News Archive

Prof Brenda Rubenstein wins one of the 42 Young Investigator Research (YIP) awards from the Air Force Research Laboratory.  Read more about the program and the award here.

Prof. Lai-Sheng Wang, along with researchers at Brown University and Tsinghua University discover new boron-lanthanide nanostructure

With research set to resume June 2, 2020, the Department of Chemistry has implemented new procedures regarding entering and exiting of MacMillan and the GeoChem buildings, as well as revised lab research guidelines. 

A link to the building guidelines can be found here.

At a virtual ceremony held May 19, 2020 The Department of Chemistry announced this year's recipients of the Undergraduate and Graduate awards for 2019-2020.

To view a recording of the ceremony please visit:
Department of Chemistry Awards 2020

The recipients are also listed on the following pages.

All Awardees

Coronavirus dims chemistry job market prospects

Experts fear that the COVID-19 pandemic will yield a tough employment outlook for chemical professionals

"It's a scary time"  quotes Prof. Wang,  "but we should be ok if we can stay healthy and learn to adapt". Read the entire article at Chemical and Engineering News.

(graphic from C&E News)

Ou Chen 3M award

The 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award recognizes outstanding new faculty who excel in research, experience, & academic leadership. Prof. Ou Chen was recognized for his work on developing novel functional materials using nanocrystals. 

Prof. Ou Chen is named as one of 14 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2020. The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation announced the selection of 14 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2020. These faculty are within the first five years of their academic careers, have each created an outstanding independent body of scholarship, and are deeply committed to education. Each Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar receives an unrestricted research grant of $100,000.

Another 50 gallons of hand sanitizer was made today by Professors Amit Basu and Eunsuk Kim.  This along with the 35 gallons made by Professors Zimmt and Weber on Monday are heading to Lifespan to help out with supply shortages. A special thanks to Ed Hawrot in Biomed, the Biomed stockroom, and our partners at Lifespan who have all helped to get this assembly line up and running 2 shifts a week.  Next week, 100 gallons!  

Audra Woodside (Robinson Lab) was awarded an NSF Graduate Fellowship and Treshaun Sutton (Delaney Lab) received Honorable Mention.  An NSF Graduate Research Fellowship is one of the highest honors a graduate student can receive. It provides a 3-year fellowship to support their graduate research. Congratulations!