Diana Treaba, MD - Director of Pathology Residency Program

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Abigail Alexander on being awarded for the second time in a row, the American Academy of Neuropathologists (AANP)Trainee Travel Award for her research entitled "Cortical-sparing Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CS-CTE): Categorizing a Distinct Pathological Subtype of CTE" at the 98th Annual Meeting in Bonita Springs Florida.  This is a prestigious award which brings high honor to our department on a national level.

Boekelheide Lab - Sophia Zheng Undergraduate Senior Thesis

Sophia Zheng performed her undergraduate senior thesis work in the Boekelheide Lab. She received a Senior Biology Prize for Academic Excellence in Biological Sciences awarded to a handful of undergraduate seniors concentrating in Biology, in part for this work.

Development of a Proof-of-Principle MCF-7 and HepaRG 3D-2D Co-culture Platform for Toxicity Testing
Sophia Zheng
Advisors: Dr. Kim Boekelheide, MD, PhD and Dr. Blanche Ip, PhD

Kelsey Huntington Has Received the NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award

Kelsey Huntington was awarded the NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (#NRSA) Individual Predoctoral Fellowship (#F31) by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) on her first-round grant application titled “Small-molecule Inhibition of Glycogen Synthase Kinase-3 Sensitizes Colorectal Cancer Cells and Stimulates Immune Cells to Bolster Immune Cell-mediated Tumor Cytotoxicity” that will fund the remainder of her PhD here at Brown University.