence".

1980 Dr. Clement L. Markert, Professor of Biology, Yale University. "Chimeric Animals: Experimental Analysis of Gene Control of Cellular Interaction During Embryonic Development".

1981 Dr. Malcolm S. Steinberg, Henry Fairfield Osborn Professor of Biology, Princeton University. "On the Adhesive Specification of Tissue Self-Organization".

1982 Dr. Raymond J. Lasek, Professor of Anatomy, Case Western Reserve University. "Intracellular Dynamics and Neuronal Plasticity".

1983 Dr. Winston A. Anderson, Professor and Chairman, Department of Zoology, Howard University. "Hormone-induced Markers of the Female Reproductive System".

1984 Dr. Martha Constantine-Paton, Department of Biology, Princeton University. "Dynamic Synaptic Interaction in the Foundation of the Retinotopic Map".

1985 Dr. H. Robert Horvitz, Department of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. "Genes that Control Cell Lineage and Cell Fate During Nematode Development".

1986 Dr. Susan Bryant, Developmental Biology Center, University of California at Irvine. "Views of Limb Development and Regeneration: Implications for Mammals".

1987 Dr. Paul Green, Biological Sciences Department, Stanford University. "Inheritance of Pattern: Analysis from Phenotype to Gene".

1988 Dr. Douglas A. Melton, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Harvard University. "Molecular Approaches to Studies on Vertebrate Development".

1989 Dr. J.P. Trinkaus, Professor Emeritus of Biology, Yale University. "Some Overlooked Mechanisms of Morphogenesis".

1990 Dr. Fritz Melchers, Basel Institute of Imunology, Switzerland. "Molecular and Cellular Controls of B Cell Development".

1991 Dr. John B. Gurdon, University of Cambridge, England. "Embryonic Induction in Vertebrates and Gene Activation".

1992 Dr. Spyros Artavanis-Tsakonas, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Departments of Cell Biology and Biology, Yale University. "Choosing Cell Fates in Development".

1993 Dr. Janet Rossant, Samuel Lumenfeld Research Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, Canada. "Anterior-Posterior Patterning in the Gastrulating Mouse Embryo".

1995 Dr. Elliott Meyerowitz, Department of Biology, California Institute of Technology. "The Regulatory Genes and Regulatory Circuits that Control Flower Development".

1996 Dr. Judith Kimble,Department of Biochemistry, University of Wisconsin. "Controls of Cell Fate During C. elegans Development".

1997 Dr. Eric F. Weischaus, 1995 Nobel Laureate, Department of Molecular Biology, Princeton University. "Zygotic Transcription and the Control of Embryonic Development in Drosophila".

1998 Dr. John C. Gerhart, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California at Berkeley. "Formation and Function of Spemann's Organizer".

1999 Dr. Charles B. Kimmel, Institute of Neuroscience, University of Oregon. "Patterning Dorsal Mesoderm in the Zebrafish".

2000 Dr. Joan Ruderman, Department of Cell Biology, Harvard Medical School. "Breaking Cell Cycle Arrest".

2001 Dr. Marianne Bronner-Fraser, Division of Biology, California Institute of Technology. "Induction and Evolution of the Neural Crest".

2002 Dr. Sean B. Carroll, Professor and HHMI Investigator, Department of Genetics, University of Wisconsin. "From DNA to Diversity: Molecular Genetics and the Evolution of Animal Design".

2003 Dr. Thomas M. Jessell, Professor and HHMI Investigator, Center for Neurobiology and Behavior, Columbia University. "Control of Motor Neuron Identity and Connectivity".

2004 Dr. Walter Gehring, Professor of Cell Biology, Biozentrum, University of Basel, Switzerland. "Development and Evolution of Eyes and Photoreceptors".

2005 Dr. R. Scott Poethig, Professor of Developmental Biology, University of Pennsylvania, "Regulation of Developmental Timing in Plants by miRNAs and Trans-Acting si-RNAs".

2006 Dr. Joseph G. Gall, American Cancer Society Professor, Department of Embryology, Carnegie Insitution of Washington. "The Cajal Body: Its role in RNA processing".

2007 Dr. Eric N. Olson, Professor and Chairperson, Department of Molecular Biology, University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. "Molecular Control of Cardiovascular Development and Disease".

2009 Dr. Robert Tjian, President, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of California at Berkeley. "Transcriptional Mechanisms Regulating Differentiation and Stem Cell Pluripotency".

2011 Dr. Rudolph Jaenisch, Professor of Biology, Whitehead Institute, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. "Stem cells, pluripotency and nuclear reprogramming".

2013 Dr. Ruth Lehmann, Professor of Cell Biology and Director, Skirball Institute at NYU School of Medicine. "Forming and protecting the Germ Line". May 1, 2013

2014 Dr. Jeanne B. Lawrence, Interim Chair, Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology & Pediatrics, University of Massachusetts Medical School. “From Basic Discovery in Epigenetics to Down Syndrome and Back Again”. November 19, 2014